Hello, All! Newbie here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steph and Java(GA)

Member Since 2011
Hi everyone. I just found you two days ago and have been reading everything I can get my hands on. My baby, Java was taken in a few weeks ago with a flareup of pancreatitis although I initially thought it was his IBD. Turns out he not only had pancreatitis, he had FD from the steroids. We went two weeks on D/M and M/d and that didn't work so here we are. I have my insulin demo Friday morning and I don't know what dose yet but my vet said he tends to be very cautious and starts low then creeps up slowly. He didn't mention home testing but when I spoke with the tech and talked about Java's eating habits, he thought it would be a good idea. Java is a grazer and I have tried to meal feed but after 4 days of me not getting any sleep and my babies getting very little nutrition, I quit. I do have a question mainly about feeding. Java has been on I/D wet and is now fairly happy on D/M wet. I have another baby Riley who is very prone to crystals. Riley has been obsessively stalking the D/M. I used to feed them both I/D but recently switched Riley to C/D. Ideally I would like to feed them both the same thing but I am a little confused as to whether a low carb diet is safe for a guy with Urinary problems. They won't even eat dry anymore so that isn't an issue. I just don't know what to do. Cost would be nice to reduce as I am unemployed and going to school but I have always put kitties first and will continue to do so if the more expensive food is best. I would prefer a non-rx food if possible even if it is expensive. Sorry to be so long-winded but it has been a long couple of weeks.
 
Welcome Steph and Java. It sounds like you are off to a good start - I really like that your vet wants to start at a low dose and increase gradually. Fantastic that you are going to test at home. Have you seen the video? Video for hometesting We all have tips that helped us so just ask.

As far as the food, the best resource we have is Dr. Lisa Pierson. She deals specifically with kitties with urine issues here: Dr. Lisa’s Urinary tract page She does not recommend RX diets.
 
Sue and Oliver said:
Welcome Steph and Java. It sounds like you are off to a good start - I really like that your vet wants to start at a low dose and increase gradually. Fantastic that you are going to test at home. Have you seen the video? Video for hometesting We all have tips that helped us so just ask.

As far as the food, the best resource we have is Dr. Lisa Pierson. She deals specifically with kitties with urine issues here: Dr. Lisa’s Urinary tract page She does not recommend RX diets.


I spent a lot of time reading her site. Very good information. If I do switch them off the Rx, since they are used to wet food already, can I just switch? I don't want to mess with anything but we aren't starting the insulin until friday morning at the earliest. He is going to be on Lantus and as I said, not sure of the dose yet. Thanks again for all the help and it was nice meeting you.
 
If you are already feeding wet, yes, you can just switch.

Have you checked out the Lantus forum? Be sure to check out the informational stickies at the top. There's great info on how Lantus works and how you should handle it, etc.

viewforum.php?f=9
 
Well I have been reading everything I can get my hands on. Tomorrow we go for our insulin demo and I think we are starting at 2u bid. I talked to my vet today about our food issues and also hometesting. He said if I wanted to test at home he wouldn't tell me not to, adn they would definitely use the info but he felt that other than doing the occasional curve, daily testing was not necessary. My cat is a grazer and I may be reading too much into all this but he cannot guarantee that if I shoot blind Java won't be in danger. He does want to look at what I have been reading about diet but when I talked about getting them on the same food he brought up Riley's Ph and the crystals. I read that Purina DM is 7% cal from carbs so I gather that would be ok for my Java but he doesn't want Riley to eat that because of the crystals. Tonight I gave them both FF classic and you would think they'd been in the desert for a week without food. They loved it! I don't want to screw around with food too much being that Java is starting his insulin tomorrow but playing musical plates is getting old. Any thoughts?
 
i know my situation is different but as an aside...my 15 yr old civvie with IBD has had ZERO issues with changing him over INSTANTLY to FF L/C wet! after being on dry for that many years.....which i of couse was told, he needed diet specific food! is crazy, i am one of those who thought i was doing the best for my kids when these "grocery brand" wets would have been doing them so so much better! SO, to be specific since Mowgli was diagnosed my IBD kitty and Mowg were instantly swapped over to FF L/C wets without any ill effect, which still blows my mind (and again, not the same as crystals, but an issue i was told was diet specific) i have one FEMALE STUBBORN civvie who still MUST have some dry..but because it is ONLY her it is the L/C high protein dry!
anyway, i ramble! GOOD LUCK, and you are IN THE RIGHT PLACE! welcome!
 
Mowgli and Keri said:
i know my situation is different but as an aside...my 15 yr old civvie with IBD has had ZERO issues with changing him over INSTANTLY to FF L/C wet! after being on dry for that many years.....which i of couse was told, he needed diet specific food! is crazy, i am one of those who thought i was doing the best for my kids when these "grocery brand" wets would have been doing them so so much better! SO, to be specific since Mowgli was diagnosed my IBD kitty and Mowg were instantly swapped over to FF L/C wets without any ill effect, which still blows my mind (and again, not the same as crystals, but an issue i was told was diet specific) i have one FEMALE STUBBORN civvie who still MUST have some dry..but because it is ONLY her it is the L/C high protein dry!
anyway, i ramble! GOOD LUCK, and you are IN THE RIGHT PLACE! welcome!

Thanks Keri, My Java has IBD, thats how he became diabetic in the first place so its good to hear about others in the same boat!
 
Mowgli and Keri said:
my IBD is a orange tabby too ;) unless wait! your Java is a grey tabby?


