Help!Admin....seeking advice. I

jcrizzo79

Member Since 2025
Admin....seeking advice. I have a diabetic cat age 11. Did fructose test on Friday because we were at vet due to a respiratory issue and I said while we are here I think we are going into remission. Tested 215 and we cheered. He gave antibiotic shot for respiratory and sent us on the way.
Bandit hasn't eaten since Thursday. She was taking small bites a few times a day but today only took water. This evening she threw up the water and was dry heaving. Idk what to do. Vet said to still give 1 unit of insulin but I haven't given any due to glucose at 260 and lack of eating. I'm so scared for my girl and making it thru Sunday. Any advice to get her eating again? Respiratory hasn't improved at all either I was suggested to test ketones. I'm on my way to Walmart now as my test strips expired.
Edit...I did glucose test and was 562. Ketones showing up but I had to test off of a puddle on the floor from overnight so I'm not sure how accurate that is
 
Last edited:
Hi I posted early early this morning but a lot has changed and I thought a new post would be better than editing.
I'm not exactly sure what to do. We do not have a 24hr emergency vet. My vet will reopen Monday at 8 and I already have plans of being there at open. Here's our situation......
Bandit, age 11, has had diabetes since 2022 and we've done great on vetsulin. Her highest dose was 2.5 but we maintain a low carb lifestyle for her and have recently gone to 1.5units
Friday went to vet because of respiratory issues. Lungs clear and no fever just major congestion. We live in GA and there's apparently a weed in bloom that makes cats go crazy the vet said. We opted for the antibiotic shot as our girl hates oral meds and our work schedules do not allow us to be together all the time to do meds. Friday after vet she ate but not much. BG was 236 at the vet and fructose was 215 so I wasn't super concerned as she hates the vet and we skipped her shot.
Bandit refused food all day Saturday. During the night she sat next to my bed howling and dry heaving so I got up just to be with her. At that time I noticed she smelled weird and that made me think ketones. Ran out to get fresh strips but the only urine I could test was the puddle on the floor from during the night. The strip showed moderate levels but idk how accurate as it was old pee on the wood floor. And BG was 563. Very very high for her.
I have a retired veterinarian friend and she came right over. She's not super familiar with kitty diabetes but has a diabetic dog. With her guidance we administered IV fluids under her skin, she wasn't dehydrated much at all but wanted to them in her. And we gave 1.5units of insulin. My vet friend said it was so high that it wouldn't be a big deal not eating but to monitor thoroughly thru the day. She gave me extra needles for fluids, glucose gel and said to watch how fast she absorbs fluids to judge if she needs more this evening.
She gave me a litter that allows the urine to float on top to be able to collect a sample for ketones again later too.
I don't know what else to do but would do anything to help my baby
 
Welcome to FDMB, Sorry you are going thru this, what insulin are you using, if you are using Lantus or Prozic , 215 is not a good BG Is definitely not remission, I remember when Corky came home from the hospital, I had to force feed him with a large syringe, I had to make the food soft enough with some water in order for it to go into the syringe easier, I would put the string between the side of his jaws and slowly push the food in ( please the syringe without the needle of course) as long as Bandit eats takes a few bites of the food you, missing two shots the BG will continue to rise, I will tag another member to add or put input on this post, I hope he’s feeling better
@squeem3
 
We use vetsulin. She hadn't had a shot since Friday morning but I was advised to give dose this morning. I never thought about using a big syringe to feed her. I'm going to try that, thank you
 
Is the 215 the fructosamine value? If you did a blood glucose test and the result is 562, I'd retest unless this is what you've typically been seeing when you home test. If the 215 was the fructosamine level, it's not consistent with the 562. It's possible that you're getting a 562 blood glucose level because your cat is fighting off an infection which will cause a higher BG level.

One of the issues with a respiratory illness is that your cat's sense of smell is not working because she's congested. Try running a hot shower and leaving your cat in the bathroom for a while so you can "steam" your cat. The steam may help to loosen up her nose so she can smell. You could also put some food in the room with her. And try using a particularly smelly food.

The ketone test is not valid. When you test for ketones, you need to test immediately after your cat has urinated.

If you are going to assist feed Bandit, please test more than usual. Vetsulin can drop numbers hard and fast. If she's off her food, it can be hard to get her to eat if her numbers are dropping.
 
