Help about Tıfıl

Status
Not open for further replies.

ISIL&TIFIL

Member Since 2011
Hello after a long time,
I am very sorry for not writting for a long time. I was out of town and was not able to find internet all the time. Tıfıl was going very well for a long period, but now her BG levels are again very high. I must say that I panicked alot and didn't shoot her stable numbers. Now I am mixed up and I really need help :cry: :cry:
Can somebody please help me by looking at my spreadsheet??
Thank you very very much
 
i think you'll be able to get tifil back on track - the biggest thing to remember is that at first, you're filling the shed. you hold the dose for 5-7 days unless tifil earns a reduction. i think you're looking at the preshot number and making a decision about the dose that way. as long as you're changing doses you're going to see wonky numbers. remember that lantus needs time to settle, and dosing is based upon the nadir.

don't panic - i think since if i were you, since you've got 5 doses of 1.5, i'd stay there another dose and see what tifil does. from the Tight Regulation Protocol:

"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
It's also important to not change doses too rapidly or in too large of an increment. For example, increasing the dose from 0.75 to 1.5u may have cause a less than desirable response. According to the protocol, your increase should have been 0.25u.

Are you sure that there is no infection or other medical reason for the change in Tifil's numbers? Often a cat that needs dental work can have their numbers go up for no apparent reason.
 
Sure looked promising--all those blues and greens and such a small dose.

Wondering if the insulin could be expired or lost potency?

HOpe the great numbers come back real soon.
 
I'm also suspicious of her teeth. The gum of her back tooth is very red. I am planning to take her to the vet. But the problem is, this gum was red for a long time and the 2 different vet said the same thing that she doesn't need a dental. But I am not sure...
 
The solostar pen that I am using now was one of the 5 pens in one package. So I don't think there is a problem with it :(
 
I think if you get her on a stable dose and hold it that Tifil will start to see an improvement. Make sure your insulin is still good (if it's over two months old, just go ahead and change it). I think on your SS you stated that you have another cat staying with you for a couple weeks and Tifil is having difficulty with that? Stress can also cause a rise in BGs. Since Tifil was on such a small dose previously, I would reduce the dose to 1 unit and leave it there for 3-5 days before deciding on increasing. Of course, if Tifil drops below 50, that's an automatic decrease. If Sienne or one of the other more experienced people come on and say something different, please follow their advice!!

You're okay!! You've done this before, you can do it again!!! We're still all here for you!
 
Thank you very much Patty,
I must find out if this is all because of the red gum. The other cat (mom's cat) went back to mom 2 weeks ago. Maybe the high numbers was because of her you may be right. After a beautiful achievement it is very hard to accept the situation :(
I will do as you say and wait for Sienne and the others...
 
If the gum is red, chances are Tifil needs a dental. To the extent that you can push the vet, you may want to point out that the gingivitis may have thrown your cat out of regulation.

I'm on the fence about dose. Given that it sounds like there's gingivitis, I'd hold the dose where it is. It also looks like Tilfil is bouncing off of the blue numbers. Wait for 6 cycles or for the bounce to clear and we can help you evaluate the dose.
 
perhaps tifil is having anther chronic cystitis flare? although, i agree... if the gum is red around a tooth she probably needs a dental.
i'd stick with 1.5u for now...
 
Today AMPS was 81, and before reading your posts I gave her 1. I will stick to 1 like you say. And for the dental, I will push the vet, because I am suspicious of the teeth. I don't think it's because of chronic cystitis flare because I just stoped giving her antibiotics.
 
well, hi, guys!!!

it's good to see you...but not so good that Tifil is not doing as well as before.
Binks and i are back from the Falls, he's needing a dental like Tifil..
and as a "diet controlled diabetic"...he had a not-so-reliable diet controller...ME! :oops:

hope she gets in better numbers quickly for you..
celi & binks
 
Hello, nice to see you too..:)
I hope Binks will have a wonderful dental with no hurt pain :)
I am sure that Tıfıl is going to pee on her pants as usual :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top