Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - Update June 11!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kiri

Member Since 2013
I'm Kiri from San Francisco. I've got two cats, Asterix and Speak. About mid-May I started having litter box issues--the crystal litter that usually lasted a week was lasting 3-4 days and there were pools on the bottom--the first time I saw it I felt guilty because I thought I must have forgot to change the litter out. Second time I knew there was a problem and Asterix was the one who was a) over 20 lbs and b) uncharacteristically lethargic so I made him a vet appointment figuring that it was more likely to be him than the 13 pound Siamese whose personality had not changed in the least. (Neither I nor his vet had previously worried about his weight because he has a very large head and body frame and has always been an extremely active cat, not lethargic or sedentary in the least--this cat will try to catch people who are running on TV and jump on anything that looks the least bit string-like when he's feeling well.)

Asterix was diagnosed with diabetes on May 29th. I've got him off Iams dry and onto Purina DM wet food with occasional Vitakitty salmon treats (40% protein, no carbs). A day or two after I took the dry food bowl away and started feeding him twice a day with canned DM and a little teeny bit of dry DM (and the day BEFORE we started insulin) the amount of pee started approaching normal levels again. Is it really possible for my cat to start getting better THIS fast? He stopped being lethargic at about that time too.

He has been doing 2u Lantus BID since Sunday but I am afraid it may be too much. I wish I had a glucometer--the vet never mentioned it--so I think I'll hit Target tomorrow since I've got a red card (this has all been super sudden so I am blowing up the plastic and looking forward to getting paid on his pet insurance claim) and start testing him. Asterix gave me a scare today, his first day with absolutely no dry food, not even DM dry food on the side of his canned, by getting yowly and restless (weirdly more insistent than his usual nightly "why did you take the magical everfull bowl of dry food away" meowing), so I gave him some honey, a little fresh fish (I was preparing some for myself) and a few treats and he has calmed down quite a bit. I am calling the vet tomorrow morning to enquire about this incident as I think he was mildly hypo, which scares the crap out of me--although he is much calmer (and not too lethargic) now.

I was going to post pictures of us but the board says they are too big, so I will edit and post some later.

Oh wait--Asterix is on youtube on my friend's channel:

[youtube]yqgWaD3cy6M[/youtube]

He's playing with her iPad (I'm a droid girl) :) Please ignore my dirty house!
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ)

Welcome from one Californian to another! :YMHUG:

First off, for future reference, you did great with treating his potential hypo. Here's a Sticky for how to treat hypos that will hopefully never need to come in handy again.

Yes, getting rid of the dry can cause that huge of an impact and sometimes that fast. If you're planning on giving a shot tomorrow, I would suggest that you only give 1u, not the full 2u. Although honestly, I would skip it all together until you can start testing him; you may have a "broken" diabetic, aka a diet-controlled kitty who doesn't need shots.

As for meters, the Target brand Up-and-up has some good reviews, however, I remember checking out the cost of the strips and they were a little bit more pricey than the Walmart ReliOn brand. If cost isn't too big a factor, then the Target meter should be fine. And we can teach you how to home test! :thumbup

I'm on my iPhone right now (hate it and wish it were a droid but it's a work phone so beggars can't be choosers :roll: ). Otherwise, I'd post you some more helpful links to get you started. If someone else doesn't already beat me to it, I'll post them for you tomorrow when I'm on a real computer and can copy/paste more easily. :-D
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ)

Thank you! Yeah, I'm not giving him a shot this morning because I have to go to work and my roomie won't be up for a few hours, and I don't want to give him one until I've spoken to the vet and/or tested him and have a few hours to watch him afterwards. A diet controlled kitty would be GREAT news. I will talk more in a bit, but I need to get out the front door in 15 so as not to be late for work. Asterix seems fine this morning and I definitely think that he was not scamming for food because he ate ALL his food this morning even after being given treats & honey last night. :) Love you guys. I want a Relion tbh, but Walmart is a lot further out of my way than Target so I need to be not late to work today if I want to go there and feed him even close to on time (they have a Target in the city center, Walmart is in San Leandro...there's one in Oakland nearer my work, but the location is not somewhere I feel too safe about)
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ)

KPassa said:
Welcome from one Californian to another! :YMHUG:

First off, for future reference, you did great with treating his potential hypo. Here's a Sticky for how to treat hypos that will hopefully never need to come in handy again.

Yes, getting rid of the dry can cause that huge of an impact and sometimes that fast. If you're planning on giving a shot tomorrow, I would suggest that you only give 1u, not the full 2u. Although honestly, I would skip it all together until you can start testing him; you may have a "broken" diabetic, aka a diet-controlled kitty who doesn't need shots.

As for meters, the Target brand Up-and-up has some good reviews, however, I remember checking out the cost of the strips and they were a little bit more pricey than the Walmart ReliOn brand. If cost isn't too big a factor, then the Target meter should be fine. And we can teach you how to home test! :thumbup

I'm on my iPhone right now (hate it and wish it were a droid but it's a work phone so beggars can't be choosers :roll: ). Otherwise, I'd post you some more helpful links to get you started. If someone else doesn't already beat me to it, I'll post them for you tomorrow when I'm on a real computer and can copy/paste more easily. :-D

Thank you again! (I didn't quote last time sorry!) I will also be checking prices on the strips and meters this afternoon--cost isn't a huge factor as I'm doing pretty ok, but I'd rather not spend more than I have to on something I have to use lots.

ALSO UPDATE:

When I got to work I called the vet's office and the vet just called me back with instructions to cut his insulin in half and bring him in for a curve next week, but to watch and go back up if he starts peeing more and acting sick again, for obvious reasons. :) The vet said I did everything right, too :) *relief* cat_pet_icon
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with update!

Nothing specific to say except WELCOME and good job being so observant. Dry food can really push up the carbs so yes it can make a big difference to stop it and I wish more non-diabetic cat owners could learn that.
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with update!

Sorry about that. It took me a little longer to get you the links than I was expecting (work kept interfering :lol: ).

Kiri said:
A diet controlled kitty would be GREAT news.

