Help / advice needed!

Status
Not open for further replies.

KRams

Member Since 2019
Hi all,

My Xena has recently been diagnosed, but has been having intestinal troubles so my vet recommended keeping her on Hills i/d until that is resolved.

I purchased a glucometer yesterday. Xena had been eating dry Hills i/d for the past 1.5 weeks. All my kitties have been having intestinal troubles and issues with appetite, so last night I gave them all wet Hills i/d for the first time to tempt them in to eating (which thankfully worked). After eating, Xena's BG was 277, so I administered the 2 units of insulin my vet recommended.

This morning, I gave all the kitties wet Hills i/d again and tested Xena- her BG was down at 54! I re-tested a half-hour later to be sure I (and the monitor) hadn't screwed it up- her BG was 77. Obviously, I didn't give her any insulin!

I tested once more in the afternoon, and it was up to 142. I fed everyone and re-tested Xena- her BG was up to 152.

Any advice about how much I should administer (if at all) tonight? She's on Lantus.
And are you all testing pre-feeding or post-feeding?

Thank you!!
 
With the little history you have I would not shoot if she's under 200

How long has she been on insulin?

The preshoot test should be done before feeding and making sure she hasn't had any food for 2 hours prior to the test to make sure is safe to give insulin, for the rest of the test during the day it doesn't matter if she ate or not

Please get a hypo kit ready and read this is very IMPORTANT so that you know what to do in case she goes very low
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/


Which protocol are you following? Tight regulation or SLGS

Since you are using Lantus I do suggest you post on the Lantus forum for advice but I do think you should lower her dose
 
She was only diagnosed about a week and a half ago and I've only had the meter since yesterday, so I know almost nothing about how she will respond! My reading was also right after feeding- my mistake, I thought I was suppose to check post-feed. :/

Plus, we added in that transition from dry to wet food... yup, lots going on and I'm just trying to get her healthy!

I'm not going for tight regulation- I'd like to adhere to the SLGS protocol but I am new and my vet bumped us up from 1 unit last week to 2 units this week. Now I know that's probably too much too fast, but I didn't realize at the time.

I'm definitely leaning towards not administering any tonight and checking tomorrow. I'll cross post this on the Lantus forum (hopefully someone will tell me if that's not appropriate?)

Thank you!
 
If she's under 200 I do suggest you skip the shoot tonight, that will help clear the depot and tomorow withdraw all food 2 hours before her pre shoot test if she's over 200 then I think you should consider starting with 1 unit as the SLGS protocol suggests, and if she's still under 200 ask for help in the forum
Changing diet can make the blood glucose levels to drop dramatically so her insulin needs may be a lot lower that when she was at the vet with her other diet

In any case ask after you test tomorow if you need any suggestions
 
Thank you Veronica & Babu-chiri! That sounds like a logical and safe route to go. I ran into my vet while picking up more food today and she echoed the fact that her BG at the vet may also have been artificially high due to stress. Thank goodness I finally pick up a glucometer and started testing- I'm stressed by this, but at least I know what Xena's levels are and that she's safe!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top