Hello from Holly

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blake (Holly's Dad)

Member Since 2024
Hello! My name is Blake and my 9 year old cat, Holly, was diagnosed on 11/1/24. The diagnosis was a complete shock because nothing about her behavior had really changed.

11/1/24: I took Holly to her annual vet appointment where Holly went from 15.5lb to 10.6. Warning bells immediately started going off for the vet, who initially thought it was hyperthyroidism. Asked if I would do a blood test to determine if it was. Got it sent out that morning and that afternoon when I came back with her brother, Daniel, for his annual, the vet informed me that she was actually diabetic. Glucose was at 524. And we started exploring our options. The vet wanted to test her ketones to make sure she wasn't in DKA and if she wasn't, the vet wanted to get her started on Bexacat or Senvelgo. They were waiting for the ketone meter to come in and in the meantime, the vet wrote me some prescriptions for diabetic food and wanted me to do a urine test at home to determine if she had sugar in the urine. *surprise* she did and it confirmed that she did indeed have diabetes.

11/6/24: I got Holly started on the Royal Canin Glycobalance dry and wet food. She immediately took to it. She screams at me when it's time for meals. She gets about an 1/8 and half a can every meal.

11/7/24: I take Holly in for her ketones test and her ketones were just barely too high to start Bexacat or Senvelgo. I think the upper limit is 2.4 and Holly's were 2.8. So Holly got prescribed Lantus insulin at 2 units to start. And we scheduled a glucose curve to happen on 11/15.

11/10/24: Holly gets started on insulin after a delay from the pharmacy. She is accepting of getting the insulin shots.

11/15/24: I drop Holly off at the vet at 8am for her glucose curve and I pick her up at about 5:45. These were her results.
  • 8:37a - 359 mg/dL
  • 10:23a - 350mg/dL
  • 12:30p - 400mg/dL
  • 2:30p - 435mg/dL
  • 4:50p - 550mg/dL
  • 5:23p - 600mg/dL
With those results, we bumped her up to 3 units twice per day. And the vet wants to recheck a glucose curve in 2-3 weeks.

We did discuss about me possibly doing my own glucose curve at home. I'm looking to getting my own glucose monitor and we also did discuss using the Freestyle Libre.

I'm hoping that the 3 units helps get her sugar down. I did discover she was grazing the other cats food, so to nip that in the bud, they get their own wet food mixed with their dry food and locked in the cat room, so they can finish their food in peace.

Is there anything else that I could be doing to help Holly? I might increase her food to 3/16 cup twice a day but I honestly don't think she'll really eat much more than that.

Any advice, tips, or tricks would be appreciated. Thank you in advance.
 
Hello! My name is Blake and my 9 year old cat, Holly, was diagnosed on 11/1/24. The diagnosis was a complete shock because nothing about her behavior had really changed.

11/1/24: I took Holly to her annual vet appointment where Holly went from 15.5lb to 10.6. Warning bells immediately started going off for the vet, who initially thought it was hyperthyroidism. Asked if I would do a blood test to determine if it was. Got it sent out that morning and that afternoon when I came back with her brother, Daniel, for his annual, the vet informed me that she was actually diabetic. Glucose was at 524. And we started exploring our options. The vet wanted to test her ketones to make sure she wasn't in DKA and if she wasn't, the vet wanted to get her started on Bexacat or Senvelgo. They were waiting for the ketone meter to come in and in the meantime, the vet wrote me some prescriptions for diabetic food and wanted me to do a urine test at home to determine if she had sugar in the urine. *surprise* she did and it confirmed that she did indeed have diabetes.

11/6/24: I got Holly started on the Royal Canin Glycobalance dry and wet food. She immediately took to it. She screams at me when it's time for meals. She gets about an 1/8 and half a can every meal.

11/7/24: I take Holly in for her ketones test and her ketones were just barely too high to start Bexacat or Senvelgo. I think the upper limit is 2.4 and Holly's were 2.8. So Holly got prescribed Lantus insulin at 2 units to start. And we scheduled a glucose curve to happen on 11/15.

11/10/24: Holly gets started on insulin after a delay from the pharmacy. She is accepting of getting the insulin shots.