Yes! When first starting out, the goal is always remission, if possible. Since he's already shown to react so strongly to just the food change, this means there's a good chance your Asterix might get himself OTJ (Off The Juice - not needing insulin). For some more food options and a great website on cat nutrition, check out catinfo.org. It's written by a vet and contains some fantastic information on all sorts of feline issues (like UTIs, obesity, diabetes, etc...). You want to look for foods that have less than 10% carbs, the lower the better. And low carb is also good for Speak to eat, too. :thumbup The website I linked above even has some great tips for transitioning dry food addicts to wet food.

Kiri said:
I will also be checking prices on the strips and meters this afternoon--cost isn't a huge factor as I'm doing pretty ok, but I'd rather not spend more than I have to on something I have to use lots.

The cost of testing is in the strips. For an idea, the ReliOn Confirm/Micro strips cost around $0.36 a piece, the ReliOn Prime strips cost around $0.18 a piece, and the Target Up & Up strips cost around $0.40 a piece. It's not too big a difference but something to be aware of, especially if you're having to test a lot (the strips can really add up). At minimum, you'll ideally be testing at least three times a day.

Kiri said:
When I got to work I called the vet's office and the vet just called me back with instructions to cut his insulin in half and bring him in for a curve next week, but to watch and go back up if he starts peeing more and acting sick again, for obvious reasons. :) The vet said I did everything right, too :) *relief* cat_pet_icon

If you home test, you won't have to bring Asterix in for a curve since you'll be doing it yourself at home where he's less stressed and you'll have a more accurate read on his Blood Glucose numbers (stress can increase BGs, sometimes significantly). We also have a handy spreadsheet we all use to help us keep track of the numbers. Many of us simply give our vets the link to our SS or print it out to take to them.

As to doing a "curve" at home, with Lantus the typical cycle looks like this:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

Most of the time, a "curve" is considered testing every two hours across a given day. The problem with doing this is that Lantus is a depot-style insulin and although the nadir/lowest point is generally around 5 to 7 hours after a shot, it can change from cycle to cycle. You can usually get a better idea of how your kitty is flowing on the Lantus by doing spot checks throughout the day and across the week instead of doing them just in one or two cycles.

Ideally, you want to always test before giving a shot so you know if it's safe. When first starting out, we recommend to pull up food two hours before shot time so the pre-shot test is not artificially spiked by food. If the pre-shot test gives you a BG under 200, we recommend to not feed or shoot, but to post here first for advice. If it's over 200, then that's generally safe to give a dose. Another test you want to always get is the "Before Bed" test because this will give you an idea of where he's heading throughout the night (cats often drop lower during their PM cycle). For what the BG numbers mean, I simply use Wikipedia's blood sugar guidelines (based off of using human meters). To give you an idea, a non-diabetic cat's BG range is around 40 to 120 on a human meter.

Other than that, it's a great idea to catch a "nadir" test around 5 to 7 hours after the shot whenever possible. You'll also want to grab a +2 test (two hours after a shot) since the food from shot time will usually wear off by then and that's when the Lantus will start kicking in. It gives you a good idea if it's going to be an "active" cycle (i.e. a steep drop two hours from a shot) or if it might be a slow or flat cycle. Any other tests you can grab throughout the day/night will also give more data on how Asterix reacts. What I do each week is start out with random and sporadic spot checks on Monday, for example. Then, Tuesday, I do random spot checks, but I try to do them at times I didn't grab them on Monday. Wednesday, same thing, possibly even some duplicate times for spot checks. And so on and so forth. By the end of the week, I have quite a bit of data for how Mikey is reacting on average throughout his cycles.

Don't worry if all this sounds like gobbledygook at first. It'll start making sense and we're here to help explain everything and answer your questions at any time. :-D
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with update!

Finally got a chance to watch the video. That is SO AWESOME! :lol: haha_smiley :thumbup I have got to totally try that with Mikey and Henry! What app was that?
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with update!

Hello and welcome to the board,

You did the right things and 1unit tomorrow is a good dose. Let us know when you get the meter and we can go from there. Some cats are more difficult to test at first than others so make sure you read the tips kpassa provided first...

Also here is a shopping list...

Getting started shopping list
1. Meter ie Walmart Relion Confirm or Micro.
2. Matching strips
3. Lancets - little sticks to poke the ear to get blood . new members usually start with a larger gauge lancet such as 28g or 29g until the ear learns to bleed. Optional - lancing tool.
4. Cotton balls to stem the blood
5. Neosporin or Polysporin ointment to heal the wound
6. Mini flashlight (optional) - useful to help see the ear veins in dark cats, and to press against
7. Ketone urine test strips ie Ketostix or ketodiastix - Important to check ketones when blood is high
8. Sharps container - to dispose of waste syringes and lancets.
9. Treats for the cat - like freeze dried chicken
10. Karo syrup/corn syrup or honey if you dont have it at home - for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast
11. A couple of cans of fancy feast gravy lovers or other high carb gravy food- for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast

Wendy
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with update!

KPassa said:
Finally got a chance to watch the video. That is SO AWESOME! :lol: haha_smiley :thumbup I have got to totally try that with Mikey and Henry! What app was that?

I think it's called nobynobyboy? It's supposed to be for little kids. Anyway, thanks :) He is an awesome cat. So is Speak.

So the thing about Walmart is that we don't actually have it in San Francisco, we just have Target. (And we've only had Target for about 6 months.) Since you are in SoCal this will sound nuts to you, but I don't actually have a car--I would end up paying way more to park and maintain one in SF than I do using public transit and the occasional taxi. I work in Oakland, and it would take much longer to drive there than to take the train (and as it is, I have an hour commute).

But the prices were much better on the strips at WM so I took the train to San Leandro after work. There is a WM in Oakland, but it's in a bad area and you have to cross really scary streets on foot to get to it from the bus.

This means that I was out of the house for about 14 hours so I had to feed the cats as soon as I got home because it had been 14 hours since they ate.

The upside of this is that as I served Asterix his wet food, Speak actually showed interest in eating some because he was super hungry, so I put down two portions of the canned food and Speak ate about half of his portion, which I'm leaving out to see if he'll come back to it. I try to watch how much Asterix eats, but since I've been gone 14 hours, I don't really care if he eats some of it either.

cat_pet_icon :dizcat \M/ That's right--SPEAK ATE WET FOOD!!!!

