allison snyder
Member Since 2020
First time under 200 for AMPS. Stalled for 20 mns. dropped to 145. Stalled another 10mns went up to 159. What should I give for dose. Has been 1.5 lantus.
Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
- Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
- Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
- a.) give nothing
- b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
- c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
- Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
- In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
He went up again to 169. I'm going to give him a token dose. Will I need to push his evening dose back by an hour, since I'm an hour late giving him his dose?Hey!
Good job on Stalling... That is the right thing to do. To bring your question more attention next time, you can put the question mark from the thread title drop down and say something like ' +12 175 Stalling, need help!'
For advice, it looks like you are SLGS and here's what it says from the sticky:
Yes, I have all the tools. I ended up giving a token dose of .5, since I'm a newbie.Looks like a safe number to shoot.
Are you prepared? Plenty of strips? Medium and high carb foods? Can you stay home today to monitor?
I will be home for part of the day to test. My husband is working from home to monitor him. He can test, if he has too. I'm the pet doctor in the family. Thanks for your help!I believe you can move the shot time back 30 mins per day. Most do it in 15 min increments to get back to regular shot time. I'm sure someone will chime in, to further guide before PMPS
Are you still around to monitor today? I am home today, so can check in on you from time to time if you need.
