Harry 12/14: +11 124, AMPS 268, +2 319, +4 349

Status
Not open for further replies.

chatcat24

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32019

So...he was in the red last night, got some food about three hours ago and then we did his AMPS: which is 124....what is recommended with his AMPS dosage? Do I hold off for a few hours and retest, and give him a shot then? I know Lantus is not based on the pre-shot info, but being in the blue this morning I don't want to give him more insulin.

Help?
 
Re: question on dosage-Harry 12/14: AMPS 124 in the blue!!!

I'm going to check out Harry's ss....hold on...
 
Re: question on dosage-Harry 12/14: AMPS 124 in the blue!!!

Was just going to ask the same question, Sienne! Can't give any input w/o that information :smile:
 
Re: question on dosage-Harry 12/14: AMPS 124 in the blue!!!

Are you home to monitor? Do you have HC food, and plenty of test strips?

Have you fed yet? I would retest now and post the number, how long has it been since you got the 124?
 
Re: question on dosage-Harry 12/14: AMPS 124 in the blue!!!

Well I was planning on going out, but not after I see Harry's low numbers today - lower than they usually are, anyways.
We do have test strips, HC and MC food. We did feed him (he was so hungry) three hours before his test this morning, and fed him right after we did the BG. It's been 45 mins. or so since we did the BG, but he was VERY cantankerous.... We poked him four times, 2 of those times we had just one tiny bit to fill up the strip and he shook his head with all his might, and then growled. He's not happy this a.m. with being poked. Whoever mentioned that it doesn't hurt the cat - lies!! jk. We're just annoyed that it's not easier his last week (with the bg's) - we had to hold his scruff tightly about three times this week to get him to stay when we're JUST filling up the strip.
Argh!
- And we are happy, petting him, calm when doing the tests, it's him that's all cranky.
 
Re: question on dosage-Harry 12/14: AMPS 124 in the blue!!!

Looks like Harry was bouncing last night due to his low numbers and now the bounce is clear. I would ask you the same questions as Laurie...will you be home, do you have hc/mc food? Lots of strips? Those are questions that need to be answered. What is his number now?
 
Re: question on dosage-Harry 12/14: AMPS 124 in the blue!!!

I'm thinking that Harry will have a higher number due to a food spike from just eating about an hour ago....and considering he's very cranky and hates being poked....is there anything else I can do - guess not. Too bad there's not an easier way to get his frickin' blood drops!!!!!! (and we don't want to do his paws, as obviously he goes in the litter box and I don't want to chance an infection)
Sigh....guess I'll need to poke him.....(and he's sleeping! Poor bastard)
 
Re: question on dosage-Harry 12/14: AMPS 124, +1 268

+1 at 268, probably because of a food spike. Will test in a couple hours, going ahead with the 1.5 units dosage.
 
Re: question on dosage-Harry 12/14: AMPS 124 in the blue!!!

I know the testing can be difficult in the beginning, but it really is necessary. Are you giving him a treat afterwards? Make sure you give him a treat whether you are successful with the test or not. Tinkles was pretty testy about it in the beginning too, now he lays right down, purring and lets me test...he's waiting for the treat. Not every cat learns to enjoy testing, but it will get easier.

Are you freehanding the lancet or using a lancet pen? What size are the lancets you are using?

Thanks for the answer on the test strips and HC food. Since you fed, the number you will get now will be inflated by food, so you will need to stall a bit longer to make sure the numbers are rising naturally before shooting. Remember that whenever you shoot this morning, you will need to shoot the next dose 12 hours from that time. Is that going to cause a big problem with your schedule? You will need to move the shot time back by no more than 30 minutes per day, so you should consider how this will impact your schedule.

For the next time, if you are unsure about shooting the number you get, and are stalling and waiting for advice, please do not feed.
 
Re: question on dosage-Harry 12/14: AMPS 124 in the blue!!!

If you have already shot, please get a +1 and +2. That number is food inflated, and he may drop back down as the food spike wears off, and with the insulin onset at about the same time, you could be looking at a big drop.
 
Re: question on dosage-Harry 12/14: AMPS 124 in the blue!!!

Thanks for the info!
We just did a shot, and that will be in sync with the 9am/9pm dosages we give Harry. I'm sure the numbers did show the food spike, so we will check again in an hour and see where he's at.
We absolutely give Harry treats and or food after every time we do a BG or a dose is given, which he loves. (usually pieces of ham - he loves it!)
We are currently not using the pen, we use free-hand lancets, size 29 gauge. We also use the rice sock, pinch the bottom of the ear for about 30 secs. first and can (almost always) see the vein and where to poke with the BG tests. (which makes it easier for sure!)
....Will update at the +2 time spot.

Let's hope today Harry will stay low(er)...but not too low!! Have the food ready......
 
Re: question on dosage-Harry 12/14: AMPS 124 in the blue!!!

Good question about how you are poking the ear and where. I don't freehand because it's slower and inconsistent when compared to using the lancet device that is at the same setting each time. I don't know if you have tried it already, but poke your own finger, freehand and with the lancet device, and change the settings on the device to feel the differences.
For mine, I can't see the pokes hurting. Shadoe will sleep through the pokes or at least she does not bother to open her eyes, and Ollie sometimes shakes his head as if the poke is like a fly he is trying to shoo away.

The ears do learn to bleed, I am sure you have already been told that and it's true. While I had some troubles in the beginning with Shadoe, I have no issues now. They each have their own lancet devices and there are different settings on each of them.

Staying relaxed for the process is half the battle; if you are tense, the cat will be too.
Be sure to make a note on the far right of your ss to state when you fed what food and the amount, so others will know what number could be a food spike.
 
Re: question on dosage-Harry 12/14: AMPS 124 in the blue!!!

Hmmm....maybe the pen would be a better idea to go with. We are having issues (currently, not all the time) with free handing it, mainly because he shakes his head at times when we have the blood drop ready to go. (brat!)
And the gauge of the lancets are 28 not 29. We are off to get more strips anyways he's down to the last 10. (2 days worth or so) The pen...a new thing that I'm a little nervous to try.......
Any tips on using it? Do you change out the needle in it every time you do a BG reading?
 
Re: Harry 12/14: AMPS 124, +1 268 (food spike)

I don't know anything about lancet sizes; I just get a box of them to go with the meter I have.
Practice on yourself! Put a lancet in the device pull back and poke your own finger. Adjust the setting on the device, and poke yourself on the highest and lowest settings. You will know exactly how it feels then.

I sit with Ollie beside me while sitting on the sofa. I can tilt his head to rest on the side of my leg and it makes for a harder time to shake his head that way. I make sure I am holding the base of his ear so he's pretty much unable to shake his head or the ear.

Just try some different positionings and see what works best for you to keep him immobile but not so tight that he's stressed. In time, both of you will get used to the routine, and in his own way, he'll let you know what he likes and does NOT like.
 
Re: question on dosage-Harry 12/14: AMPS 124 in the blue!!!

I'm confused, I thought the 124 was at your normal shot time, and then you stalled for an hour, then tested again and got the 268, then shot...so that would make your shot at +13? If so, you can move the shot back by 15 minutes each shot, or 30 minutes on one shot per day. So, you could shoot 15 minutes early tonight, tomorrow morning, tomorrow night and the following morning to move back by an hour, or you could shoot 30 minutes early tonight, and then 30 minutes early tomorrow night. Of course, if his numbers are low, you might not want to shoot early on that shot.

Please do keep us updated, we'll be looking to see how he's doing. Thanks! :smile:

I use a lancet pen, with a clear cap so I can see where I'm poking. You might want to try it, see if that works better. You could try using a higher gauge lancet, maybe 29 or 30, but it might not work as well for getting blood...usually the smaller gauge (28) works better in the beginning. Yes, you use a new lancet every time. Everybody has their own way of doing things, and what works for me may not work for you, but it never hurts to try something different if you are having problems. Another trick I use is to hold pressure on the lancet pen against the ear for the count of 3 after triggering the lancet, it helps the blood bead up. Hold onto his ear so he won't shake the blood drop off...that's a common problem!

Tinkles hates being restrained, so I never really held him when testing. In the beginning, I had DH or DD hold him in their arms while I was testing (he likes to be held, but not held down) to keep him still, after a while I was able to convince him to lay down by using my body over top of him, but not actually restraining him. If he is fighting the scruffing, you might try restraining him less...it's a balancing act for sure, but you don't want him to be fighting you. As Gayle said, being calm helps a lot, if you find yourself getting frustrated, let him go and take time to calm down before trying again. Some people sing to their kitties, that might help. It will get easier, you just have to find what works best for you!
 
Re: Harry 12/14: AMPS 124, +1 268 (food spike)

Laurie and Mr. Tinkles:
Thanks for the quick response. Yes, I did change the chart to show the 124 at the +11 mark (as high as that chart would go). And I did use the 268 as the PS number, so I have changed that as well. Last night we gave Harry his dosage at 9:30, so this a.m. it was only a few minutes off, so it won't screw up tonight's shot at all. ;-)
I had to call around to see what place would sell me the Precision Xtra strips, as the place closest to me didn't sell the, and have noted that I am using them on a cat. Usually if you buy 100 strips then the monitor is free, but not free at all if you use it on animals. Jerks. So I'm off to travel down the road to another pharmacy where "I" have diabetes so I can get a new machine and new strips. I'll look around on this site for good monitors to use and which ones to stay away from!
New BG numbers coming right away. . . .
 
