HELP! Angel far too low to shoot at +12 urgent but not 911

Status
Not open for further replies.

SweetAngel

Member Since 2014
hi, well I tested Angel again at +12, and he was 7.9/142 ON AN ALPHATRAK!!

I've just let him go out, he will be back within the hour. He is on one unit Prozinc. Do I
a) skip his dose and test at 7am which would be +19 and if all is fine give his dose then and the next at 7pm?
b) test again in an hour or so and if his bg is above 230 on alphatrak feed and shoot
c)" "150 " " give .5 unit?

If I do decide to test again in an hour and his bg is still too low, what do I do?
If I did skip his dose and give it 7 hours late, would this put him at risk or undo all the positive signs?
 
Re: HELP! Angel far too low to shoot at +12 urgent but not 9

I would test again in an hour.
 
Re: HELP! Angel far too low to shoot at +12 urgent but not 9

Thanks Dyana...if it's still too low what then? He's just come in and is eating so I'll test 30 mins after he's finished, which will be just over an hour after his last test.
x
 
Re: HELP! Angel far too low to shoot at +12 urgent but not 9

When you find you cannot shoot safely every 12 hours because the numbers are too low, you need to reduce the dose at least 0.25 units.

If you cannot stay up to monitor, skip tonight.

Tomorrow's glucose will then be high, but do not increase to compensate, hold the current dose for the high numbers, then reduce on the next shot. And check the nadir if possible to ensure he is not going too low.
 
Re: HELP! Angel far too low to shoot at +12 urgent but not 9

thanks BJM,

It's 12.45 am in UK, I guess I can keep testing until his bg is over 200, and then I could set the alarm for say +5 or +6 to check the nadir but I can't stay up all night as I'm taking my civie to the vets tomorrow as I'm worried about her (elderly with a heart condition) Maybe if his bg is only just about 200 I should give .75 tonight?
 
Re: HELP! Angel far too low to shoot at +12 urgent but not 9

Angel was 10.1/ 182 at +14!!!

I remembered the hospital who are running the trial is open 24 hours and rang them, they said skip the dose and test again early morning. I think stressing Angel out testing him every hour through the night and neither of us getting any sleep is not going to do any good. I'm worried enough as it is about Lianna, she is definitely not herself, I am so scared about what the vet may find tomorrow...
So me and my sugar cat are off to bed to join Lianna, will carry Cera up too but she will probably come back down.Oh well...at least I get his shot time to 7!!
xx
 
Re: HELP! Angel far too low to shoot at +12 urgent but not 9

Rooting for Angel down in the Shire.

((Angel))
 
Re: HELP! Angel far too low to shoot at +12 urgent but not 9

SweetAngel said:
Angel was 10.1/ 182 at +14!!!

I remembered the hospital who are running the trial is open 24 hours and rang them, they said skip the dose and test again early morning. I think stressing Angel out testing him every hour through the night and neither of us getting any sleep is not going to do any good. I'm worried enough as it is about Lianna, she is definitely not herself, I am so scared about what the vet may find tomorrow...
So me and my sugar cat are off to bed to join Lianna, will carry Cera up too but she will probably come back down.Oh well...at least I get his shot time to 7!!
xx

In the morning, go ahead and give the same 1 unit if he is still high. Then tomorrow evening, drop to 0.75 units. (Estimate as best you can. You can use a firm ruler with fine markings and line it up to the barrel's 0 mark. Count the tick marks up to the next mark, then use that as a guide.)
 
Re: HELP! Angel far too low to shoot at +12 urgent but not 9

Just a quick update on Angel before I go back to bed!!!

I missed out his pms and tested him at +19 expecting to get numbers in the 300's. He was 14.1 / 254, lower than his AMPS yesterday!!! I fed him and gave him a full dose. I'm wondering if Angel has a slowish metabolism, since caninsulin seemed to last for at least 11 hours.

Love from Angel and his very tired mummy who will be sleeping in!!
x
 
Re: HELP! Angel far too low to shoot at +12 urgent but not 9

prayers being said for your Angel and the elderly civvie!

sleep is overrated, yes?
 
Re: HELP! Angel far too low to shoot at +12 urgent but not 9

Hi Cassandra,

Thinking of you and wondering how you and your little ones are doing today. Hope all is ok.
 
Re: HELP! Angel far too low to shoot at +12 urgent but not 9

Any update on your kitty Lianna, Cassandra?
Have been thinking about you. How did it go at the vet's?

Eliz
 
Re: HELP! Angel far too low to shoot at +12 urgent but not 9

(((Eliz, Donna, Aine)))

I just posted an update in a new thread, thanks for thinking of me, probably not great for Lianna xxx
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top