(Speak is not diabetic, but after learning how bad dry food really is I don't want him to eat it either. I sort of think it should be illegal at this point. My roommate says I'm starting to sound a little bit like a breast milk evangelist but I'm just like, really, I was feeding my cats CEREAL and people were telling me that was OK, WTF.)

I am leaning towards NOT giving Asterix a shot until morning, even though I have to go to work. In the morning he will have had another meal. I don't feel comfortable even giving him 1u after he has waited that long for his dinner. :(

Especially since yesterday morning we had wet fur because he squirmed, so he went mildly hypo on his after dinner dose after not getting the entire 2u at breakfast yesterday. When I realised that the hypo happened after wet fur in the morning it really kind of freaked me out all over again.

I am inclined to start testing tomorrow night simply because I am super tired from running around all over the Bay and I'm not sure 6 AM tomorrow is the best time to try to use a lancet on a kitty for the very first time either. I might even wait to give him another shot till then, I'll have a look at the litter box in the morning and see how his energy level is.

I want to test properly but the issue is that I am out of the house for 11-12 hours a day M-F--I leave around 7 AM and I'm lucky to get home by 6. Even if I had a car, it wouldn't be any better because as crap as the train schedules are sometimes, traffic between SF and Oakland is never good during rush hour. Saturday and most of Sunday I can take readings but during the week it'll have to be morning and evening because my job is what pays for everything--I have a roommate but she's moving out in July. She works evenings and wakes up around 11 am so I'm going to talk to her about LETTING ME KNOW via gmail what she observes before she leaves, but I don't have high hopes of teaching her to glucose test my cat.
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with update!

KPassa said:
Sorry about that. It took me a little longer to get you the links than I was expecting (work kept interfering :lol: ).

Kiri said:
A diet controlled kitty would be GREAT news.

Yes! When first starting out, the goal is always remission, if possible. Since he's already shown to react so strongly to just the food change, this means there's a good chance your Asterix might get himself OTJ (Off The Juice - not needing insulin). For some more food options and a great website on cat nutrition, check out catinfo.org. It's written by a vet and contains some fantastic information on all sorts of feline issues (like UTIs, obesity, diabetes, etc...). You want to look for foods that have less than 10% carbs, the lower the better. And low carb is also good for Speak to eat, too. :thumbup The website I linked above even has some great tips for transitioning dry food addicts to wet food.

<snip great stuff>

Don't worry if all this sounds like gobbledygook at first. It'll start making sense and we're here to help explain everything and answer your questions at any time. :-D

It doesn't sound like gobbledygook, probably because I work at a hospital as an admin, but it's a lot to take in. I am also worried because my work schedule is kind of insane and there'll not be too many days that I can test as often as I want to. But I feel strongly about testing as much as I can because he did react so strongly to stopping that crappy food. OTJ would be awesome and wonderful and amazing and that's my goal, but I also don't want him to get hurt or have hypos.

I am going to use next week's visit to suss out this new vet and see if I can get him to work with me and the spreadsheets and so on. I would really like to have him on our side. I can't believe he didn't suggest a glucometer and I'm going to test whether or not he approves but I think it will be easier to work with him if he's not actively opposing it. And he really loves Asterix--they all do at the clinic. (Speak is an adorable and sweet cat too...but he bites when he's overstimulated.) :lol:
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with update!

EllenandRover said:
Nothing specific to say except WELCOME and good job being so observant. Dry food can really push up the carbs so yes it can make a big difference to stop it and I wish more non-diabetic cat owners could learn that.

Thanks! I am pretty shocked at the realisation of how bad their food really was. The Fancy Feast I used to feed my old lady cat when I was broke and in grad school would've ironically been far preferable.
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with update!

Wendy&Tiggy said:
Hello and welcome to the board,

You did the right things and 1unit tomorrow is a good dose. Let us know when you get the meter and we can go from there. Some cats are more difficult to test at first than others so make sure you read the tips kpassa provided first...

Also here is a shopping list...

Getting started shopping list
1. Meter ie Walmart Relion Confirm or Micro.
2. Matching strips
3. Lancets - little sticks to poke the ear to get blood . new members usually start with a larger gauge lancet such as 28g or 29g until the ear learns to bleed. Optional - lancing tool.
4. Cotton balls to stem the blood
5. Neosporin or Polysporin ointment to heal the wound
6. Mini flashlight (optional) - useful to help see the ear veins in dark cats, and to press against
7. Ketone urine test strips ie Ketostix or ketodiastix - Important to check ketones when blood is high
8. Sharps container - to dispose of waste syringes and lancets.
9. Treats for the cat - like freeze dried chicken
10. Karo syrup/corn syrup or honey if you dont have it at home - for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast
11. A couple of cans of fancy feast gravy lovers or other high carb gravy food- for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast

Wendy

Hi Wendy, and thanks for your advice~~~

I got the sharps container when I got the syringes. I was pleasantly surprised that San Francisco pharmacies will give you small ones for free. We have tons of polysporin because I am a klutz. I've also got honey.

Tonight I got the meter, strips and lancets, I wish I'd thought of cotton balls, but I can get those anywhere. The mini flashlight is a good idea, I think I do have one somewhere. I didn't think to get ketostix but I will call the pharmacy I go to for my own meds and ask if they can send me some with the 20 concerta they owe me ;-) I was very pleasantly surprised that my FSA card worked for the meter, strips and lancets even though it's my cat that has the dx and not me-- I guess they don't know that ;-) I'm gonna try to use that for the ketostix. I just tried it to see if it would work so I could give the plastic a rest.

I bought Vitakitty treats the other day to replace the carb-heavy ones that I had--I bought the 40% protein Salmon ones that don't have carbs, just fat and water, but I also bought some chicken ones that have some molasses in them to give if his blood sugar gets too low and/or to entice Speak to eat wet food. I don't know if you're familiar with those but they looked like they fit the profile we're going for.