Re: Harry 12/14: +11 124, AMPS 268, +2 319

Just did another spot check....he's at 319 right now. And his ears are soooo red I'm almost running out of spots to poke him!
 
Re: Harry 12/14: +11 124, AMPS 268, +2 319

He may be bouncing from a low number last night.

I notice that you haven't been getting spot checks in the PM cycle all of the time. For instance, there was no spot check last night, so there's no way of knowing where that 124 came from. It's quite possible that he saw greens last night. It's important to get at least a before bed test every night, ok? That way you will see which way Harry is heading.
 
:-|
Today is definitely a day where I am feeling very frustrated. Not just with my hubby's annoyed mood, or with the bad traffic, or even the MORONIC people that work at a pharmacy downtown (where I just came back from....), but with Harry.
It seems that getting so many spot checks are now a hassle, just because Harry isn't liking it. Even getting one just now, and holding his ear before we poke him he meows and obviously doesn't like it.
Even though I am in the "testing faze", trying to figure out his numbers, would the basic two times a day blood test do for now? His ears are so red it was hard for me to find a spot this time to check. ...maybe I should stick to twice a day, with food several times a day and before bed of course too, and do the stupid fructosamine test.

Ideas? Comments? His ears are so red i would really prefer to give him a break, although he's had greens lately I can make sure to keep his food levels up? Any way this could work?

I went and got a Freestyle Freedom Elite monitor, with his new 100 strips (although I still have a few days left of the old, I'll use those up first of course)...not sure if this is available in the US or not, any thoughts on this one? It takes .3 (or .03) for the amount of blood needed. I guess we'll find out soon enough!
Anyone had any issues with this meter?
 
Helena, I know the testing is frustrating when it doesn't go easily, we have all been where you are and understand how difficult it is, and how tempting it is to back off on the testing. However, testing only before shots will not be adequate to follow the tight regulation protocol we follow here. The preshot tests only tell you whether it is safe to give his shot or not, the spot checks in between are what help you figure out how the insulin is working for him, and whether he needs more or less insulin. Harry has had a few 20s already, and I hate to think of what might happen if you are not testing and risking him dropping to those levels without intervention. Simply watching his behavior is not going to tell you if he is too low, and offering food may not be sufficient...many times you will need to give HC food to bring the numbers up, but if you aren't testing, you will not know when he needs intervention.

If you are not going to test, I would urge you to drop his insulin dose down for safety. While that will not be ideal, that will be safer for him.

As far as for right now, he is bouncing and it is a good time to save a strip and not test from now until PMPS.

The testing will get easier, honest! In the meantime, the testing will not do any permanent harm to his ears. If the redness is bruising, you need to put pressure on the test spot for a few seconds after testing to stop the bleeding and minimize bruising. You can put some polysporin/neosporin on his ears to encourage healing. This is all very common, pretty much everyone goes through this and I assure you that it will get better.
 
Personally, I wouldn't rely on just two tests. The minimum we suggest is 4 -- one before each shot and one during each cycle.

A couple of thoughts.... Try using a bit of Neosporin Pain Relief ointment (it may have a different name in Canada) before you poke. It may help with both the redness, any discomfort from poking, and it will help the blood to bead up. I wouldn't be overly concerned if Harry's ears are red. It will probably dissipate in a day or so.

If you are getting frustrated, which is understandable, it's likely that you are communicating that with Harry. Our cats are sensitive to our emotions and react. Remember to give treats -- no matter what. Give scratches in all the favorite places, hugs, and tons of praise. If Harry starts associating testing with lots of good stuff, it will be less of an ordeal for you both.

The problem with relying on testing x2/day and a fructosamine test is that you will have no idea if Harry is in the 20s in the middle of the day. He's been there twice, he can do it again. You're already seeing that Harry likes to dive bomb. The fact that you're testing and caught those numbers and kept Harry safe is very important. His spending a couple of hours in that range, or lower, could be very dangerous. It's why we strongly encourage getting mid-cycle tests. Many cats do not react oddly to low numbers. Gabby tends to sleep -- a lot. If you have a cat that's going to go to sleep when numbers are dropping, they could become comatose and you'd never know until it's too late.

You're doing a great job with testing and keeping Harry safe. It will get easier.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top