Healing Vines for Tigress

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel

Member Since 2013
Hi all,

Well got to go visit the vet again today. Went to work this AM...got back around 1. When I came back, Tigress got in the litter box and seemed to be taking awhile to pee. So I went to go see what it looked like, and there was blood. I checked the other box and there was blood in there too and when I came in the living room, she was trying to pee on a towel. So I packed her up and took her to the vet. Thank goodness they have an on call vet after hours!!

We couldn't get a urine sample because her bladder was so small (this is a common issue for her) but they showed me an xray and she had an extremely thickened bladder wall. No idea why. So we came home with pain meds, an anit-inflammatory, and antibiotics. They said we should go ahead with antibiotics since they didn't want to give her nothing if she was sick...and I agreed. Recheck in 2 weeks.

So here I am, asking for healing vines. I'm just hoping she's the only one sick and that these meds work. I just wish I knew what caused this...the good news is, she loves pills since she gets a pill pocket. Of course, they want me to put her on Royal Canin S/O. Trust me, I know. I don't plan to do that.

Anyway, healing vines would be welcomed. Going to look into D-Mannose for her since this is becoming more common...and also going to try to find a good probiotic for her so she isn't feeling icky.
 
Rachel, I am sorry Tigress isn't feeling well. Is she the one who has reoccurring UTIs? It sounds like you have done the best you can for her. Paws crossed that the meds do their job and that she feels better soon.
 
Many healing vines being sent your way.

This sounds like a UTI (urinary tract infection) Hopefully the antibiotics will start to work and you will see an improvement soon. :bighug:
 
Sending thoughts your way. I know how tough it can be. Nala used to get UTIs all the time until I switched her to wet food. It'll get better, hopefully soon! :)
 
Healing vines for Tigress!! :bighug:
The poor baby… I hate it when they don't feel well! It sounds like you are doing absolutely every single thing to take good care of her. :D Ever since Wynk's UTI, I have been sprinkling a little bit of d-mannose on his food. I don't suppose there's anyway to know whether it's working or not, but it hasn't hurt!

For your sake, I am thrilled to hear that she's easy to pill! I have kitties that are extremely easy to pill because they like soft treats....and then I have kitties that would probably die if a pill is the only thing that would save them.:rolleyes: It makes all the difference in the world!

Please let us know how she's doing!
 
For your sake, I am thrilled to hear that she's easy to pill! I have kitties that are extremely easy to pill because they like soft treats....and then I have kitties that would probably die if a pill is the only thing that would save them.:rolleyes: It makes all the difference in the world!

Please let us know how she's doing!

My sugar cat, Ben is one that would die if a pill is the only thing that would save him. You can stick him with the biggest needle in the world but do give him a pill.

Hugs and healing purrs for Tigress.
 
Hey Rachel, I sure hope Tigress gets good as new ASAP. When you feed her, is it wet or dry? If she eats wet, do you add some water to it? My civvie used to get crystals (struvite ) and then I started added organic blueberry in his food to make his urine more acidic. I think it could help Tigress? He stopped getting them and when I switched to Wellness wet food I stopped the blueberry powder ( would only put 1/4 tsp in his food) because Wellness has cranberry in it for that reason. If she won't eat wet, perhaps you could put a pinch or the powder in a pill pocket and just give her one daily. Also, Vitamin C powder is supposed to help with UTI's also. Sending vine your way.
 
She eats only wet food...and I add water to make it soupy. Luckily, it's the preferred method for my cats! They all love the wet food.

Did the blueberry help?
 
She eats only wet food...and I add water to make it soupy. Luckily, it's the preferred method for my cats! They all love the wet food.

Did the blueberry help?
It absolutely helped. After I started giving it to him in both AM and PM meals, he never had another one. I found it online, if I can find the site, I will link it for you. A little went a long way and it last a long time.
 
Rachel- I just saw this thread - so sorry and sending very healing vines for Tigress - you help me so much, I wish I could do something for you. What about d-mannose?
 
