?help asap? Bodie 11/14/2020?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sadye claxton

Member Since 2020
Bodie just got his .75 units of insulin and then proceeded to puke up his entire breakfast that he ate with his insulin....I'm afraid the .75 without food is going to drop him too low. Thoughts on what to do? I also pricked his ear four times this am and couldnt get a reading. He was getting antzy so I just went ahead and gave him his normal dose as he's been steady/stable on the .75 now for awhile.
DO I NEED TO TRY AND FEED HIM A LITTLE AGAIN NOW?
DO I NEED TO GIVE HIM A LITTLY SUGAR SYRUP?
THANKS
 
Ok.

I think you'll need to monitor his BG closely for the next number of hours.

I see from your opening post that you couldn't get a blood sample this morning. Has the weather where you are got cooler today? Try warming the ear much longer than usual to encourage better blood flow. Also try the other ear, again warming it for longer than usual.

Please try to see if you can get Bodie to eat again. Just give him a small amount initially to see if he can keep that down (maybe from a different variety of food, just on the off chance there might have been something iffy about the stuff he just brought back up). If he's OK after about 10 minutes try giving him another small amount of food.

As soon as you can, grab another BG test and post the result and how long after the insulin shot the test was taken. Don't delay longer than +1 for this test: you need to get a picture of where the cycle might be headed ASAP.

Questions:

* How long had Bodie been without food before his brekkie?

* Was there much watery liquid in the vomitus or was it all undigested food?

* When he threw up, was the food in a sausage shape and was it almost immediately after he ate (scarf 'n' barf)?


Mogs
.
 
More questions:

* Do you have any higher carb wet food in gravy in the house? (I'm assuming from your opening post that you've got enough sugar syrup.)

* Do you have plenty of test strips for your meter?


Mogs
.
 
giving him a small amount now. I'll warm his ear and try to get another reading asap. he had been without food since about 10pm last night. it was almost immediatey (5 min maybe) after he ate and all undigested food first- a big heap, looked like what i put on his plate then followed with a bit of liquid. I truly think he ate too fast and then decided he wanted to play with his mouse. I should not have participated in that with him. It was just a few mintues BUT I think he ate too fast and then played and puked.
I gave him a teaspoon full of his wet food just now with about 10 pieces of his diatetic management kibble ( he doesnt get kibble bc it spikes his sugars, but thought a small amount right now might be a good thing)
 
More questions:

* Do you have any higher carb wet food in gravy in the house? (I'm assuming from your opening post that you've got enough sugar syrup.)

* Do you have plenty of test strips for your meter?


Mogs
.
I just did some kibble for higher carb food ( only like 10 tiny pieces-theyre not big kibbles...he loved it)
Yes I have sugar syrup on hand and lots of strips, he just was NOT bleeding this am
 
Hi Sadye,

Thanks for the info. I see you've erred on the side of carb-y caution, much to Bodie's delight by the sound of things! :cat: Hopefully it was just a scarf 'n' barf.

No need to give any more higher carb food at the moment (especially as you know that the kibbles generally spike Bodie's levels). You can try giving him a small amount of one of his regular low carb wet foods - only a small amount initially - to see if he can keep that down OK.

Info needed: Can you let me know how long after the insulin dose you gave the kibble, please? Ditto for any small amounts of low carb wet food he gets (with approx amt and time after insulin for each mini feed). I need to keep track of what you've fed and when in order to properly assess how Bodie is doing as the cycle progresses.

Next step is to get a BG check - no later than +1, please. I'm actively monitoring your thread.


Mogs
.
 
Hi Sadye,

Thanks for the info. I see you've erred on the side of carb-y caution, much to Bodie's delight by the sound of things! :cat: Hopefully it was just a scarf 'n' barf.

No need to give any more higher carb food at the moment (especially as you know that the kibbles generally spike Bodie's levels). You can try giving him a small amount of one of his regular low carb wet foods - only a small amount initially - to see if he can keep that down OK.

Info needed: Can you let me know how long after the insulin dose you gave the kibble, please? Ditto for any small amounts of low carb wet food he gets (with approx amt and time after insulin for each mini feed). I need to keep track of what you've fed and when in order to properly assess how Bodie is doing as the cycle progresses.

Next step is to get a BG check - no later than +1, please. I'm actively monitoring your thread.


Mogs
.
thank you! Answers:
-insulin- he got WITH his breakfast at 8:20am then puked about 8:40
- Around 9:00 He got his first tablespoon of his diabetic wet food and about 10 kibbles, kept that down
-just now, 9:15 gave him another tablespoon of his diabetic wet food. It's still down

I do think it was scarf and barf

will try for BS now
 
SITREP ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Alphatrak Meter

AMPS - ??? - Fed LC brekkie - Dose: 0.75IU Lantus (could not get blood sample for BG test).
+0.25 - ??? - Barfed up brekkie (Suspicion that Bodie ate too fast.)
+0.75 - ??? - 1 tbsp LC wet + 10 HC kibbles. (Kept down.)
+1.00 - ??? - 1 tbsp LC wet. (Held down thus far.)
+1.25 - 132 - Small amt LC wet.

