Otis & Kate
Member Since 2012
Hello, Sugar Cat Family!
My name is Kate, and I am the caretaker of Otis, aka Mister Big Buckinski, Mister Angel Sweetums-Sweetie-Pie, the list goes on, cause, yea, I’m that kind of mom
I have had Otis since he was three days old. My husband found three tiny orphaned kittens on a job site and we bottle fed them and loved them, and they all grew up to be big and strong. They are all 14 years old and amazing cats.
Otis has a condition called cerebellar hypoplasia, which means that he is very wobbly. He has lived his entire life with this condition and it doesn’t slow him down…too much. It is very normal for Otis to fall over when he walks and to appear drunk, but when he started drinking more water than usual, we took him to the vet and he was diagnosed as being diabetic. That was on August 30, 2012. His blood sugar was quite high, 488, and the vet started him on ProZinc U-40 insulin, one unit, twice a day.
In the blood panel, it also showed that his kidneys were having issues as well. (His biological brother, Owen, also has kidney issues, so perhaps it is hereditary, perhaps it is from the diabetes.) We are taking Otis back for another blood work up in two weeks to have all of his levels rechecked, and in the meantime he is eating a kidney food from the vet, Hills k/d, which is a higher carbohydrate-lower protien food. I asked my vet about this and he said that for the time being, we need to try to manage two issues at the same time as best as we can.
Otis gets his shots at 7:30 a.m., and 7:30 p.m. He has been on insulin for 20 days. The plan is to call my vet at 1:30 p.m. on Monday, after home testing Otis, and he will direct me on how to proceed for the week.
This past week, the test showed that Otis had a BG level of 97 at 1:30 p.m. The vet had me skip his evening dose and recheck in the morning. In the morning he was at 373 at 7 a.m, so I gave him his one unit. The vet had me recheck in the evening, and he was at 265 at 7 p.m., so I gave him a unit. I rechecked this morning, and he was at 350 at 7 a.m..
Are these types of numbers okay for the first month of being on insulin?
I have decided that I am going to home test every morning and evening before his shot after reading everything on this (AMAZING) site. It just makes good sense to me, even though it makes Otis grumpy for a few minutes out of his cushy life. My vet advised me that if Otis had a BG level of 250 or higher, to proceed with the one unit dose. I think that it will make me feel a lot more in control, and less worried, if I check twice a day beforehe eats and is given his shot.
Do you guys recommend doing a curve? Is it imperative to have that every couple of hours BG information? I have read about the curves, and I understand the value of knowing where the BG level is throughout the day, but I don’t really understand what I will use it for, ya know what I mean?
Sorry this is such a long post, I just am so thrilled to have found this group. Fifteen years ago I had a diabetic cat and boy have things changed! I want to be the best diabetic mom to Otis, and am reading all of the great stuff that you have here, though admittedly, some of it is very confusing. Thanks for being such a great support resource and being so Can Do! I know that I can keep Otis safe and healthy, and I look forward to being a member of your community.
-Kate
My name is Kate, and I am the caretaker of Otis, aka Mister Big Buckinski, Mister Angel Sweetums-Sweetie-Pie, the list goes on, cause, yea, I’m that kind of mom
I have had Otis since he was three days old. My husband found three tiny orphaned kittens on a job site and we bottle fed them and loved them, and they all grew up to be big and strong. They are all 14 years old and amazing cats.
Otis has a condition called cerebellar hypoplasia, which means that he is very wobbly. He has lived his entire life with this condition and it doesn’t slow him down…too much. It is very normal for Otis to fall over when he walks and to appear drunk, but when he started drinking more water than usual, we took him to the vet and he was diagnosed as being diabetic. That was on August 30, 2012. His blood sugar was quite high, 488, and the vet started him on ProZinc U-40 insulin, one unit, twice a day.
In the blood panel, it also showed that his kidneys were having issues as well. (His biological brother, Owen, also has kidney issues, so perhaps it is hereditary, perhaps it is from the diabetes.) We are taking Otis back for another blood work up in two weeks to have all of his levels rechecked, and in the meantime he is eating a kidney food from the vet, Hills k/d, which is a higher carbohydrate-lower protien food. I asked my vet about this and he said that for the time being, we need to try to manage two issues at the same time as best as we can.
Otis gets his shots at 7:30 a.m., and 7:30 p.m. He has been on insulin for 20 days. The plan is to call my vet at 1:30 p.m. on Monday, after home testing Otis, and he will direct me on how to proceed for the week.
This past week, the test showed that Otis had a BG level of 97 at 1:30 p.m. The vet had me skip his evening dose and recheck in the morning. In the morning he was at 373 at 7 a.m, so I gave him his one unit. The vet had me recheck in the evening, and he was at 265 at 7 p.m., so I gave him a unit. I rechecked this morning, and he was at 350 at 7 a.m..
Are these types of numbers okay for the first month of being on insulin?
I have decided that I am going to home test every morning and evening before his shot after reading everything on this (AMAZING) site. It just makes good sense to me, even though it makes Otis grumpy for a few minutes out of his cushy life. My vet advised me that if Otis had a BG level of 250 or higher, to proceed with the one unit dose. I think that it will make me feel a lot more in control, and less worried, if I check twice a day beforehe eats and is given his shot.
Do you guys recommend doing a curve? Is it imperative to have that every couple of hours BG information? I have read about the curves, and I understand the value of knowing where the BG level is throughout the day, but I don’t really understand what I will use it for, ya know what I mean?
Sorry this is such a long post, I just am so thrilled to have found this group. Fifteen years ago I had a diabetic cat and boy have things changed! I want to be the best diabetic mom to Otis, and am reading all of the great stuff that you have here, though admittedly, some of it is very confusing. Thanks for being such a great support resource and being so Can Do! I know that I can keep Otis safe and healthy, and I look forward to being a member of your community.
-Kate