Angela&Henry
Very Active Member
I have not checked in for some time. I don't know if anyone is still checking in that remembers me and my cat Henry (Big Hen). He had the wonky readings and had him on a 10/14 shooting schedule. He still is wonky but sort of regulated running around 280-300 in AM down to around 75-100 ar 6-7 hour peak of Pro Zinc action and has had no shot in PM for 6+ months because he is running between 120-140 at 14 hours from AM shot. He is doing very well health wise, happy and playful at almost 15 
Around 2 weeks ago, I had one of my other cats, Monkey (age 13), in to the vet and found out he is diabetic also from blood panel. They were unable to do a curve there as he is always very scared at the vet and was wild. Vet suggested we start at 1 unit for him, but from experience, I know starting too high from beginning treatment can backfire. So I started him at .75 U AM and PM. When he was initially diagnosed at vet his BG was 447 and no ketones. I had him on .75 U for almost 2 weeks, his BG has been running around 400 in the AM and BG at 6-7 hour peak is around 190-200 and then around 380 at testing before PM shot. He is on 12/12 schedule. Today I upped him to 1U AM & PM. Any advice? How long should I hold this dose before doing slight increase? His BG at nadir was about the same today (180) as it had been. Monkey is also on Fancy Feast classics (1 1/2-2 cans daily) like Henry and is eating a very small amount (1/8 cup) of Royal Canin diabetic dry formula. Vet wants Monkey to gain back some weight thus the diabetic dry. He has gained back about 1/2 pound since starting Pro Zinc. Negative for ketones.
HELLO FROM BIG HEN!

Around 2 weeks ago, I had one of my other cats, Monkey (age 13), in to the vet and found out he is diabetic also from blood panel. They were unable to do a curve there as he is always very scared at the vet and was wild. Vet suggested we start at 1 unit for him, but from experience, I know starting too high from beginning treatment can backfire. So I started him at .75 U AM and PM. When he was initially diagnosed at vet his BG was 447 and no ketones. I had him on .75 U for almost 2 weeks, his BG has been running around 400 in the AM and BG at 6-7 hour peak is around 190-200 and then around 380 at testing before PM shot. He is on 12/12 schedule. Today I upped him to 1U AM & PM. Any advice? How long should I hold this dose before doing slight increase? His BG at nadir was about the same today (180) as it had been. Monkey is also on Fancy Feast classics (1 1/2-2 cans daily) like Henry and is eating a very small amount (1/8 cup) of Royal Canin diabetic dry formula. Vet wants Monkey to gain back some weight thus the diabetic dry. He has gained back about 1/2 pound since starting Pro Zinc. Negative for ketones.

Last edited: