I'd love to look at your kitty's numbers but your didn't attach them.
The first time he was much younger and got off using Caninsulin. The second time was ALL diet, the switch to wet low-carb food resulted in an immediate hypo, and he was OTJ.Julesx said:Hi Bruce & Simon,
How did you get him off multiple times once the diet stuff was all taken care of? that's what has me so frustrated.
6:00pm ........ +11.00 ........ 26 / 1.4 ........ ........ Sticking with 4.5U I guess.
The goal with the Tight Regulation Protocol is completely in sync with what you want. Normal BG, at least how we consider it here, is 50 - 120. That's the range we all aim for. Keeping Jules under renal threshold (low 200s) would be a good secondary option. With TR, the dosing is aggressive but because the doses are arrived at in a systematic manner, the approach is safe. What I would point out is that some cats are more prone to bouncing than others and it doesn't matter much how skilled you are with dosing. Just so you're aware, with a longer term diabetic, if Jules' BG drops between 40 - 50 three times or there's a drop below 40, the dose is reduced.hope you're right on the first part...we will see over the next few daysI think his highs are high…we may disagree on this. Over 200 is unacceptable…and actually over 150 is not good. Over 120 is not good imho. I want him in “normal” range at all times…80-120. That is the goal and I hope we can accomplish this with Lantus.
Julesx said:thanks Ella (great name btw),
I appreciate your input, as I do everyone's hereI know a lot about meters and have tired many. I love my FreeStyle Lite and will never switch, unless it is for financial reasons. There is no meter that can even come close to it's performance in terms of only needing the tiniest amount of blood and a full minute between the time you put the strip to take a reading. We've all been frustrated by a wasted strip when a meter beeps off before you get your sample.
The research I have discovered, with other people, it that yes there is perhaps some slightly lower numbers, but the are mostly at the higher ranges of 300-400's.
We concluded that as long as you use the same meter...it's relative to your cats (hope that makes sense).
On the other hand, perhaps this is a possibility why he is fine at a number like 26 or 36 it doesn't scare us.
20.. Good grief ohmygod_smile I was fine too, I'd never had a heart attack, until I had one... :-|I've never seen him drop down to 20 before ! 26 was the lowest. but he's fine.
Why not try the same dose (maybe 3.75u?), 12 hours apart for 3 days or so?as the goal is to get him to level out more
With a consistent dose and schedule, and the data to back it up, you can (and we do) routinely shoot green numbers on the way to regulation (and hopefully OTJ) "Shoot Low to Stay Low".But I would never dose him, regardless of time, unless he was over 130-150 ps
You should still worry... 20s are dangerous, symptomatic or not. Every same-drop test I've done on my civvie (his bg usually 50-60) the FS was with a point or two of my One Touch (which requires about a cup of blood)When I first saw you getting numbers like 26 and 36, that did worry me until I saw you were using the FreeStyle
Exactly, it's not.I'm not convinced that FSL is that far off at low to normal range numbers...