Hi, Madeline - and welcome to FDMB! Good for you that you're home-testing before injecting Layla's insulin - that's excellent!
A few questions:
- Which type of meter are you using to test Layla? Human glucose meter or pet-calibrated meter (AlphaTrak2).?
- Which insulin are you using? ProZinc? Lantus? Another type?
- Does Layla have any other health issues besides diabetes?
- Is she on any other medications - antibiotics, etc? And/or has she recently been on steroids?
We generally don't recommend that someone with a newly diagnosed kitty shoot insulin if the blood glucose # at preshot time is less than 200 mg/dl.
If your kitty hasn't made it up to 200 at test time, we recommend that you stall for 15-20 minutes -
withholding any food - and then do a retest, as anticipating a meal can often raise a cat's BG # naturally. Sometimes you may need to do 2 to 3 rounds of stalling before the blood glucose rises to 200. But if an hour goes by and kitty's # is showing you that you're not going to get to at least 200, you'd usually just skip that dose. (More about such things later ... I'm sure you'll have other questions for us, too.)
We'd love to see you get started with a spreadsheet (we have a template available for either type of meter used). That's an easy way to keep track of your at-home test results, dosing, and other info pertinent info that may be helpful to you and others helping you in getting Layla well-regulated and - hopefully - off insulin altogether. (Sounds like she's doing pretty darned good so far!)