Ashley & Harry
Member Since 2016
Hi!
So, I've been giving Harry about 1.5u 2x a day. But because of how it's working in his system, I've ended up skipping some shots, so I tried reducing it to 1.25u instead... but it seems to be doing nothing. My understanding is that this is related to the depot, but I'm still having a hard time wrapping my head around it. Only been on Lantus for about two weeks, so bear with my cluelessness
He starts at 346. I give him 1.5. He drops down to 140, if not lower (didn't get his sugar right at nadir). He starts at 266, I give him 1.25, he drops down to 259 after five hours. I worry that if he starts at 266 and I give him 1.5, he'll go too low, but 1.25 seems to be doing nothing. So I'm having a hard time understanding how it works and how I should give him his doses.
So I have a few questions.
What number is safe to shoot 1.5 under? If he's at 266, should I still give him 1.5? What if he's only around 160?
How low can he go before I should start worrying? I've been stressing at about 90, but is he safe down by 50?
edit: do want to add that I'm going to be asking my vet the same questions later today, but I'm still waiting on a call back from him so I figured I'd post here too.
So, I've been giving Harry about 1.5u 2x a day. But because of how it's working in his system, I've ended up skipping some shots, so I tried reducing it to 1.25u instead... but it seems to be doing nothing. My understanding is that this is related to the depot, but I'm still having a hard time wrapping my head around it. Only been on Lantus for about two weeks, so bear with my cluelessness
He starts at 346. I give him 1.5. He drops down to 140, if not lower (didn't get his sugar right at nadir). He starts at 266, I give him 1.25, he drops down to 259 after five hours. I worry that if he starts at 266 and I give him 1.5, he'll go too low, but 1.25 seems to be doing nothing. So I'm having a hard time understanding how it works and how I should give him his doses.
So I have a few questions.
What number is safe to shoot 1.5 under? If he's at 266, should I still give him 1.5? What if he's only around 160?
How low can he go before I should start worrying? I've been stressing at about 90, but is he safe down by 50?
edit: do want to add that I'm going to be asking my vet the same questions later today, but I'm still waiting on a call back from him so I figured I'd post here too.