HELP Advice for newbie, low preshot reading..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan & Oren

Member Since 2015
Haven't posted in a while, SO much going on.. Away now and vet tech pet sitter has been doing pre shot testing , bless her. first preshot test last Thur night, was 259. Yesterday, Friday morning before shot, Oren was in 300's, a midday shot he hadn't dropped hardly at all, then he got into a stash of Purina DM kibble, and at dinner time shot, he was off the meter(relion) . He is currently on 2 units 2x day. This morning, 400's and this evening pre shot, he was 132. Pet sitter called me to let me know and we agreed not to dose him this evening. Does this sound like a rebound from getting over carb loaded by the dry food? He's only been on the 2 units for a little over a week. What might we expect as a morning reading? Hoping I did the right thing and safer for him to be higher than lower without someone there 24/7 to watch him
 
It takes Lantus 5-7 days to stabilize its effects for the initial dose and 3-5 days for later dose adjustments.
The Lantus dose is adjusted after that, based on the nadir, the lowest glucose post-shot.


We have 2 protocols for using Lantus
Start Low, Go Slow
Tight Regulation

Read them over and see which will work best for you.
 
I know there are two protocols, but my immediate question was the low reading preshot tonight likely a rebound from the carb overload? He started on 1 unit 2x a day back at end of Jan, and after 2 weeks went up to 2 units, based on vet big curves. I hadn't been successful at home testing since he started on 2 units, my vet tech pet sitter has been doing them. I just wanted know if it was the right thing to skip a shot tonight because he was at 132....
 
yes. I would skip since you have someone else watching her....

yes... better too high than too low....

it sounds to me like when you return you might want to try 1.5 units .....

be sure and come post when you return.... we can get that refined.....
vet curves aren't that accurate because most cats are stressed at the vet.
 
Thanks, weather permitting I come home Tue, into the big snowstorm in Rchmond, Va. My tech has been recording the numbers for me so I'll have them for my vet. I actually have an appt on fri for the follow up. Indeed Oren seems to run very high at vet. He pulled 619 after first shot at home , and only dropped to 300 something and started back up after that.

Could getting into the carb food have caused this see saw of off the chart then down to normal?
 
Well I'm home. I've updated Oren's spreadsheet w/ the numbers obtained by my amazing vet tech pet sitter, who I can't thank enough for slogging through the 7 inches of snow to make it to my house. Scheduled to take Oren in on Fri. for another vet BG, but wondering what these numbers look like to you all? Vet tech sitter thinks 2 units is good for now. Wondering if I need to put him through the stress of the vet again? Tomorrow, She is going to come and show me her technique for the testing, so hopefully I can pick up with it again. I tried this a.m, and tho he let me poke a few times, i didn't get blood. SO frustrating. Wanted to keep up the good work she started.
 
indeed she is! i passed along the numbers to my vet, and we are cancelling this Fridays BG curve, and I'm to hold 2 units until NEXT week when he'll go in for a +5 single BG reading, fructosamine test and general exam. What do folks think?!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top