help asap

Status
Not open for further replies.

sammy34

Member Since 2012
i my cat sam started levemir today. she was on 4.50 of lantus bid. she became dx in oct 2012. she was not doing well with lantus, always high numbers even when we increased dose. so i switch today, and i gave her 3.25 units of levemir and she has dropped today to 95, my question is should i still give her the 3.25 tonight or do you think that is to much as the shed is not fill yet? a quick response would be great as i have to give her a shot at 9.
 
Without knowing when your 9 pm is, not sure how soon you need an answer. Would you please tell us where you live? Country, state/province?
 
You are probably going to need to stall (hold off on giving the shot and feeding) before I can find someone to come over to Feline Health to answer. Hang on while I go look for someone.
 
Ok, I've posted a topic asking for help over in both the Levimir and Lantus Tight Regulations Forums.

I have zero experience with Levimir so I'm not qualified to help you.
 
gave the shot it was getting to late didn't want to be too late as that effects her bg. i gave her a skinny 3.5 so just above line. i would still like to here some feed back on this.
 
How many hours has it been since the 1st Levemir shot?

If it is time for the next shot
and he went down to 95 after the 1st shot
and is now over 200 at shot time
AND you will be able to monitor
... then you might shoot.

Levemir builds up, so you may be a bit too high on the dose. Have your hypo kit ready.

The nadir is later, too, so you'll likely find it after +6 hours.
 
sammy34 said:
gave the shot it was getting to late didn't want to be too late as that effects her bg. i gave her a skinny 3.5 so just above line. I would still like to here some feed back on this.

Go carefully - I would be very cautious about the dose increases, as Levemir is a depot insulin too. You might back off to 3 units until you have a good 5 days on it and have found the nadir.
 
Sorry just seeing this now, hang on be right back, I'm going to go back and look at the spreadsheet real quick.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Okay that was no help. Do you have today's and the last couple of cycles of when he was on Lantus you could give me?

Depending on when onset was on his first dose, you maybe fine tonight but I would keep a very close eye on him tonight just in case, because it isn't uncommon to see a really hard response to the initial dose on Lev but then it slows down with each additional shot especially when switching from Lantus to Lev. I know with both of my girls when I have switched them over from Lantus to Lev they dropped pretty low on the first shot, then mellowed out on the next couple cycles.

Which I always figured was because of the way Lantus and Lev work to form their sheds, so basically the Lantus shed is draining as the Lev shed builds so you get an overlap with the Lantus. Not sure that is the real scientific reason behind it, or if I just have two cats that decide they both wanted to react that way. :roll:

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
hi sorry was doing some work around the house. anyways i got some numbers from the last couple of days. here they are:

april 27 lantus 4.50 units bid
9:00 am 18.7
3:00 pm 13.2
9:00 pm 16
3:00 am 15.8

april 28
9:00 am 16.7
12:30 pm 15.3
5:00 pm 15.4
9:00 pm 17
1:00 pm 12.8

april 29
9 am 15.6
2 pm 12
9 pm 14.6

april 30
9 am 17.8
3:30 13.4
9 pm 17.6
4 am 14.8

may 1
9 am 15
9 pm 18.6

may 2
9 am 16.6
2 pm 11.1
9 pm 15.6

may 3 started levemir 3.25 units
9 am 16.6
12pm 9.1
3 pm 6.8
4:30 6.1
5:30 5.5
9 pm 15.4
 
Mel - Yes, I had the same problem in looking at the spreadsheet. There are no current numbers there to look at. Not even todays numbers. And for some reason, the US side of the sheet is missing a lot of the dates and numbers that are on the world version. Not sure how that got messed up or how to fix. For now, will look at the world version and translate to US numbers, multiplying by 18.

Sammy34, thanks for putting some recent numbers in this post. Would you please enter them into your linked spreadsheet? Do you have time?That way we can see the color coding at work. Don't do this right now if it's too stressful or you don't have time.

Also, would you be willing to update your user control panel, profile, edit signature information? Put in your name and your cats name, insulin used with dates for Lantus, date switched to Levimir, DX date, food fed, info like that. It helps us to help you better, giving us a quick snapshot of info about your cat. You can also add your location to the profile, edit profile and update the location field to tell us Canada, New Brunswick. Be sure to click on the submit button to save the data. That way, we know where you are and can adjust for the time zone difference. Atlantic time zone right?
 
Okay it looks like at least this morning his onset was pretty early at about +3. So yeah, this could be a long night, glad you are planning on staying up with him. I would definitely get at least a +2, +4 & +6 tonight unless you see a fast or steep drop, hopefully not, hopefully he will just surf for you. Personally I would back his dose down a little and actually he may just earn his first reduction tonight. You have your hypo kit ready and know where it all is right?

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
ya i got high carb dry food which he loves and honey, so i will just put some honey on dry food. she does not get anymore dry food, she is a tc feline raw cat with a little fancy feast and evo.
 
hi i just took bg and it is 14.8 not dropping to much. this good or bad? do you think i could take a hour or two nap?
 
Wait and see where she heads tonight, you might be able to just steer her a little with a tiny bit of her regular food. If she gets around about 60, give her just a couple bites of her regular food, maybe crack open a can of FF and give her about an 1/8 of a can, might have to do that for several hours to keep her steady and surfing so you don't want to fill her up if you really are going to need her to eat if the regular food doesn't keep her up and she starts dropping again or goes lower than 50. Lower than 50 pull out the HC and again just little bites. And stick up a 911.

Yep go get a catnap you should be good for an hour or two. You are going to be no good to Sammy if you are so tired you can't see straight to test.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
well didn't drop last night. at 2 am she was 252 and at 3:30 she was 216. than i went to bed and this morning at 9 am she was 350. could this be a bounce as she was not use to going low as yesterday she went down to 95?
 
Yes, it could be a bounce. I'd look at your spreadsheet to examine for patterns, but it isn't up to date.

Are you checking for urine (or blood) ketones? These develop as a by-product of fat breakdown. Too many may indicate diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA) an expensive to treat, potentially fatal, complication of diabetes.

And if you use KetoDiastix (or generic equivalent), you can see if the glucose is above the renal threshold (about 240 mg/dL) and spilling into the urine.
 
Re: help asap got a new question

hello again, well like i said she stayed pretty high last night, must of been bounce because today she went down to 4 or 75. so i think i will reduce tonight to 3.25 or 3 units. what do you think? she did not feel good today but i think it was because of dropping from 350 to 75. at +4 she was 288 so i thought she was going to stay high but at +7 she dropped to 75.
 
I would say dropping down to 3 units is a good idea, given how depot insulins build up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top