Has your cat acted different while on lantus?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobC

Member Since 2016
My cat has been on lantus for months now (2.5 in the am 2.5 at night) and we have noticed his behavior change since he has been on it.

He has been way less cuddly, he has started biting us a bit more than usual and he is starting to vocalize more (especially in the morning). I am not sure if he is confused or what. He will be laying on the floor and make some high pitched meows and maybe like 25 minutes later he will do the same thing again.

Just wondering if any of you have experienced this with your cat on lantus.

-Rob
 
I have not seen any real difference in behavior.
How well is BG being controlled?
Are you home testing BG?
Maybe your cat's (name?) BG is too high or too low.
 
Hi. My cat (kitty is his name) BG level is usually between 216-350. It is usually in the 200's.
 
I've noticed behaviour changes in Saoirse over the last couple of months since I needed to increase her dose of Lantus. It seems to lower her mood. Her mood is better at the beginning and end of each cycle.


Mogs
.
 
The only thing I noticed in behaviour was that my diabetic cat became increasingly more aggressive towards my dog, completely unprovoked. They use to get along the best out of all my animals, but now my dog is pretty hesitant to be around him, whether he is acting aggressive or not. Insulin itself is a hormone, so it could have created some sort of territorial imbalance. We just have to watch them, and it isn't constant, but definitely started when we began insulin therapy. Even though he's been OTJ for over 2 months, this behaviour continues.
 
@Sharon14 - Thanks for that link; very helpful indeed.

It's really getting to me that the Lantus dose Saoirse needs is making her depressed. I am gearing up to approach the vets about Levemir but I'm worried I'll meet resistance to the idea. :(


Mogs
.
 
A very few cats have had behavior changes on Lantus and seem to have done better on other insulins like Levemir, but before changing insulins, I'd want to see some results of home testing and see how Kitty is really doing

If you could get our spreadsheet going and go back on your meter and get a week or two's worth of numbers, it may help
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top