Hello from Romeow

Status
Not open for further replies.

Romeow

Member Since 2018
Hiya everybody. My name is Romeow and I live in Bath UK. I have recently been diagnosed with Diabetes. I am only about 3 years old.

In May this year, I decided to leave my old home to go 'looking for lurve'. Whilst I didn't find a girlfriend, I charmed my way into a little group of 5 new feline friends (I'm still working on the 6th but she's a tough cookie!) and they they told me about a nice lady who works for them and give's them all their creature comforts. She works very hard for them for no pay.

One day, one of my new friends was being bullied by another cat, so I stepped in to help him and got bitten. I had a nasty wound on my face and it was very painful. I told the lady, so she took me to the Doctors and whilst I was there she declared her love for me and said I could live with her and my new friends forever. I had to have a little sleep whilst I was there but when I woke up, although I thought something was missing, my lady was there and she took me home to my new brothers and sisters so I realised I had found love afterall! I am very happy with my new family, especially my best brother, Mozart, who I love lots. I really like to annoy him, as younger brothers do!

I have been poorly again and the lovely (I didn't get my name for nothing) girls at the Doctors say I have diabetes. I don't know what that is (I am just always hungry and thirsty and like to use my dirt box lots) but my lady sort of does. She and the girls are helping me but she will have to explain the technical stuff to you cos I don't understand and I am not very good with what she calls a mouse (doesn't look like those furry ones in my world!) She says she is not very technical but she will try her best. I will pass you over to her, she is called Fran.......

Hello everyone! My name is Fran. OK so Romeow didn't type that but that is his background story in what I like to think would be his words in his little cat voice. I never think of my little furballs as having their own voices but they do!! Romeow started appearing in my garden, made friends with my lot (unusual acceptance for an unneutered male) and when he was injured I took him to the vets, no collar, no chip so had to claim him to deal with/pay for his injuries. Had his abscess treated and had him castrated and he has integrated with my mixed bag of waifs and strays amazingly well. Unfortunately, I noticed on 08 September that he was eating and drinking/excessively and thought that as my neighbours had contractors in that the overeating was a stress reaction and had a possible idiopathic UTI. Took him on 10th Sept to see my usual vet who I have been with over 8 yrs and trust implicitly. Managed to get a urine sample mid-flow just before we left and showed his BG in high 20's (UK). She immediately suspected Diabetes so ran bloods and it was confirmed. We have him on ProZinc and a strict caloried controlled diet which is proving to be a nightmare with feeding my others (see personal info). We are reviewing his treatment plan weekly and have tonight decided to take him off (gradually) the small amount of dry he is on and stick to wet. I have had a diabetic cat before but Harvey went to kitty heaven over 10 years ago and some things have changed in that time (some not). I have an Alpha Trak 2 and am going to start doing his BG daily. I spoke to my vet nurse tonight and Romeow is their only diagnosed diabetic cat (they have a few dogs) so we are now their special case study so could do with all the support I can get from you all!! I have never used a forum before and Romeow is right, I am not very techno, can't even figure how to do the avatar (but I am mean with Math and a spreadsheet!). I have given some basic details in my personal info and done his signature (all new to me) but will upload the technical stuff (bloods etc) as soon as I can. Romeow now has his own email for dedicated replies to him regarding his diabetes. Have found some really good tips here and lots of positive info when feeling at a very low ebb so thanks to everyone! xx
 
Welcome Fran and Romeow. Love his name! It sounds like a very busy household on a regular day, and now you have diabetes to contend with. I think you have found the best place to learn/relearn your way around the disease and help Romeow to better health. You can read about using Prozinc and post questions in the dedicated insulin group support forum. I am so glad to hear that you are going to be home testing. The link for the spreadsheet is HERE
You may wish to visit www.catinfo.org about feline diets. I learned quite a bit on that website. As far as getting your avatar, just click on your user name in the upper right hand corner, then on personal details. If you have a pic of Romeow on your computer, you can click on the avatar and upload it. I am eager to see this lothario!
You don't have to be a computer tech to negotiate the forum or the spreadsheet, just look around on the board and click on the items in the menu. Also, lots of good information on the Home Page, if you haven't read it already.
I am including a link about supplies in the UK and it might be helpful as far as finding low carb food there. UK Info
You can post questions/concerns/issue on the Health (Main) forum, more eyes to see and respond. I wish you well on this new adventure!
 
