Help!?? 1/23 Moo. AMPS 186, +6.5 156, PMBG 130

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moosmommy

Member Since 2012
Moo is at 130 for his PMBG...
I am leaving in an hr and a half and wont be home til possibly 5 hrs later...
Do I shoot?
 
Hello my name is Shelly..I don't consider myself an expert, but I see no one has seen your post. I have been treating my diabetic cat successfully for 5yrs..Judging from Moo's SS, I would shoot and leave out extra food. If your going to be worried, shoot a skinny .50 or .25...

I think he'll be fine
 
THanks Shelly

I think with him being that low...
Im going to skip.
I skipped at 152 the other day... and he was still pretty low considering afterwards...
 
ok...I would be brave and shoot .25 But you have to do what's right for you. He's doing great. and if you skip he'll be fine too.
 
Annie:

You have to do what your comfortable with. I also understand not wanting to shoot a lower number than you're used to when you have to be gone for several hours.

What I'd like to suggest is that you give some thought as to what the next lowest number is that you'd be comfortable shooting. The goal is for everyone to be able to shoot numbers above 50. I'm not saying that you should make that leap all at once. What you can do is think about taking steps to get to that point so you become both comfortable and confident when shooting low numbers.
 
Sienne,
I have been thinking about that actually. And before I came over to Lantus, BJ was helping me on the main board and we were slowly working my no shoot # down... when I came over here we were at 150.
I think I want to keep it at 150 at least until the weekend... And then this weekend I will work it down to 140 and see how it goes being able to check him during the day a few times...
Then so on from there if you think that sounds good?
Thanks!
 
Annie

There is no difference between 150 and 140. I bet we could work it down to 100 if he gives you a number like that.

Moo will do better if you can give consistent shots. We all have lives and so, like Sienne said, sometimes it's just better to skip and be safe especially if you will be gone.
 
Marje's right -- there's no difference between 150 and 140. I think if you could see your way clear to shoot at 100, and then take a smaller step with the greens, that will make more sense (at least to me).
 
I guess it just scares me with such a low number...
When we were working him down before, we were only going by 10's down from 200, 190, etc all the way to 150.
SO 150 is fairly new... and scares me when I see him get into 80's.
I guess Im so used to him being mid 100s it seems 'normal' to me

So tonight I did skip his dose...
Tomorrow morning I am sure he will be right around 200... I will give his .5 then.
But after that, what do you think I should do? All the way to 100?
I'm just terrified of a crash.
 
Annie

We don't let you shoot numbers and stay alone. One of us will help you shoot and then our policy is one of us stays with you...all night if we have to. Sometimes we do a hand-off but we never leave you alone if we help you shoot low.

So next time you get a lower number, don't feed; post and ask for help. We will go through the options and help you decide which you can do.

There was no reason to have you go down by tens....that was kind of a waste of time ;-)

We won't allow you to shoot if it is unsafe. He has to be above 50. You need to have ample test supplies, food/gravy/karo. You need to be rested and feeling fine. When you have supplies, you can control the numbers and we tell you what to feed when.
 
Ok, Thanks :)

I do have some cans of food/gravy, Karo, and plenty of lancets and strips. And more test strips (100) to arrive by mail tomorrow (but still 30+ on hand right now)
Since I work Thurs, Fri, and will be out of town Sat...
Could I lower his number to like 130 or so now... then 100 on Sunday when I can be home?
Or what do you suggest?
 
I'm responding here even though it's Thursday because I don't see a condo yet ;-)

I don't think we need to set a specific number at this time. We play it by ear since you've been here a bit. So, when you get a number lower than what you've shot before, just post and ask for help. Be sure you make it clear in the subject line that you need help by adding something like "Stalling Need Help!" to get attention and don't be shy about bumping up your condo if you need to (just open it, click on "post reply" and then type "bump" in the text box and hit "submit"). At that time, we can discuss what you have going on, if you will be there, etc. so we can tailor what you shoot to the situation.

If no one responds, which is unlikely but can happen, then read over the "Dealing with Low Preshots" sticky that is linked in my signature block. I think it's a great idea for you to print that one and the other one on "Handling Low Numbers" and have them in a notebook for quick access if you need them.
 
Just wanted to say that I was scared to death the first time I gave PF a shot when he was in the low 100s. When I decided to do it I posted on the forum and Maje, Sienne and Jane walked me through it. My first time shooting below 100 Marje stayed up all night guiding me. I just wanted to reassure you that what Marje posted about them not leaving you alone it so true.
The people that are on this board are very knowledgeable, helpful and moe patient than you can imagine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top