Heathy's BG

Status
Not open for further replies.

Heathy and Mommy

Member Since 2011
nailbite_smile I've been following the Vet's protocol but Heathy's #s are all over the place. Decided to come back to FDMB. I've kept his dose at 1.25u. for 2and1/2 days and he seems to be flat in the mid 250s. Is it safe to increase to 1.5u or should I wait. He seems perfectly normal. I'm trying te relaxed protocol.
 
I see no problem with going to 1 1/2 units. I would stay there for at least five days before changing. From your SS, maybe he needs more or maybe less.
 
Looking pretty good, actually. Nice nadir (lowest point between shots). You need to keep it there a full 3 days (6 shots), then get nadir tests to evaluate the dose.

I'd encourage you to stick with the dose while you start reading the sticky posts under
the Lantus forums topics heading to review or learn Lantus tips & tricks.

For now, if the pre-shot number is under 200, stall 20 minutes without feeding and re-test to see if the number is rising. If it is not rising, don't shoot. If it is rising, ask for review and suggestions.
 
You might want to pop over to the tight regulation forum http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9and get some experienced eyes on these numbers. I am seeing flat yellows and having had a cat come out of remission, you don't want to delay in getting him under control. If you do post there, mark "newbie" as part of your question in your subject line so they know you need helpe there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top