Griffin's Mom
Member Since 2016
Griffin is being switched to wet food, slowly. This week he gets 2 meals dry food and 2 meals wet food. He loves the wet food!
This morning his AMPS is 11.9, I retested to make sure and it was 12.4 . I don't know how to decide how much of a shot to give him. He normally gets 3units.
My roommate is home to watch him but to do BG tests.
Yesterday he had a GB of 11.1 retested 11.8 so I withheld his insulin. (I was at work all day). at +1 (right before I had to leave for work he was 16. I still felt this was too low for me to comfortably give him his shot.
He missed his lunch as well and by 4pm was stalking anyone that moved.
Got home early did a BG at +9.5 (4:30pm) he is 27.3. I tested him again at +11.5 (6:30pm) 27.3 and feed and give him shot then (30mins early).
He was nice and low for the rest of the night.
How do you adjust the dose for lower number so that they don't completely miss his insulin shots?
This morning his AMPS is 11.9, I retested to make sure and it was 12.4 . I don't know how to decide how much of a shot to give him. He normally gets 3units.
My roommate is home to watch him but to do BG tests.
Yesterday he had a GB of 11.1 retested 11.8 so I withheld his insulin. (I was at work all day). at +1 (right before I had to leave for work he was 16. I still felt this was too low for me to comfortably give him his shot.
He missed his lunch as well and by 4pm was stalking anyone that moved.
Got home early did a BG at +9.5 (4:30pm) he is 27.3. I tested him again at +11.5 (6:30pm) 27.3 and feed and give him shot then (30mins early).
He was nice and low for the rest of the night.
How do you adjust the dose for lower number so that they don't completely miss his insulin shots?