Hello, should I shoot now?

MamaLovesMomo

Member Since 2020
Hello..

Should I dose MM now? Or wait again? I have never tried to shoot her this low.
She also ate about half an hour ago.
Thanks
 
I can't tell from your spreadsheet what your preshot value is.

How much did she eat? And what carbs? Typically we test, feed, then shoot. Otherwise you don't know if you are shooting a number that is artificially higher because of the meal.
 
I can't tell from your spreadsheet what your preshot value is.

How much did she eat? And what carbs? Typically we test, feed, then shoot. Otherwise you don't know if you are shooting a number that is artificially higher because of the meal.
@Wendy&Neko,
Hello- her last Bg was @(+17.5) = 77- I did not shoot yet.
She ate a homemade boiled chicken and baked chicken about 2oz with a pea sized chicken liver ( and 2 pcs of Stella & Chewy- Chick and Chicken)
I believed the homemade chicken does not have carbs..
Stella & Chewy- only 2 pcs(.44 oz)- hydrated with water
Thanks.
 
Looks like whatever her dose was today, she earned a 0.25 unit reduction. Since it's so far after PMPS, why don't you just skip until the morning. By the way, I see a bunch of other AMPS and PMPS that are blank. If you skipped, could you either put "skip" or "0" in there, so I know you skipped and not just forgot to enter the value. I find it hard to suggest what to dose when I don't know what you've been shooting, or not, the last few days. If you fill in the blanks, it might help. Thanks.
 
Here is the link to your last post here. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/a-little-confused-with-timing-of-dosing.232526/

It looks like you haven't decided whether you want to follow TR or SLGS for dosing. The biggest differences in how long you hold the dose, what value we use for the reduction point. We do ask the question "how low does this dose take the cat" when decided whether to increase, decrease, or hold the dose. I notice back on 7/25, Momo got down to 59 when you were mostly shooting 1 unit. That is a really low value for the AT and would mean reducing down to 0.75 units, no matter which dosing method you are using. Yet the next morning, you saw a 573 and increased her 1.25 units instead of decreasing. The 573 was just her body bouncing, or dumping sugars in reaction to the low numbers she's seen the day before. Bounces are normal, but annoying, you just have to wait for them to get over and ignore the temporary higher numbers.

I think if you do decide to pick a dosing method, it'll help you decide how to change her dose, or at least give you a better handle on what and when to dose. We can help you learn to help Momo with this.
 
Here is the link to your last post here. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/a-little-confused-with-timing-of-dosing.232526/

It looks like you haven't decided whether you want to follow TR or SLGS for dosing. The biggest differences in how long you hold the dose, what value we use for the reduction point. We do ask the question "how low does this dose take the cat" when decided whether to increase, decrease, or hold the dose. I notice back on 7/25, Momo got down to 59 when you were mostly shooting 1 unit. That is a really low value for the AT and would mean reducing down to 0.75 units, no matter which dosing method you are using. Yet the next morning, you saw a 573 and increased her 1.25 units instead of decreasing. The 573 was just her body bouncing, or dumping sugars in reaction to the low numbers she's seen the day before. Bounces are normal, but annoying, you just have to wait for them to get over and ignore the temporary higher numbers.

I think if you do decide to pick a dosing method, it'll help you decide how to change her dose, or at least give you a better handle on what and when to dose. We can help you learn to help Momo with this.
@Wendy&Neko
Hello.. it might be too late now for you. Sorry.. to confuse you.. I never skipped her dose.. though you see blank.. because her dosed most of the time is like +16(not) .. +12.. that is why you see the pmps and amps blank... not sure if I should put there?
I really want TR, but since I am working.. I cannot do testing for +6 in the morning I will put TR Since that’s the one I have been doing, mostly.
Thanks
 
Is there a reason for the delayed shots? It'd be easier to understand if the shot is at +16, you put dose@+16 in the preshot cell. That way we know you delayed and by how much from the previous shot time.

I notice in your Remarks column today you said "@55 gave HC Stella & Chewy- watched her, fine all day". That's rather concerning. Cats don't always have visible signs they are low. A couple times I found Neko sleeping in the 30's (human meter). 55 on on the AT is way too low. I would have given high carb and tested again within 1/2 hour, to make sure she was up. And keep testing a couple hours after giving high carbs, as the carbs can wear off and the numbers can drop again. It's always a good idea to print off the Sticky Note on Handling Low Numbers. Put it in the hypo kit. That way you have it should power be off too.
 
Is there a reason for the delayed shots? It'd be easier to understand if the shot is at +16, you put dose@+16 in the preshot cell. That way we know you delayed and by how much from the previous shot time.

I notice in your Remarks column today you said "@55 gave HC Stella & Chewy- watched her, fine all day". That's rather concerning. Cats don't always have visible signs they are low. A couple times I found Neko sleeping in the 30's (human meter). 55 on on the AT is way too low. I would have given high carb and tested again within 1/2 hour, to make sure she was up. And keep testing a couple hours after giving high carbs, as the carbs can wear off and the numbers can drop again. It's always a good idea to print off the Sticky Note on Handling Low Numbers. Put it in the hypo kit. That way you have it should power be off too.
@Wendy&Neko

Hello,
Good morning to you all
I revises MM’s SS- it might be confusing, but I noted each dosed where the numbers came from. I don’t skip dose(except one time, need to adjust my time to work with my schedules).. the reason I am delaying.. because she was low and I am a little scared to dose her when she was low. I always wait, then when her BG started to rise- I then dosed her. I reduced the shot this 4:15am..
Thanks
 
Back
Top