My one concern is finding a gravy food. I have severe adult onset celiac disease and I can't handle anything that contains wheat gluten because I have all the hypersensitivity you get when it takes you years to figure out you shouldn't eat something and then you finally give your body a rest from it. (All their dry food has been gluten free except for corn gluten, which is a plant protein but not a true gluten, but still, unfortunately, high carb--how ironic is that?) It looks like 90% of the gravy foods contain wheat derivatives of some kind and if I get that on my hands I am in for unpleasantness. (I can't kiss anyone who's eaten bread. I can't touch it. I have to get out of kitchens where people are using wheat flour so I don't breathe it and I can't share mayo because a single normal bread crumb that catches a ride on a knife into the jar and from there to my gluten-free sandwich can ruin my life for a couple of days.)

I can feed Fancy Feast varieties that don't contain wheat, and I have what looks like some pretty high carb Chicken and Rice food from Trader Joes' that I bought to use as a gateway drug for Speak. Do you think that one would work? confused_cat
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with update!

Sorry! I'm again posting from my iPhone (as I'm wont to do at night vs. day), so this will be brief for the moment. I wanted to mention really quick that the reason the "hypo toolkit" calls for gravy is that you can often be on hypo watch for hours on end (usually when you first hit the right dose and don't know whether they'll continue to fall or maintain). When that happens, you don't want to feed too much food because it fills their belly up too fast any they won't be as willing to eat. Instead, you'd feed the high carb gravy and they'll usually lick it up all night long. You also don't want them to "bounce" too high the next few cycles because you fed them too many carbs.

In those situations when someone doesn't happen to have high carb gravy on hand, you can "make your own" by mixing a little of their regular food with some water and Karo syrup or honey or molasses and give them that instead. It's not as ideal because it wears off faster, so you have to be on top of things and test (and feed if necessary) more often, but it should work for you.
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with update!

Also, you won't have to go to Walmart for the strips. At the top of the page is a link to American Diabetes Wholesale (ADW). The Arkray meters and strips match up to the Walmart branded ReliOns. I can't remember which Arkray matches up with which ReliOn, but it's been asked a few times here and a quick search of posts (google search "site: FDMB.com Arkray ReliOn") will be able to tell you what to order for whichever ReliOn you might have gotten.

And if you don't have cotton balls, I've found the Target brand paper towels wrapped around my finger to be soft enough and thick enough to work instead. Some people also use make-up powder pads or the back of a pill bottle filled with warm water or the rice sock (those last two are what you might use to heat the ear beforehand).
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with update!

I bought Vitakitty treats the other day to replace the carb-heavy ones that I had--I bought the 40% protein Salmon ones that don't have carbs, just fat and water, but I also bought some chicken ones that have some molasses in them to give if his blood sugar gets too low and/or to entice Speak to eat wet food.

The problem with dry food is that it takes way too long (hours) to be digested and start making any impact on the BG readings. You want to use something wet that will help to bring up the BG's quickly if your cat is down in hypo territory.

That is why we suggest the gravy type wet foods. Or you can add a single drop of Karo syrup or your other sweetener to a teaspoon of the low carb food. Two drops of karo if the BG's aren't coming up enough. They will have an impact within 20-30 minutes.

Since YOU, the bean, has a gluten allergy, then just use the drops of syrup to increase the carb levels of the food. Some cats, I think Sienne's Gabby, have a gluten allergy that makes them vomit and/or get diarrhea. She uses only the karo syrup drops to bring up the BG's with her cat.
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with update!

It's the polysporin with pain relief (or the generic) that you want to use. The gel or ointment formula, not the cream version.

The cream version will cause the blood drop to ooze into the fur instead of beading up. Meaning you'll have to wipe it all off and poke again. :sad:

The pain relief version is great because it takes some of the "sting" out of the tiny pinprick to get that blood drop.

Be sure to use only a tiny, tiny dab and wipe of any excess. I think was loosing all the hair above his eyes because he would rub his ears with his foot and get some of the ointment on his paw and then wash himself. I made sure to wipe off the excess after that because I did not want him to get any in his eyes.
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with update!

The upside of this is that as I served Asterix his wet food, Speak actually showed interest in eating some because he was super hungry, so I put down two portions of the canned food and Speak ate about half of his portion, which I'm leaving out to see if he'll come back to it. I try to watch how much Asterix eats, but since I've been gone 14 hours, I don't really care if he eats some of it either.

cat_pet_icon :dizcat \M/ That's right--SPEAK ATE WET FOOD!!!!
Yeah for civie Speak on eating the wet food. A civie or civilian is a cat that is not diabetic. You used his natural hunger drive to get him to eat some wet food. Amazing what being hungry will do for a cat and his appetite and willingness to try something different.

Here are a whole bunch of tricks and tips to transition a dry food addict to wet food by vet Dr. Lisa Pierson. http://www.catinfo.org/docs/TipsForTransitioning1-14-11.pdf Not sure if you had already seen this so I thought you might like to peruse the article. I used most of these tips with my sugarhunk Wink.
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with update!

DCIN (Diabetic Cats In Need) was looking to switch their clients to another meter system. After research, this is what founder Venita had to say in this post: equivalency --- arkray and relion

Venita and Ennis93 said:
Thanks so much to everyone for their information.

Using what I learned from you, I spoke to customer service at Arkray.

The Relion Ultima is not manufactured by Arkray. It is manufactured by Abbott. There is no equivalent Arkray meter.

The Relion Prime is manufactured by Arkray, and it is similar but not identical to the Arkray Vital. The Relion Prime and Arkray Vital strips ARE NOT interchangeable.

The Relion Confirm is the Arkray Glucocard 01. The Relion Confirm and Arkray Glucocard 01 strips ARE interchangeable.

The Relion Micro is the Arkray Glucocard 01 mini. The Relion Micro and Arkray Glucocard 01 mini strips ARE interchangeable.

The Arkray Assure meters are not sold retail. They are used in professional long-term care settings, like nursing homes.

And if you use the link at the top of the screen to go to ADW to buy the strips, this website gets a little bit of money to keep it going. Any shopping through Amazon or at Walmart, I use the link whenever I can. Every little bit of money will help this website to keep going. We have fundraisers too.
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with update!

Anything that you can use after the poke to stem the blood flow works. Paper towel, Kleenex, folded up square of toilet paper, cotton ball, makeup pad. Basically, anything soft and absorbent.
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with update!

Thats great on the meter!