(Dose admin: 08:20 Local Time, 13:20 GMT)

SUPPLIES AVAILABLE ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LC wet food
HC wet food
HC kibbles
Sugar syrup
Plenty of test strips
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
okay he's at 132 now... I gave him a TINY bit more wet food. should i give more?
Well done with the test! :)

You should be OK to give Bodie the rest of his LC breakfast amount, but if you split it up into small amounts with a little gap between each mini feed it should hopefully make it less likely he'd bring it back up again.

Can you test again at +2 please, Sadye? (At 10:20 your time.)


Mogs
.
 
SITREP ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Alphatrak Meter

AMPS - ??? - Fed LC brekkie - Dose: 0.75IU Lantus (could not get blood sample for BG test).
+0.25 - ??? - Barfed up brekkie (Suspicion that Bodie ate too fast.)
+0.75 - ??? - 1 tbsp LC wet + 10 HC kibbles. (Kept down.)
+1.00 - ??? - 1 tbsp LC wet. (Held down thus far.)
+1.25 - 132 - Small amt LC wet, followed by more LC mini feeds.
+2.25 - 138 - Continuing to feed small amts LC. Half of normal brekkie eaten thus far.

(Dose admin: 08:20 Local Time, 13:20 GMT)

SUPPLIES AVAILABLE ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LC wet food
HC wet food
HC kibbles
Sugar syrup
Plenty of test strips
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Mogs
.
 
he's finishing up about a 1/4 can now. Eating this puts him at his normal amount of breakfast ( given over the course of about an hour and 45 min at this point). So far he has kept everything down and seems happy as can be. Can I leave him be now for awhile? Just monitor for any signs of low BS? He usually would get another snack around noon. I can do that to stay on track THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP
 
feeding is going well. He has only had about half of his normal intake at this point but I'm going slow and small. Giving another bit now...
You're doing great, Sadye. I'm glad that Bodie seems to be keeping his grub down OK thus far. :)

Bodie doesn't look to have got much of a bump from the HC kibbles, and the +2.25 reading hasn't budged since the reading an hour earlier. This cycle may be quite active. I suggest you keep testing him every hour for the next few hours to see how low he goes and to see whether he needs additional food. If you post the hourly tests I'll keep an eye out for them and if any steering is needed I'll be able to give you some input on any food intervention that might be needed.

Based on Bodie's numbers in general, I'd like to suggest that you start grabbing mid-cycle tests: he's in quite good numbers at preshot - especially as measured on an Alphatrak - and he could potentially be going a fair bit lower between doses. (Alphatrak normal BG reference range is 68-150mg/dL.) I don't know what your day-to-day schedule is like but if possible it would be ideal to get a test on each AM cycle somewhere between +4 and +7 to try to catch Bodie's nadirs and also a 'before bed' test each PM cycle to check that he's not likely to go too low overnight.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Hi Sadye,

Please can you let me know whether you're planning to grab the hourly tests today so that I can set an alarm to alert me to check your thread for BG readings.


Mogs
.
 
Hi Sadye,

Please can you let me know whether you're planning to grab the hourly tests today so that I can set an alarm to alert me to check your thread for BG readings.


Mogs
.
thank you! I just did another he's at 148. Since he's trending up, you think I could head out for a couple hours? OR pertinent to stay home and do every hour? We are planning to do a full curve in the next few days to see his nadirs on regular days when stuff like this doesnt happen too...wondering if he's ready for a decrease. THANKS
 
Hi Sadye,

I'm not able to proactively monitor your thread at the moment because I'm now on hypo watch for another kitty.

If you need help, please keep posting and someone should come to your aid fairly quickly. If Bodie drops below 68 change your thread title to "Below 68 Alphatrak. Need urgent help." Set the 911 icon against the thread title to attract urgent attention.

If numbers do drop into the 60s feed small amounts of HC and test every half hour to make sure Bodie comes back up into safe numbers (above 68) and STAYS UP!

If numbers drop lower than 60 keep feeding small amounts of HC and add some honey. Test/feed every 30 mins as described above.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Hi Sadye,

I'm not able to proactively monitor your thread at the moment because I'm now on hypo watch for another kitty.

If you need help, please keep posting and someone should come to your aid fairly quickly. If Bodie drops below 68 change your thread title to "Below 68 Alphatrak. Need urgent help." Set the 911 icon against the thread title to attract urgent attention.

If numbers do drop into the 60s feed small amounts of HC and test every half hour to make sure Bodie comes back up into safe numbers (above 68) and STAYS UP!

If numbers drop lower than 60 keep feeding small amounts of HC and add some honey.


Mogs
.
GOT IT! THANK YOU SOOO MUCH for all your help!! I hope the hypo kitty does well. I appreciate you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top