Yes 215 was fructose on Friday where her BG was 236. I haven't seen 500+ reading in years. She's usually in the 340 range before her insulin shot
I will run a steam shower for her. I do have vetrx on hand but I haven't put any drops in her nose. The vet also gave me a decongestant to sprinkle on food but I haven't given that either because she's not eating
 
Is the 215 the fructosamine value? If you did a blood glucose test and the result is 562, I'd retest unless this is what you've typically been seeing when you home test. If the 215 was the fructosamine level, it's not consistent with the 562. It's possible that you're getting a 562 blood glucose level because your cat is fighting off an infection which will cause a higher BG level.

One of the issues with a respiratory illness is that your cat's sense of smell is not working because she's congested. Try running a hot shower and leaving your cat in the bathroom for a while so you can "steam" your cat. The steam may help to loosen up her nose so she can smell. You could also put some food in the room with her. And try using a particularly smelly food.

The ketone test is not valid. When you test for ketones, you need to test immediately after your cat has urinated.

If you are going to assist feed Bandit, please test more than usual. Vetsulin can drop numbers hard and fast. If she's off her food, it can be hard to get her to eat if her numbers are dropping.
Yes 215 is fructose. Just did a BG and was 440. Lowery han this morning but still pretty high. I also syringe fed about half a Sheba pate mixed with water. Will test again in an hour. I'm running her the shower now. I gave 1.5 units of vetsulin at 630am
 
Welcome to FDMB, Sorry you are going thru this, what insulin are you using, if you are using Lantus or Prozic , 215 is not a good BG Is definitely not remission, I remember when Corky came home from the hospital, I had to force feed him with a large syringe, I had to make the food soft enough with some water in order for it to go into the syringe easier, I would put the string between the side of his jaws and slowly push the food in ( please the syringe without the needle of course) as long as Bandit eats takes a few bites of the food you, missing two shots the BG will continue to rise, I will tag another member to add or put input on this post, I hope he’s feeling better
@squeem3
[/QUOTE]

Yes 215 was fructose on Friday where her BG was 236. I haven't seen 500+ reading in years. She's usually in the 340 range before her insulin shot
I will run a steam shower for her. I do have vetrx on hand but I haven't put any drops in her nose. The vet also gave me a decongestant to sprinkle on food but I haven't given that either because she's not eating. Will any of that help?
I did just syringe feed about 10-15ml of Sheba pate mixed with water
 
We would love to help you in all your concerns, we are very numbers oriented and we would like to see your cats daily Bg's to be able to guide you better, we would like you to create your signature and spreadsheet, links below, this way we are all on the same page, if you need assistance creating the spreadsheet let us know and one of the members can assist you, also in the main menu there a sticky notes with much valuable information

Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
 
I definitely don't have one to make a spreadsheet nor do I keep track of readings. I do have from Friday till the present
7am 330 and given 1.5unit
4pm 296
No insulin given this evening because she didn't eat.
Saturday had no shots as she wasn't eating at all
Sunday, today
6am 560 and given 1.5 units and fluids under the skin
12pm 440
6pm 492
630pm 1.5 units given
730pm 470amd fluids given under skin

She will not eat. Threw up what was given via syringe. Steam showers have helped a lot with her breathing. The beginning of this was major congestion on Friday. She perks up and gets herself to the bathroom for steam baths all day. Jas not gone to the bathroom however. My vet opens at 8am
 
We would love to help you in all your concerns, we are very numbers oriented and we would like to see your cats daily Bg's to be able to guide you better, we would like you to create your signature and spreadsheet, links below, this way we are all on the same page, if you need assistance creating the spreadsheet let us know and one of the members can assist you, also in the main menu there a sticky notes with much valuable information

Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
I don't have enough information make a spreadsheet nor do I keep track of readings. I do have from Friday till the present
7am 330 and given 1.5unit
4pm 296
No insulin given this evening because she didn't eat.
Saturday had no shots as she wasn't eating at all
Sunday, today
6am 560 and given 1.5 units and fluids under the skin
12pm 440
6pm 492
630pm 1.5 units given
730pm 470amd fluids given under skin

She will not eat. Threw up what was given via syringe. Steam showers have helped a lot with her breathing. The beginning of this was major congestion on Friday. She perks up and gets herself to the bathroom for steam baths all day. Jas not gone to the bathroom however. My vet opens at 8am
 
Good luck with the vet tomorrow. I'm a little worried that she hasn't peed at all, especially with having gotten fluids too. Do you know how many ml of fluids she got?

Your blood glucose meter should have the last two weeks of readings still in it. That's more than enough data to put in a spreadsheet.
 
Thank you all. At the vet we learned that Bandit had developed pneumonia, pancreatitis, kidney failure, ketones and overall was not doing well at all. We made the hard tough choice to let her go. Fly high ole girl, I love you
 
IMG_2039.png
 
Back
Top