I bought Vitakitty treats the other day to replace the carb-heavy ones that I had--I bought the 40% protein Salmon ones that don't have carbs, just fat and water, but I also bought some chicken ones that have some molasses in them to give if his blood sugar gets too low and/or to entice Speak to eat wet food. I don't know if you're familiar with those but they looked like they fit the profile we're going for.
As Deb said you need to use a high carb wet food for this. But any high carb wet will do - see this list for anything over 15% calories from carbs (column C) http://www.catinfo.org/docs/FoodChartPublic9-22-12.pdf- or like Deb said we can mix syrup with low carb.

Let us know how you get on with testing and then we can get you set up with a spreadsheet...
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with update!

KPassa said:
In those situations when someone doesn't happen to have high carb gravy on hand, you can "make your own" by mixing a little of their regular food with some water and Karo syrup or honey or molasses and give them that instead. It's not as ideal because it wears off faster, so you have to be on top of things and test (and feed if necessary) more often, but it should work for you.

Got it.

So, I really DID do it right by smearing some honey on top of a piece of the fish I was cooking for myself and letting him eat it, and that's why he wanted more food about 35 minutes later and then calmed down completely. Obviously I won't always have fresh fish around but I bet some canned food with rice in it would work okay. Rice is a super carb and it's in some of the other foods on the food spreadsheet that are higher carbo, similar to the gluten-gravy ones.

I was going to start testing today but I am a wreck and I think that he will be able to sense it. I will probably start tomorrow.

The cats are fine. I'm the one who's completely freaked out. cat(2)_steam

I was overjoyed when my civie started eating wet food, but I've got a big problem now.

Asterix has decided that the wet food is HIS and that Speak can have some but only when he feels like allowing it. (He's got 7 pounds on Speak and is getting his mojo back fast due to proper feeding.) So Speak gets really hungry and irritable, I can't tell if Asterix is eating enough or overeating (which is part of how we got here I suspect) and my cats are fighting. It took me an hour to feed them this morning and I work 5 days a week. I am taking a break before giving Asterix his 1u (which was fine for him last night) because I burnt my hand due to cats fighting while I was trying to make my OWN breakfast.

I think I avoided a 2d degree burn by using a Drs Foster and Smith "this is for keeping the juice cold in transit don't use it on your hand" ice pack. But it still hurts and I'm unhappy. grumpy_cat

On top of that, my roommate, who used to be a pet sitter as a profession (but is moving out in a month and I don't know whether to be glad or sad about it) has decided that she feels "comfortable" feeding them tomorrow but not giving shots or testing. When he first got his dx she wanted to learn to give shots because she thought it would be good for her resume but when she saw how much work I am doing she decided it was not for her and I knew that was going to happen. So once again, their schedule is going to get messed up because I have to go to a wedding party tomorrow.

I really need some me time. I really want to just go to Yuriko and Masato's wedding party and chill the F out and not have to think about anything but having fun with my friends from 3 pm to midnight tomorrow. I am teaching Kouji to make gluten free food before the party and he is teaching me to cook Japanese better. I would have very much appreciated it if she would have given this shot which is the EASIEST part of taking care of this cat. She is all freaked out just because I have asked her to be a little observant when she is here and I'm not--not to do anything but text or call me if something looks hinky--and I'm really pissed off at her. Intellectually I know Asterix was improving a lot just on proper feeding and that getting off an already erratic won't kill him but I'm dreading fessing up to the vet and emotionally I'm afraid that because work, getting supplies for him to feel better, and so on have already led to irregular feeding hours, going to the party is just another sign that I am totally failing him (even though not going would hugely insult Yuri, Masato, Kouji and Seiko) and a terrible kittymom. I also feel like I'm failing because I didn't just start testing when I got home at 9 pm Thurs (even though I know that would have been a bad idea since I need to try it on myself and watch all the videos).

drinking09 But I need this really bad, the past week and a half has been an emotional rush from hell between "oh F, my cat, how will I help him" and "holy joyful crap, he's doing GREAT and I'm pretty smart after all!" to "WTF, I feel so loving and protective to my sick cat but he is now BEING AN ASSHOLE and how do I deal with this?"

INTELLECTUALLY, I know everything will be fine if I start playing with Asterix's ears today and review the videos and links everyone helpfully posted.

INTELLECTUALLY I know that Asterix is actually doing really great, he had no juice for 18 hours after his hypo and all that happened was some smelly pee. He's still peeing way less and way less awfully than he did before I changed his food. (His poops are another matter but I expected that with the wet food transition.) I even know that while scary and to be avoided, the hypo was a sign that he is getting better faster than either I or the vet thought likely. And I do think it was a hypo because not only was he stalking around the house like mad, he was yowling in that plaintive "I have a real problem" way and licking his neck in a jerky manner.

He did not lose any of the energy that he has gained (unfortunately for Speak) and apparently he had some eye problem that is clearing up because his eyes are a much purer gold than they used to be and have lost the red tinge I thought was just...him.

But emotionally I feel like a terrible person even though I did nothing social at all last week due to exhaustion and I also feel terrible because I can't give the amount of wedding money to my friends that I know is generally expected due to the sudden extra expenses. I feel like I should be right on top of everything, have the spreadsheet done already, be testing like a pro, arrange my sleeping and working schedule so I can be home right on the dot every day, and so forth. I know that we are all human but I expect more of myself than I would of anyone else.

And I love both my cats and I hate it when they fight. I feel like Speak is getting beat up but he won't eat when I put the food in my bedroom and close the door. confused_cat They are so used to eating out of the same dishes and Asterix making Speak wait, but with wet food and having to monitor their calorie intake (Speak is 13# but should be closer to #10-11) it's really a hassle when they're both super hungry. I've taken to leaving the food down, but I'd like to be able to pick it up when I'm not home to make sure that Asterix doesn't eat all day.
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with 2d updat

I was going to start testing today but I am a wreck and I think that he will be able to sense it. I will probably start tomorrow.

The cats are fine. I'm the one who's completely freaked out. cat(2)_steam
Hey Kiri! You're just like every other loving cat caregiver that finds us. Cat fine, bean ( short for human being) stressed. ohmygod_smile

going to the party is just another sign that I am totally failing him ....... and a terrible kittymom. I also feel like I'm failing because I didn't just start testing when I got home at 9 pm Thurs (even though I know that would have been a bad idea since I need to try it on myself and watch all the videos).