Welcome to you, Romeow and your creature comfort provider, Fran. Love your intro. Sounds like you found yourself quite the wonderful home!

Fran, how sweet of you to take in a waif in need of medical care and a family and quite the family it is by the sounds of it! Romeow obviously chose well.

Like Idjit's Mom, I look forward to seeing a picture of your furry little man. You will find all the help and support you need here. All you need do is ask. You already figured out the signature so I'm betting you are more technical than you think you are. We all understand how overwhelming this can be at first, but you've already had your feet wet before so you'll be handling things like a pro in no time.:)
 
Welcome Fran and Romeow. Love his name! It sounds like a very busy household on a regular day, and now you have diabetes to contend with. I think you have found the best place to learn/relearn your way around the disease and help Romeow to better health. You can read about using Prozinc and post questions in the dedicated insulin group support forum. I am so glad to hear that you are going to be home testing. The link for the spreadsheet is HERE
You may wish to visit www.catinfo.org about feline diets. I learned quite a bit on that website. As far as getting your avatar, just click on your user name in the upper right hand corner, then on personal details. If you have a pic of Romeow on your computer, you can click on the avatar and upload it. I am eager to see this lothario!
You don't have to be a computer tech to negotiate the forum or the spreadsheet, just look around on the board and click on the items in the menu. Also, lots of good information on the Home Page, if you haven't read it already.
I am including a link about supplies in the UK and it might be helpful as far as finding low carb food there. UK Info
You can post questions/concerns/issue on the Health (Main) forum, more eyes to see and respond. I wish you well on this new adventure!

Hi Idjit's mom. Thank you for responding so quickly! Must admit in this world of 7+Billion am feeling a little lonely right now so good to know you have my back! Romeow is a indeed a lothario (he charms everyone he meets but has a bit of an issue with tall thin men!) I think I have found the best place too!! I told my vet nurse tonight that Romeow had joined and she agreed it was great to have the support of so many experienced carers as although Romeow now has his own ProZinc case file we are only 1 in the Surgery. I am very lucky that all my vet practice are amazing, but we have no local support (I guess that is very lucky for the cats of Bath but Bath is dominated by a huge consortium of vets (run by a national accountancy firm!!!) my vet is, thankfully, the only one that isn't!!. I will definitely have a look at the catinfo page but have done loads of nutrition analysis for UK food myself (and also with my vet nurse) so at least I have a bit of a heads up on that! Problem here is a lot of the foods contain sugar, fruit and vegetables, and other carbs too. Natures Menu is the only one that is pure meat. The best wet foods in the UK are made by Matina in Germany so I either buy them from Germany (through Zooplus - who detail all the ingredients and nutritional info) or from my local independent pet store. I did click on the link for UK Info but only comes up with the 'about:page' It is the uploading of the avatar I have a problem with - tried saving to no avail on laptop (borrowed from a friend) so will try using my Kindle - I am determined if nothing else. As my mom used to say, I like to know the inside of the cat's backside (and that was before I had a cat!!) and that has literally proved useful in diagnosing lots of my animals conditions!! I will definitely go on the dedicated ProZinc page and post and will upload Romeow's blood etc. Not sure of the difference between American/English values but will try and convert when I can (e.g kgs/lbs) including my English/American spellings - I now know that there was a reason that over 3 decades ago as a 13 year old English girl I went to an International School in Spain that was taught in American English!!! Thank you from both me and Romeow!
 
Hi @Romeow and welcome to the FDMB family .

You won't feel lonely now. There's lots of us. :p

I know Bath . My Mum used to have long stays in the Min Hospital . I'm Bournemouth born and bred myself so a Brit but presently am in New Zealand.

There'll be no probs re the American/English thing & I don't bovver altering my spelling or phraseology for this motely lot do I @Idjit's mom . They all still get it .

Laters :bighug:
 
Welcome to you, Romeow and your creature comfort provider, Fran. Love your intro. Sounds like you found yourself quite the wonderful home!