11/15/24: I drop Holly off at the vet at 8am for her glucose curve and I pick her up at about 5:45. These were her results.
  • 8:37a - 359 mg/dL
  • 10:23a - 350mg/dL
  • 12:30p - 400mg/dL
  • 2:30p - 435mg/dL
  • 4:50p - 550mg/dL
  • 5:23p - 600mg/dL
With those results, we bumped her up to 3 units twice per day. And the vet wants to recheck a glucose curve in 2-3 weeks.

We did discuss about me possibly doing my own glucose curve at home. I'm looking to getting my own glucose monitor and we also did discuss using the Freestyle Libre.

I'm hoping that the 3 units helps get her sugar down. I did discover she was grazing the other cats food, so to nip that in the bud, they get their own wet food mixed with their dry food and locked in the cat room, so they can finish their food in peace.

Is there anything else that I could be doing to help Holly? I might increase her food to 3/16 cup twice a day but I honestly don't think she'll really eat much more than that.

Any advice, tips, or tricks would be appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Welcome Blake and Holly you are in the right place, We would love to help you below you will find several links for you to follow, it would be great if you could create your signature and spreadsheet, so we can all be on the same page,
It is important that a diabetic cat consumes a wet can diet between 0-10% carbs, cats cannot digest carbs, below is a Dr's Food list, this one is from USA, but we can send you a list from where you live, for you to choose from, the third column contains the amount of carbs for each food, Prescribed food is extremely high in carbs 25-35% as well as any kibble(dry food) they also contain as much; this can be a strong reason for her high BG. Prescribed food is really a commercia way for Vets to get a % on commission.
you should create what is called a HYPO KIT, this contains, KARO syrup or Honey some medium carb foods between 11-15% carbs and some High carb food between 16-24%, this is used so when the BG get to be 50 or lower,
It is important to home test especially before giving insulin, you did not mention what insulin you are using Lantus and ProZinc are very good insulins for cats, normally the protocol is Test, Feed Shoot I recommend a hand held Human meter and strips, we can send you information on how to test, we are here to help but we need more information on Holly to be able to help you with dosing and advised
no question is ever small, ask, ask, ask, we are here for you:bighug::cat::cat:
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
 
Last edited:
Welcome Blake and Holly you are in the right place, We would love to help you below you will find several links for you to follow, it would be great if you could create your signature and spreadsheet, so we can all be on the same page,
It is important that a diabetic cat consumes a wet can diet between 0-10% carbs, cats cannot digest carbs, below is a Dr's Food list, this one is from USA, but we can send you a list from where you live, for you to choose from, the third column contains the amount of carbs for each food, Prescribed food is extremely high in carbs 25-35% as well as any kibble(dry food) they also contain as much; this can be a strong reason for her high BG. Prescribed food is really a commercia way for Vets to get a % on commission.
you should create what is called a HYPO KIT, this contains, KARO syrup or Honey some medium carb foods between 11-15% carbs and some High carb food between 16-24%, this is used so when the BG get to be 50 or lower,
It is important to home test especially before giving insulin, you did not mention what insulin you are using Lantus and ProZinc are very good insulins for cats, normally the protocol is Test, Feed Shoot I recommend a hand held Human meter and strips, we can send you information on how to test, we are here to help but we need more information on Holly to be able to help you with dosing and advised
no question is ever small, ask, ask, ask, we are here for you:bighug::cat::cat:
@@Suzanne & Darcy
@@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

I updated my signature to include the spreadsheet. She is using Lantus insulin. I'm working on getting a glucose meter. Should be within the next couple days. Her appetite has came back since being on the RC food, and I'd prefer to keep her appetite up at the moment, but I will look into other options for food.
 