You have not failed your kitty. you are not being a bad kittymom. You can't do everything all the time. Do the best you can. One skipped shot wil be a small set back. Expect numbers to be higher in the next cycle when you do test.

We are trying for best practices here. Not trying to ruin your life. You do have to make some changes in your life. but you promised your friends a long time ago that you would be there at their party.

It takes some care and planning to get a routine down to best help your kitty. We can help with that.

It took time for Asterix to become diabetic. It will take time to get him regulated. It will take time to get him to remission. The first six months is the best window for remission. After that it gets harder.

One step at a time. The first few weeks can be overwhelming. So much to learn.
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with 2d updat

Deb & Wink said:
I was going to start testing today but I am a wreck and I think that he will be able to sense it. I will probably start tomorrow.

The cats are fine. I'm the one who's completely freaked out. cat(2)_steam
Hey Kiri! You're just like every other loving cat caregiver that finds us. Cat fine, bean ( short for human being) stressed. ohmygod_smile

going to the party is just another sign that I am totally failing him ....... and a terrible kittymom. I also feel like I'm failing because I didn't just start testing when I got home at 9 pm Thurs (even though I know that would have been a bad idea since I need to try it on myself and watch all the videos).

You have not failed your kitty. you are not being a bad kittymom. You can't do everything all the time. Do the best you can. One skipped shot wil be a small set back. Expect numbers to be higher in the next cycle when you do test.

We are trying for best practices here. Not trying to ruin your life. You do have to make some changes in your life. but you promised your friends a long time ago that you would be there at their party.

It takes some care and planning to get a routine down to best help your kitty. We can help with that.

It took time for Asterix to become diabetic. It will take time to get him regulated. It will take time to get him to remission. The first six months is the best window for remission. After that it gets harder.

One step at a time. The first few weeks can be overwhelming. So much to learn.

Thanks. I guess this is just extra motivation to search for a new job closer to home so I don't have to be out of the house by 7 AM knowing that if I have to stop anywhere at all on the way home I'll be lucky to get home by 7 PM. ~O)

I don't actually love that job, but in this economy I can't quit before I find another.

I am aiming for best practises too and I will try to get to testing this weekend; I am playing with the cat's ears every time I pet him and will watch the vids today. I believe we will get him to remission because he is responding so well to the food and insulin he has got, even though I don't yet know his numbers.

I have a really cute story to tell you. After I posted, I took the cat food into my room and went to see if I could coax Speak into eating again. I laid down on the bed with the food and just kind of collapsed. Speak came up out from under the bed and fussed over me. He wasn't interested in eating, only in headbutting me and purring and it got through my head that he was concerned about ME. After a rather long cuddle and purr session, Asterix came in and got up on the bed and ate some of the food. I was too annoyed/tired/exasperated to stop him, but he only ate a little of it, and then Speak got up and ate a good portion of the food while I watched them. After he was done he came back to me and started headbutting and purring and Asterix curled up at my side. Then we all had a little nap.

I'm not sure, but I think this was an apology :?: It sure did get through to my head that I am way more upset about any and all of this than they are.

I do wish I could get Speak to eat a wet food that isn't Purina DM (expensive) or Trader Joe's Tuna for Cats (all fish all the time) but I'll take my victories where I can get them since he wouldn't eat wet food at all before my 14 hour absence from home the other day. I have served no dry food to any cats in this house since Thursday. :RAHCAT

I'll pick up a fine selection of gluten-free under 10% carb Fancy Feast pates at the store when I get a chance. :RAHCAT
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with 2d updat

Bookmark this and have a read-through any time you start to feel overwhelmed or stressed. We've all been there and it does get better. As Deb said, Asterix didn't become diabetic overnight; you don't need to become an expert overnight, either! And now you've found us, you're stuck with us! We're always here for you and to help you fill in the holes till you can get things down, no matter how long it takes. :YMHUG:
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with 2d updat

Two days to get your cats eating wet food instead of dry? That's amazing!!!

It took me 3 weeks to get my sugarhunk Wink off the dry and onto wet. It's been 4 months, but if there was a bit of dry food in the house, he'd eat it. I sometimes catch him jumped up on the dining table munching my breakfast cereal. Contraband, He loves the Contraband. I only turned my back for a minute to get my tea and pour my oj.

It took me a month after the transition to wet food, to get him to eat any flavor besides the Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblet. I was so afraid that one day he would simply refuse to eat that one flavor.

I kept putting down two dishes of food, sometimes three with different flavors. He'd nibble at one flavor and go back to the FF T&G.
I started mixing small amounts of the new flavor into the FF T&G. He'd eat it. Next day, change the proportions and a little bit less FF T&G, a bit more FF L&C (liver & chicken). Next day, change again, less FF T&G, more FF L&C. Keep doing that with different foods.

Heating up the food just a little bit can stimulate the appetite and get him to maybe try another flavor. You want mouse body temperature, which is around 100. Think warm on your wrist but not too hot to burn you. Been there, done that.

Last but not least, take some time for you. Give yourself a treat, a piece of chocolate or a glass of wine, something you really like. Hey, your cat gets treats for being good for that ear poke. You should get one too!

Do some fun activity to refresh and recharge your spirit and energy. Something that is fun and a break from the madness of this sugardance. We need to keep you healthy and well also.

Be well.
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with 2d updat

You may find it helpful to divide the food onto separate plates so they each have one. It can cut down on the possessiveness.
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with 2d updat

BJM said:
You may find it helpful to divide the food onto separate plates so they each have one. It can cut down on the possessiveness.

That's a good idea, but I tried it. Asterix wonders what's on the other plate and makes Speak back away. :( I love my sugarcat but he can be a jerk sometimes. confused_cat

Though sometimes when I did that, they'd trade places. I did it this time... I'm just not happy when I see Speak run off like he's been spooked. It's peaceful this time. thank goodness.
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with 2d updat

Not only did they eat peacefully, 30 minutes after I fed him, instead of being squirmy and cantankerous, Asterix came up to me meowing, followed me into the kitchen and rubbed up against my leg after I gave him the juice. I wonder if I'm being ridiculous thinking that he is beginning to associate it with feeling better and also that they are aware I was super freaked out this morning--they have both been really sweet all day.
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with 2d updat

Deb & Wink said:
Two days to get your cats eating wet food instead of dry? That's amazing!!!