Fran, how sweet of you to take in a waif in need of medical care and a family and quite the family it is by the sounds of it! Romeow obviously chose well.

Like Idjit's Mom, I look forward to seeing a picture of your furry little man. You will find all the help and support you need here. All you need do is ask. You already figured out the signature so I'm betting you are more technical than you think you are. We all understand how overwhelming this can be at first, but you've already had your feet wet before so you'll be handling things like a pro in no time.:)


Hi there Mr WorfMen's Mom! My oh my, what a handsome man - I am a sucker for black cats (my life is not complete without one in my clan - had about 3 months in 33 years without one - it was grim!!!), Romeow is jealous of my admiration!! Yes, Romeow did chose well but he did it very cleverly by integrating with my lot - he is a very intelligent boy!! At one point I was loving him and what we later suspected was his brother but I didn't realise they were 2 different cats until I caught them fighting outside my backdoor at 4.00a.m one morning!! Romeow chose to hang around - his brother didn't! It is a standing joke between me, my friends and my vets that those in need come to my house although I live in a very small relatively isolated street (just 11 houses surrounded by fields!!!) so we are mystified by where they come from (I think my vet has secret signs up!!). I will get there with the techno stuff - the avatar is defeating me at the moment but the important info like the spreadsheet hopefully won't! Just lucky that I have such a great vet team and feeling buoyed up by all the positivity from you all - thank you for your warm welcome! xx
 
I am sorry the UK supplies link didn't work. Dunno what went wrong. It sounds like you have a good handle on supplies though.
I used my Kindle to take a pic of Idjit and logged onto the board on the Kindle, and was able to upload the avatar pic. If you have access to wireless for your Kindle it shouldn't be a problem.
 
Hi @Romeow and welcome to the FDMB family .

You won't feel lonely now. There's lots of us. :p

I know Bath . My Mum used to have long stays in the Min Hospital . I'm Bournemouth born and bred myself so a Brit but presently am in New Zealand.

There'll be no probs re the American/English thing & I don't bovver altering my spelling or phraseology for this motely lot do I @Idjit's mom . They all still get it .en

Laters :bighug:
Hi PussCatPrince. Thanks for taking the time to get in touch. Woo, New Zealand, hey! Bit different to Bournemouth (haven't been there for over 35 yrs!) Min has now sadly moved to the RUH (I used to go there too - Fibromyalgia classes!) Thanks for the reassurance - good to put my education to use though! There was me all lonely a few hours ago now I am over the moon with support from all over the world!!! Please can I just ask, re GA??? Suspect I know the answer?? Meep!! xxx
 
I am sorry the UK supplies link didn't work. Dunno what went wrong. It sounds like you have a good handle on supplies though.
I used my Kindle to take a pic of Idjit and logged onto the board on the Kindle, and was able to upload the avatar pic. If you have access to wireless for your Kindle it shouldn't be a problem.

Idjit is very beautiful - guessing Maine Coone - not very good with breeds as only ever had moggies or half breeds without papers (I have a 13yr old blue cat that has been a constant source of 'guess the breed'. We have had everything from British Blue to Korat!!!) How comes Idjit is called Idjit or are you Irish?
Will persevere with photo but don't get too excited. Romeow isn't what I would call classically handsome but everyone who meets him says he is gorgeous (maybe temperament) . I love him, he loves me (well maybe not right now) enough said!! xx
 
Hi PussCatPrince. Thanks for taking the time to get in touch. Woo, New Zealand, hey! Bit different to Bournemouth (haven't been there for over 35 yrs!) Min has now sadly moved to the RUH (I used to go there too - Fibromyalgia classes!) Thanks for the reassurance - good to put my education to use though! There was me all lonely a few hours ago now I am over the moon with support from all over the world!!! Please can I just ask, re GA??? Suspect I know the answer?? Meep!! xxx

It is FDMB speak for died Fran. GA = Gone Ahead.
Mum was rheumatoid.

Here is the link to the UK food info and chart
Here is the link to creating a spreadsheet. This is the way we share info

As this is the welcome mat for intros really , you can pop on into the main health forum where many more folks hang out & perhaps start a new thread all about you and Romeow <------- great name BTW.

