Re: question on dosage-Harry 12/14: AMPS 124 in the blue!!!
I'm confused, I thought the 124 was at your normal shot time, and then you stalled for an hour, then tested again and got the 268, then shot...so that would make your shot at +13? If so, you can move the shot back by 15 minutes each shot, or 30 minutes on one shot per day. So, you could shoot 15 minutes early tonight, tomorrow morning, tomorrow night and the following morning to move back by an hour, or you could shoot 30 minutes early tonight, and then 30 minutes early tomorrow night. Of course, if his numbers are low, you might not want to shoot early on that shot.
Please do keep us updated, we'll be looking to see how he's doing. Thanks! :smile:
I use a lancet pen, with a clear cap so I can see where I'm poking. You might want to try it, see if that works better. You could try using a higher gauge lancet, maybe 29 or 30, but it might not work as well for getting blood...usually the smaller gauge (28) works better in the beginning. Yes, you use a new lancet every time. Everybody has their own way of doing things, and what works for me may not work for you, but it never hurts to try something different if you are having problems. Another trick I use is to hold pressure on the lancet pen against the ear for the count of 3 after triggering the lancet, it helps the blood bead up. Hold onto his ear so he won't shake the blood drop off...that's a common problem!
Tinkles hates being restrained, so I never really held him when testing. In the beginning, I had DH or DD hold him in their arms while I was testing (he likes to be held, but not held down) to keep him still, after a while I was able to convince him to lay down by using my body over top of him, but not actually restraining him. If he is fighting the scruffing, you might try restraining him less...it's a balancing act for sure, but you don't want him to be fighting you. As Gayle said, being calm helps a lot, if you find yourself getting frustrated, let him go and take time to calm down before trying again. Some people sing to their kitties, that might help. It will get easier, you just have to find what works best for you!