Heading into remission? When to test again?

Status
Not open for further replies.
My kitty has been on insulin for almost 2 months. See my signature for details. Last night I tested at nadir & he was at 83. I decided to give a mini dose of .5 unit at his regular evening shot time of 10:30pm. I tested this morning at 10:15am, pre-shot & he was at 153. I've decided not to shoot & to wait & test again. I read that I was supposed to test again 20 min later, but I missed that mark & have fed him. So, when would be another good time to test? He would normally get insulin tonight at 10:30pm. Also, I'm aware that doing a curve (every 2 hours) is best, but there's NO WAY my cat going to let me do that! He fights me enough just to warm up his ear! lol
 
Glad you skipped. We would suggest not giving insulin under 150-180 unless you have a lot of data. He may be fairly high at test time tonight, but I would give less than usual. It is hard to give advice without some dose/level history. It would be helpful if you would set up a spreadsheet - not only for us, and you, but for your vet.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

Even if he is hard to test, getting a test before each shot is imperative - as you have seen. You don't know how low he was at pmps last night but it was low enough, on a small dose, to give you a 153 this morning. If he was that low 12 hours after the shot, it is likely he could have gone very low overnight.
 
Tested him tonight pre-shot. 171. I gave a .5 dose. Will retest tmrw morn pre-shot. Is there a dosing sheet somewhere on the website? I couldn't find it. What are ideal pre-shot morning numbers, nadir numbers & pre-shot evening numbers?
 
He hasn't had insulin all day & since it climbed some tonight & he gets another feeding tonight after evening feeding & shot, & was ok last night w/ .5mL, I figured it was ok to do .5mL tonight.
 
ProZinc doesn't have a regime like the depot insulins: if you get X, then shoot Z. The dose is based on what the insulin did in the previous cycles: this dose on this level meant he dropped into this range so that same dose on a similar level may do the same. It is more about learning your cat's response to the insulin and using that information. That's why data is so important.

The good news is that he is in lower ranges and getting just a small dose. Your job is to get that preshot test each time (they can often throw us a curve especially if they are in low numbers) and a midcycle number whenever possible.

Have you found a favorite treat that you only use for the testing? That is often the secret to this. The cat realizes a treat is coming and sits through the test to get it. Some people also use a kitty burrito. Can you share how you test and what the issues are?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top