Whoa Bobbie - I can't believe you could give 5 units of insulin with an amps in the 50s - wow I am not sure I could get used to Lantus - looking so good all those greens
Hey Carol, with Bubba, he is a late nadir cat. So his preshot numbers are actually his nadirs. Remember when I was convinced he was getting too much insulin because of his lower preshot numbers than the rest of the curve and starting taken him down? Well, I did him a real disservice because then he developed ketones because he was not getting enough insulin. Sue kept saying "he's not getting enough insulin". So, I can shoot lower numbers easier than cats with normal nadirs midcycle. Why? One he food spikes anywhere from 30-60 points after I feed him and his onset isn't until around +8. So the preshot number I am shooting is not the number the insulin is going to start to work on. And Two: Lantus has a real flat curve. When they get into the lower numbers like he is now, there isn't a big difference from preshot to the next preshot. It looks like I am being brave but his late nadir is making it easier for me. How are you and Murphy doing? Sorry Rachel that we highjacked your thread. :)
 
Hey Carol, with Bubba, he is a late nadir cat. So his preshot numbers are actually his nadirs. Remember when I was convinced he was getting too much insulin because of his lower preshot numbers than the rest of the curve and starting taken him down? Well, I did him a real disservice because then he developed ketones because he was not getting enough insulin. Sue kept saying "he's not getting enough insulin". So, I can shoot lower numbers easier than cats with normal nadirs midcycle. Why? One he food spikes anywhere from 30-60 points after I feed him and his onset isn't until around +8. So the preshot number I am shooting is not the number the insulin is going to start to work on. And Two: Lantus has a real flat curve. When they get into the lower numbers like he is now, there isn't a big difference from preshot to the next preshot. It looks like I am being brave but his late nadir is making it easier for me. How are you and Murphy doing? Sorry Rachel that we highjacked your thread. :)
He's having very wild swings in his blood sugar - routinely going from black to green - its' not good (the blues and greens are good, but not the wild swings )
 
Haha it's all good! We always used to hijack Carol's thread...it's definitely my turn!

Tigress seems okay. I only gave her pain meds the first day and she doesn't seem in pain now. She took her last anti inflammatory yesterday and is now just on the clavamox. I plugged in new pheromone diffusers in hopes that it was just stress and that will help too.

We go back next week to get a recheck in. I'm just hoping her sister remains healthy since last time they did this together. I'm trying to stay calm though and remind myself that until she shows symptoms, she should be fine. I just wish I knew what caused this!

I have been adding D Mannose to food for the last few days. Hopefully it helps too!

Bobbie...wow! Look at Bubba go! You can see how he is just going down more and more for those preshots/nadirs. I'm so glad that you made the switch to Lantus and it's working so well! Any ketones lately? I just can't tell you how happy it makes me to see those lovely numbers!!!
 
Haha it's all good! We always used to hijack Carol's thread...it's definitely my turn!

Tigress seems okay. I only gave her pain meds the first day and she doesn't seem in pain now. She took her last anti inflammatory yesterday and is now just on the clavamox. I plugged in new pheromone diffusers in hopes that it was just stress and that will help too.

We go back next week to get a recheck in. I'm just hoping her sister remains healthy since last time they did this together. I'm trying to stay calm though and remind myself that until she shows symptoms, she should be fine. I just wish I knew what caused this!

I have been adding D Mannose to food for the last few days. Hopefully it helps too!

Bobbie...wow! Look at Bubba go! You can see how he is just going down more and more for those preshots/nadirs. I'm so glad that you made the switch to Lantus and it's working so well! Any ketones lately? I just can't tell you how happy it makes me to see those lovely numbers!!!
Thanks Rachel, we are very pleased with his progress on Lantus for less than 2 months. After we got the ketones to go away with the help of the Novolin R, he started progressing as we increased his units. No more ketones, well, I do need to test again, as it's been a while since his numbers have been so good but I should not assume. He has gained back almost 3 pounds too!

So glad Tigress is doing better. I had never heard of D-Mannose and checked it out on the internet. It sounds like a great tool to have and people use it too! Here is a link I found about it. I am glad to know about it.
http://healthypets.mercola.com/site.../prevent-urinary-tract-infection-in-cats.aspx
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top