Clarence & family
Member
Starting a new thread as the last one was getting long. Link to previous thread:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/clarences-bg-continued.294132/
Clarence seems to be improving, we suddenly got over a week of blue and then green nadirs, however I’m running into some problems.
His nadirs are heading into the right direction but he usually doesn’t seem to get very good duration and his BG starts going up around +8 most times, ending in the 300-400’s with the occasional 500+ mixed in. Also his +2 is usually already lower than his PS, so insulin works quickly for him.
Occasionally he has a much lower PS, and those make me a bit nervous as he tends to drop low when given the full dose with a low PS. I’ve given him 50% two times in the past week with what was a low PS for him, but then I noticed his numbers slowly trending upwards over the next few cycles.
After being high and flat all days yesterday this morning I suddenly got a AMPS of 223, so low for him, and decided to give him the full shot as I’m able to watch him today. +2 was already down to 144, so I gave him an extra snack, but by +3 he was down to 67. More snacks and he’s at 74 now at +4. He seems absolutely fine by the way.
What I’m mostly worried about is that I’ll have to be away from home a lot more in the near future. For the past couple months I’ve been able to either go home and back to work quickly during the day to check or to work from home. That’s not going to be possible that much anymore. I can leave wet food out for him (and there’s always LC dry food for our other cat), but he will just eat all the wet food right away as soon as I put it out and then won’t eat when he drops low.
What would be my best option to handle this when I have to be away for longer? Give him a reduced dose and risk his numbers going up again, or will he be fine with occasionally dropping below 90 (or even 70) despite me being so worried?
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/clarences-bg-continued.294132/
Clarence seems to be improving, we suddenly got over a week of blue and then green nadirs, however I’m running into some problems.
His nadirs are heading into the right direction but he usually doesn’t seem to get very good duration and his BG starts going up around +8 most times, ending in the 300-400’s with the occasional 500+ mixed in. Also his +2 is usually already lower than his PS, so insulin works quickly for him.
Occasionally he has a much lower PS, and those make me a bit nervous as he tends to drop low when given the full dose with a low PS. I’ve given him 50% two times in the past week with what was a low PS for him, but then I noticed his numbers slowly trending upwards over the next few cycles.
After being high and flat all days yesterday this morning I suddenly got a AMPS of 223, so low for him, and decided to give him the full shot as I’m able to watch him today. +2 was already down to 144, so I gave him an extra snack, but by +3 he was down to 67. More snacks and he’s at 74 now at +4. He seems absolutely fine by the way.
What I’m mostly worried about is that I’ll have to be away from home a lot more in the near future. For the past couple months I’ve been able to either go home and back to work quickly during the day to check or to work from home. That’s not going to be possible that much anymore. I can leave wet food out for him (and there’s always LC dry food for our other cat), but he will just eat all the wet food right away as soon as I put it out and then won’t eat when he drops low.
What would be my best option to handle this when I have to be away for longer? Give him a reduced dose and risk his numbers going up again, or will he be fine with occasionally dropping below 90 (or even 70) despite me being so worried?