It took me 3 weeks to get my sugarhunk Wink off the dry and onto wet. It's been 4 months, but if there was a bit of dry food in the house, he'd eat it. I sometimes catch him jumped up on the dining table munching my breakfast cereal. Contraband, He loves the Contraband. I only turned my back for a minute to get my tea and pour my oj.

It took me a month after the transition to wet food, to get him to eat any flavor besides the Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblet. I was so afraid that one day he would simply refuse to eat that one flavor.

I kept putting down two dishes of food, sometimes three with different flavors. He'd nibble at one flavor and go back to the FF T&G.
I started mixing small amounts of the new flavor into the FF T&G. He'd eat it. Next day, change the proportions and a little bit less FF T&G, a bit more FF L&C (liver & chicken). Next day, change again, less FF T&G, more FF L&C. Keep doing that with different foods.

Heating up the food just a little bit can stimulate the appetite and get him to maybe try another flavor. You want mouse body temperature, which is around 100. Think warm on your wrist but not too hot to burn you. Been there, done that.

Last but not least, take some time for you. Give yourself a treat, a piece of chocolate or a glass of wine, something you really like. Hey, your cat gets treats for being good for that ear poke. You should get one too!

Do some fun activity to refresh and recharge your spirit and energy. Something that is fun and a break from the madness of this sugardance. We need to keep you healthy and well also.

Be well.

Definitely going to the wedding party (and not freaking out about it any more). ~O) Japanese weddings are usually just the family (and Yuri and Masato went back to Japan to do theirs); the parties after the wedding are what everyone gets dressed up, brings presents to and so on. :)

I am very proud of my boys for letting me shift them to wet food, and your story was super helpful in terms of helping me understand that expecting Speak to be adventurous about food after shifting to wet is probably a little ridic.

Asterix took to the wet food immediately after his diagnosis, but he had been eating very poorly the week before his vet visit and I think he sort of knew that the wet food would make him feel better. Speak wouldn't touch it until that day I was out so long. Once they started eating wet, I stopped putting out dry. There were two regurgitation incidents with Asterix but those were before we started the juice, and there's been some super gross poop but Dr Lisa's article says that is normal. I admit that not putting out dry at all is partly because I'm afraid Speak might stop eating wet if he thinks dry is ever going to be an option again, but he seems to be doing just fine with wet and I'm convinced the dry food played a major role in making Asterix diabetic since he got so much better even before his first dose of insulin from going off it to low-carb wet food.

I did feed a little more today after the fight and there has been less fighting, so I might go with this amount in the future. I think that there might not have been enough the first couple times since I was trying not to overfeed. If so, boys, I'm sorry... this chart (http://animalmedicalcenterofchicago.com ... orCats.pdf) is a little confusing!
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with 2d updat

That chart of calories from the Animal Medical Center of Chicago is a beginning point for seeing how many calories your cat may need to eat. ECID.

Asterix, 20 pounds, last column on chart, 3rd column to the right if he is fixed, spayed, neutered and you get 491 calories. Your average can of Fancy Feast has 90 calories, 491/90 = 5.45 so around 5.5 cans of FF a day for Asterix. Is he overweight?

The thing is, until a diabetic cat is regulated, he can't process all the food you feed him anyway until the insulin dose is right. That takes time. Until he is regulated, he will probably lose weight anyway. It's difficult to get enough food in to maintain weight. We don't want to see too rapid a weight loss, because that often means the muscle mass is being used to provide energy. Too rapid weight loss leads to hepatic lipidosis.

It's a balancing act. Being overweight causes some insulin resistance in male cats especially. Having diabetes means the food can't be processed completely until regulated. Correct insulin dose needs to be found to process food.

You'll get there. It takes time. One saying we have here is 'This is a marathon, not a sprint.' It took a while for Asterix to become diabetic, it will take time to make him feel better and get regulated.
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with 2d updat

Kiri said:
Not only did they eat peacefully, 30 minutes after I fed him, instead of being squirmy and cantankerous, Asterix came up to me meowing, followed me into the kitchen and rubbed up against my leg after I gave him the juice. I wonder if I'm being ridiculous thinking that he is beginning to associate it with feeling better and also that they are aware I was super freaked out this morning--they have both been really sweet all day.

Cats are ridiculously smart. They know it makes them feel better. Before you know it, Asterix will start seeking you out for tests. Heck, Speak might even try getting in on the testing action! (Henry often waits in line for his own "test and treat.")

It also probably helps that it sounds like you're not feeling as stressed today (or yesterday, even :lol: ). Cats are true empaths and can pick up on your feelings very easily and will react accordingly. ;-)
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with 2d updat

So I think you said you were going to start testing today. How did it go?
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with 2d updat

Wendy&Tiggy said:
So I think you said you were going to start testing today. How did it go?

That was the plan. I don't know why I thought I was going to be able to do that when I had to leave the house as early as I did, but that was the plan. I didn't even have time to finish all the videos but now Yuri and Masato are married and have had their US-side reception and things are beginning to settle down, so hopefully soon.

The party was great, btw--the wine and sushi kept coming starting at 4 pm and ending at 9:30. Yesterday was insane at work so I took him into the vet's office today for the scheduled curve in order to talk to the vet and get the vet on our side. The vet hasn't any objections to home testing and gave me the OK although he has some strange ideas about it--he doesn't think you can do anything except an entire curve all day long.

I got great news at the end of his curve, though--his numbers are low normal and the vet, being aware of the effect stress has on feline BGs, thinks the 1u we've been giving him is too much. He reduced the dose to 1/2 u and is of the opinion that Asterix will go into remission within 2 weeks, at which time I'm going to bring him in again to check. :RAHCAT

Since he IS so close to remission I would like to start testing very soon to prevent him hypoing (although I am nervous as heck about it--I don't know why it is scarier to prick my cat's ear than it is to give him a shot!) I would like your (collective) opinion--is it realistic to start testing on a work night when I'm only home and awake for a few hours (if only to get him used to the idea) even though I won't get a complete picture, or should I do it Saturday when I can take multiple draws? confused_cat
 
Re: Hello from Kiri and Asterix (N00BZ) - now with 2d updat

Deb & Wink said:
That chart of calories from the Animal Medical Center of Chicago is a beginning point for seeing how many calories your cat may need to eat. ECID.