& I think Idjit's Mom has already linked to the Prozinc forum but here it is again anyway.

M
 
It is FDMB speak for died Fran. GA = Gone Ahead.
Mum was rheumatoid.

Here is the link to the UK food info and chart
Here is the link to creating a spreadsheet. This is the way we share info

As this is the welcome mat for intros really , you can pop on into the main health forum where many more folks hang out & perhaps start a new thread all about you and Romeow <------- great name BTW.

& I think Idjit's Mom has already linked to the Prozinc forum but here it is again anyway.

M
Thanks, lovely! Thought it might be along those lines - didn't want to drop my size 8 in it!. Amazes me that people such as yourself are so willing to help especially after the heartache. So thank you even more so! Also, sorry to hear about your Mum. Arthritis is a very silent one (mine had temporal which was contribituary to her death but not cause. Will follow links.. love to you from both me and Romeow from across the miles
 
Thanks, lovely! Thought it might be along those lines - didn't want to drop my size 8 in it!. Amazes me that people such as yourself are so willing to help especially after the heartache. So thank you even more so! Also, sorry to hear about your Mum. Arthritis is a very silent one (mine had temporal which was contribituary to her death but not cause. Will follow links.. love to you from both me and Romeow from across the miles
 
Morning Eliz,

Beautiful day here in Bath - hope Surrey is sunny too! Thanks for getting in touch - you're my 1st UK feline friend! What a hansome devil Bertie is! Had a quick look last night and really impressed with details. Romeow having Nature's Menu Senior at mo. Unfortunately only comes in one flavour - was worried he will get bored of that but so hungry - I think he would eat anything. Vet nurse calling today to sort out new regime as dropping the small amount of dry! Hopefully we will see some improvement soon! Xx
 
Romeow having Nature's Menu Senior at mo. Unfortunately only comes in one flavour - was worried he will get bored of that but so hungry - I think he would eat anything.
Hi Fran,
There are lower carb Nature's Menu foods you could try if you wish. The 'senior' is the highest in carbohydrate as it contains rice. I just looked at it and it seems to be around 13.2% calories from carbs. The ordinary 'adult' pouches (chicken and turkey, salmon and tuna) are much lower. Is there a particular reason you want to feed the 'senior'?
The general recommendation for diabetic kitties is to feed foods with less than 10% calories from carbohydrates. And many cats do best at levels around 4 - 6% calories from carbs. But it's safest to only reduce the carb content of the diet (whether wet food or dry) if you're comfortable with testing Romeow's blood glucose at home. That's because lowering the carb content of the diet can reduce the blood glucose quite a bit, and the insulin dose may need to be reduced also so as to avoid hypoglycemia.
I see you have an Alphatrak meter already; and I feel sure you are going to master this hometesting malarky in no time at all. You have a really positive 'can do' attitude. Romeow is a very lucky cat...

Romeow is very young for diabetes. Has he had any steroid treatment recently...? (Sometimes steroids can trigger diabetes in susceptible kitties.)

Eliz
 
Idjit is very beautiful - guessing Maine Coone - not very good with breeds as only ever had moggies or half breeds without papers (I have a 13yr old blue cat that has been a constant source of 'guess the breed'. We have had everything from British Blue to Korat!!!) How comes Idjit is called Idjit or are you Irish?
Will persevere with photo but don't get too excited. Romeow isn't what I would call classically handsome but everyone who meets him says he is gorgeous (maybe temperament) . I love him, he loves me (well maybe not right now) enough said!! xx
Idjit is a Maine Coon mix, and we like him very much. He's a big guy with huge round front paws. He came with the name, he was abandoned when young, a lady found him in her neighborhood and took him to her mother. He lived there until that poor lady was killed in a car wreck, a couple of years I think. I worked with that lady's niece and she brought Idjit to her house here in my town because nobody else in the family wanted him. She had 5 kids, a big dog, and another cat. It wasn't good for him, so she kept showing me pics of him and talking about him. He has been with us for 6.5 years now, he almost has us completely trained and he seems to be a very happy cat.
Even if Romeow isn't classically handsome, and I have rarely seen an unattractive cat!, he sounds marvelous. You noted the most important things, you love him and he loves you. Nuff said.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top