I updated my signature to include the spreadsheet. She is using Lantus insulin. I'm working on getting a glucose meter. Should be within the next couple days. Her appetite has came back since being on the RC food, and I'd prefer to keep her appetite up at the moment, but I will look into other options for food.

great! below is the link of the Drs Food list most if not all member go by, the third column contains the % of carbs for each food, there are many to choose from, most of us enjoy the Fancy Feast pates, they are US made so they are regulated and no waste goes into the food, and many flavors to choose from, I will tag an expert in Lantus so you can get guidance with dosing, if you see low BG numbers prior to shoot, you can give tsp or 2 of low carb food to hike up the BG, the Hypo Kit, is to be used only when BG is 50 or lower, keep in mind that the KARO or honey is a quick fix, the food is better that way the BG or high carbs can hike up the BG too much, if you have this situation just post us and we will help you thru it.
Is good to feed two main meals before shot/ AMPS and PMPS and 2-3 small meals and snacks, during the day, keep in mind that most of commercial treats such a Temptation contain 25-35% carbs, my cats enjoy ham, or boiled chicken or fish ,I make sure to read the label that ham is not more than 2% carbs.:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
 
Last edited:
Hi and welcome to the forum Blake and Holly.
I am very glad your vet tested for ketones and when found, did not start one of the oral medications for diabetes.
We have had a couple of sad outcomes from the oral medications when the recommendations on when to give and not to give them were not followed.

The vet started Holly on a larger than normal dose of Lantus than we would recommend.
If she was having dry food we would suggest starting on 1 unit. Then holding that dose for 5 to 7 days and if an increase if warranted, going up to 2.25 units. Do you have the correct syringes U100, 3/10 ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes with 1/2 unit markings?

I think 3 units is too much especially if you are not going back for 2 or 3 weeks. A lot can happen in a day, let alone 3 weeks.
I’m very glad to hear you are going to home test…well done! Make sure you get size 26 or 28 gauge lancets to prick the ear and some cotton balls to hold behind the ear when testing.
Just a word of caution…do not change any of the food at the moment until you are hometesting and can see the results of the food change on the BG as swapping to a low carb diet can drop the BG by 100 points or more.
Are you giving her some snacks during the cycles as well a the 2 main meals. I would recommend you do. Much better for her and her pancreas.
 
Hi and welcome to the forum Blake and Holly.
I am very glad your vet tested for ketones and when found, did not start one of the oral medications for diabetes.
We have had a couple of sad outcomes from the oral medications when the recommendations on when to give and not to give them were not followed.

The vet started Holly on a larger than normal dose of Lantus than we would recommend.
If she was having dry food we would suggest starting on 1 unit. Then holding that dose for 5 to 7 days and if an increase if warranted, going up to 2.25 units. Do you have the correct syringes U100, 3/10 ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes with 1/2 unit markings?

I think 3 units is too much especially if you are not going back for 2 or 3 weeks. A lot can happen in a day, let alone 3 weeks.
I’m very glad to hear you are going to home test…well done! Make sure you get size 26 or 28 gauge lancets to prick the ear and some cotton balls to hold behind the ear when testing.
Just a word of caution…do not change any of the food at the moment until you are hometesting and can see the results of the food change on the BG as swapping to a low carb diet can drop the BG by 100 points or more.
Are you giving her some snacks during the cycles as well a the 2 main meals. I would recommend you do. Much better for her and her pancreas.

The vet originally started her on 2 units, and then at 5 days (after the glucose curve results), changed her to 3 units. Luckily, Holly has been a trooper with her changes and she has still been acting her self. I did see the vet the Monday after her glucose curve (for a different cat) and let her know that Holly was handling the increase in insulin very well. If anything were to change in Holly's behavior, the vet would be immediately notified. I'm in pretty close contact with my vet and already have the closest 24 emergency vet clinic's information and know where they are located. I will have to double check the syringes when I get home. I do know that they are U100 but I don't know about the other information.

I will not be changing her food as of now especially since she has an appetite again. And she does get some snacks in between her two main meals.
 
Not yet. I should be getting the glucose monitor tomorrow afternoon
Good. That way you will, be able to see how well the dose is working. It is very hard to tell just by looking. By the time a cat is showing hypo symptoms, their BG is very low.
So the routine is to test the BG, feed, then give the dose of would also commend getting a test in during every cycle to see how low the dose is taking Holly as Lantus dosing is based on how low the dose is taking the cat, not the preshot.
And remember the pm cycle is just as important as the am cycle and cats often drop lower at night. Even a before bed test is helpful. If that test is lower than the preshot BG, that can tell you the BGs will most likely drop lower, so you might like to get up and test later to keep Holly safe.
Once you get the meter, would you mind putting what type of meter you are using into the signature and the SS please?
I’m looking forward to seeing some BG data:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top