Asterix, 20 pounds, last column on chart, 3rd column to the right if he is fixed, spayed, neutered and you get 491 calories. Your average can of Fancy Feast has 90 calories, 491/90 = 5.45 so around 5.5 cans of FF a day for Asterix. Is he overweight?

The thing is, until a diabetic cat is regulated, he can't process all the food you feed him anyway until the insulin dose is right. That takes time. Until he is regulated, he will probably lose weight anyway. It's difficult to get enough food in to maintain weight. We don't want to see too rapid a weight loss, because that often means the muscle mass is being used to provide energy. Too rapid weight loss leads to hepatic lipidosis.

It's a balancing act. Being overweight causes some insulin resistance in male cats especially. Having diabetes means the food can't be processed completely until regulated. Correct insulin dose needs to be found to process food.

You'll get there. It takes time. One saying we have here is 'This is a marathon, not a sprint.' It took a while for Asterix to become diabetic, it will take time to make him feel better and get regulated.

Thanks :)

Asterix is overweight so I had been using the overweight column. The vet said to feed for his lean body weight which he guessed was closer to 18#. He is still eating Purina DM canned because we have a ton of it. Sometimes I also give him some TJ's Tuna for Cats which is very low carb and if I want to treat him I mix some actual zero carb canned tuna in. There is no way he will eat 491 calories! The canned DM chart said he should be eating 2 cans a day but regardless of what the wet food is, he eats about a can and a half over the course of a day. I guess that's close to 300 calories. The thing is, he's not happy unless I put down more than that, even though he won't eat it. It's like he thinks there's not enough food for Speak and him to both eat if I don't put down enough food for them to eat the same amount HE wants to eat. This is a bit worrisome because Speak, my civie, DOES need to lose weight. He's a little cat and the vet would like him to be closer to 10# than 15#.

However I think I am going to stop worrying about this issue now that Speak isn't eating dry, either. Speak gets to eat his fill if I put out too much food, and neither of them seems to feel obliged to eat it just because it's there the way they did with dry. I would like to not have to put out more than they need because a) it's expensive and b) we saw a roach in the house the other day, ew. But they were rescues and who knows what happened to them as kittens...perhaps I shouldn't quibble at them needing to see more food than they need to be secure if they're not overeating...
 
A lot of cats will lose weight when they switch from dry to wet. Especially now that you are feeding both Speak and Asterix on the low carb, you'll probably see some slow gradual weight loss.

One tip you can use with the wet food, to keep it from drying out and having to toss it, is to add some water to the wet. I probably add a tablespoon for each couple of ounces of food. Think applesauce consistency. Helps to keep them hydrated a bit more too.

I started doing this extra water in the food from a suggestion here. Wink was getting frequent UTI's and was still unregulated. That excess sugar spilling into the kidneys and urinary tract system is a perfect food rich environment for bacteria to grow.

People have suggested putting a water moat around the wet food dish. Put a larger dish filled with water and put the food dish inside the larger dish to deter bugs. Never tried it myself. Bugs here have little chance of survival if they are inside the house. My 2 civies, Monet and Delta are both bug chasers and eaters.
 
I would like your (collective) opinion--is it realistic to start testing on a work night when I'm only home and awake for a few hours (if only to get him used to the idea) even though I won't get a complete picture, or should I do it Saturday when I can take multiple draws? confused_cat
Oops! Missed your question.

Yes, it is definitely worth it to start to test during the week. It takes time to get good at the ear pokes and getting enough blood. We tell people to poke 3 times, if not enough blood, give a treat and try again later, 30 minutes or so. You will need the practice with home testing.
 
Deb & Wink said:
A lot of cats will lose weight when they switch from dry to wet. Especially now that you are feeding both Speak and Asterix on the low carb, you'll probably see some slow gradual weight loss.

One tip you can use with the wet food, to keep it from drying out and having to toss it, is to add some water to the wet. I probably add a tablespoon for each couple of ounces of food. Think applesauce consistency. Helps to keep them hydrated a bit more too.

I started doing this extra water in the food from a suggestion here. Wink was getting frequent UTI's and was still unregulated. That excess sugar spilling into the kidneys and urinary tract system is a perfect food rich environment for bacteria to grow.

People have suggested putting a water moat around the wet food dish. Put a larger dish filled with water and put the food dish inside the larger dish to deter bugs. Never tried it myself. Bugs here have little chance of survival if they are inside the house. My 2 civies, Monet and Delta are both bug chasers and eaters.

Tissriel (1990-2009) would eat any bug except a roach, but Tiss knew she was a carnivore and Asterix and Speak are just getting used to the idea.

Adding water is a GREAT idea, thanks! They hate it when the food dries out.
 
Deb & Wink said:
I would like your (collective) opinion--is it realistic to start testing on a work night when I'm only home and awake for a few hours (if only to get him used to the idea) even though I won't get a complete picture, or should I do it Saturday when I can take multiple draws? confused_cat
Oops! Missed your question.

Yes, it is definitely worth it to start to test during the week. It takes time to get good at the ear pokes and getting enough blood. We tell people to poke 3 times, if not enough blood, give a treat and try again later, 30 minutes or so. You will need the practice with home testing.

OK then! Asterix has got completely calm about the shots, will let me use him as a pillow on the couch where he gets them again*, and is comfortable letting me handle his ears, so here we go.

*when you want to relax and watch TV, a 20 pound cat is great to cuddle up around. cat_pet_icon
 
Deb & Wink said:
Could I borrow Asterix? My little 12, 10 and 7 pound kitties use me as a pillow. ;-)

He is very friendly! But he hates to travel. (He escaped from his carrier yesterday morning; fortunately it was in the apartment and not in the street; and also, fortunately, the vet is less than a block away. I don't know how he did it! I put him in the carrier, went to put on my work clothes, came out and he was sitting next to the carrier with his front paws crossed and the smuggest expression ever.) confused_cat
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top