Yes that is reflection off the cushions in our sun room. Let me get a better pic. here's my pretty boy.
javaboy.jpg



here is his brother riley(no relation, LOL) riley is the food stalker, whatever his brother has, he wants!
3728bcb0.jpg
 
Oh handsome kitties!! And Riley looks like he is up to trouble with those eyes! lol
P.S I would HIGHLY reccommend hometesting... i can't even imagine shooting blind...i did it once, and was freaked out!
I wouldn't want to shoot blind to myself why would i for my baby... :)
 
Ok we did the insulin demo and he had his first shot this morning. 1 unit of Lantus. I also learned how to do the glucose and he was such a good boy! he laid so still and just made the smallest peep. Let me ask you all, do you try to use the lancet thingie or do you just pick a spot with the lancet by itself? It seems easier to just use the lancet by itself. I have to say it was not as bad as I imagined. I know we all cling to the chance that this will normalize or he will go into remission, but I have to say if he doesn't, I can totally handle this. I don't know if this is my imagination but his pupils have been dilated for a couple days and they are NORMAL again! Anyway I will have lots of questions I am sure and I would still like a little more reassurance on the food issues but I feel much better today than I did yesterday. Thanks for all your wonderful work on this board and all the articles and charts, you are all amazing! Next step is to figure out how to use the spreadsheet!
 
Whether to use the lancet device or the lancet by itself: It is entirely a matter of preference (which is colored by what you find easier). Personally, I use the lancet device, but many people find the lancet alone is preferable for them.

As long as you get a drop of blood and can do a test (and the cat doesn't rebel), the method really doesn't make any difference. Well, I guess there would be ways not to do it, like trying to get a sample from the cat's side, but if the cat had any oomph at all, you'd get a "no way" reaction if you tried one of those.
 
Fantastic! Welcome to the Vampire Club :RAHCAT :RAHCAT You'll be amazed how much more in control you will feel now that you can get blood glucose readings.

If you have trouble setting up the spreadsheet, just send me a message (PM box at the left hand corner of my message) I'll be glad to help you set it up.
 
Congrats on becoming a card carrying member of the Vampire Club!

You right this is so DOABLE! Yes, we all hope and pray that our sugarcats get to go into remission and become diet controlled but if it doesn't happen it really is an easy disease to treat.

We actually adopted our Max because he was a diabetic. It is that easy to deal with that we were more than willing to give this beautiful boy a chance at a long and happy life.

The important things to remember is Breathe, check the BGs before every shot and if you have a question pop on and post it. There is always someone around to lend a hand. The only stupid question is the one that goes unasked.

BTW what beautiful boys you have...Is Java a blue point siamese? He really looks a lot like my boy Bert.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang.
 
please note that dilated pupils can be a sign of high blood pressure; if you notice again, please get them checked asap!
 
Jen & Squeak said:
please note that dilated pupils can be a sign of high blood pressure; if you notice again, please get them checked asap!

Thanks! I have brought it to my vets attention and they said it could be a side effect of one of the meds he was on, can't remember which one but I will definitely keep an eye on it.
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Congrats on becoming a card carrying member of the Vampire Club!

You right this is so DOABLE! Yes, we all hope and pray that our sugarcats get to go into remission and become diet controlled but if it doesn't happen it really is an easy disease to treat.

We actually adopted our Max because he was a diabetic. It is that easy to deal with that we were more than willing to give this beautiful boy a chance at a long and happy life.

The important things to remember is Breathe, check the BGs before every shot and if you have a question pop on and post it. There is always someone around to lend a hand. The only stupid question is the one that goes unasked.

BTW what beautiful boys you have...Is Java a blue point siamese? He really looks a lot like my boy Bert.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang.

Thanks, I am not sure what he is, got him from a farm when he was six weeks old. I think his mom was a calico. Your Bert must be a looker!
 
Sue and Oliver said:
Fantastic! Welcome to the Vampire Club :RAHCAT :RAHCAT You'll be amazed how much more in control you will feel now that you can get blood glucose readings.

If you have trouble setting up the spreadsheet, just send me a message (PM box at the left hand corner of my message) I'll be glad to help you set it up.


Thanks Sue, I figured out how to upload it to my Google acct but I am just not sure how to use it yet. The vet tech didn't even know what range to give me as to what is too low, too high etc? she had to ask the vet so she really wasn't much help. The reading we got in the office today was 314. It was about an hour after he ate and about ten minutes after the shot.
 
Jean and Megan said:
Whether to use the lancet device or the lancet by itself: It is entirely a matter of preference (which is colored by what you find easier). Personally, I use the lancet device, but many people find the lancet alone is preferable for them.

As long as you get a drop of blood and can do a test (and the cat doesn't rebel), the method really doesn't make any difference. Well, I guess there would be ways not to do it, like trying to get a sample from the cat's side, but if the cat had any oomph at all, you'd get a "no way" reaction if you tried one of those.


Thanks Jean, I am going to try it with out the device but mine has 5 "depth" settings, If yours has that which depth do you use? It seemed like when we tried to use the device, it didn't penetrate but I didn't want to go through his ear.
 
Not all devices work the same...I hated my first device, love my softclix. I use deep settings and don't worry about going through...you can always buy diamond studs :) I keep my rice sock in Squeak's ear as support when I poke.
 
The best to figure out doses is to take preshot tests and at least a test 4-6 hours after the shot. Put them on your spreadsheet. Then you can post over on the Lantus forum and get help as you need it. There is no real formula for giving a specific dose at a specific number; every cat is different in the way his body uses the insulin.

This is from the Lantus forum stickies, which you should read and print off. They are full of great information.

"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose...
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Check your messages if you have questions about the spreadsheet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top