Harley's dental update and Bupe question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob & Harley (GA)

Very Active Member
The mass on his jaw turned out to be an absessed tooth. They pulled 3 teeth in total. He is spending the evening avoiding me.

Does Bupe need to be refrigerated? The vial only says to keep it away from light.


*****************************


Harley's teeth are not good and he has a dental scheduled for tomorrow at 9 am. He has to have at least one extraction that we know of.

Is there anything I need to know or questions I need to ask that I havn't thought of. I'm scared about tomorrow and don't want to miss anything.

I'm listing the drugs, etc. that are listed on the estimate, if anyone sees something I should refuse to give him or something not listed please let me know.

Acepromazine Maleate Inj. 50 ml
Torbugesic 10 ml
Anestesia, Isoflurand hourly 0-19.9#
Lidocaine HCL inj 2% 100ml
Regional Mandibular Block
Carbocaine V 50ml
Bupivacaine HCI 0.5% 50ml
Buperenorphine 0.325mg 1 ml carpuject
Concil: bioactive bone graft ceramic
Ampicillin Injectable 250 mg/ml 85ml
Buprenorphine 0.325mg 1ml carpuject
Amoxi-Tabs 50mg 500#

Also just to keep things interesting his PMPS was 125 but 1 hour early so now I don't know what to shoot if anything, he is on Prozinc and won't be getting any insulin in the morning.

Thank you in advance for any advise you can offer.

Robin
 
Re: Advise for Harley's dental tomorrow

Is Harley going to get IV fluids during (and maybe before and after the dental)? Just for information , the quantities given for the drugs are the amount in the "container" the drug comes in it is not the amount the kitty will get.
 
Re: Advise for Harley's dental tomorrow

Yes he is getting IV Fluids

Catheterization IV & 1st Liter Fluids
IV set up 10 drop 103"
Catheter, I.V. 24g x 3/4" Surflash yello
 
Re: Advise for Harley's dental tomorrow

no advice rob, just good luck and sending warm loving hugs to you and harley (((((((rob & harley)))))
 
Re: Advise for Harley's dental tomorrow

Looking back at Klinger's pre-dental evening, I wish I would have reduced his dose because he started to drop (one of his rare occasions) and I had to keep feeding him past the time they told me to start his fast.
If that happens to Harley, you must tell them what time you stopped feeding him.
Good luck tomorrow, Robin & Harley
 
Re: Advise for Harley's dental tomorrow

Thanks Marcy.

I still don't know what to shoot. Tonight of all nights he has a low PMPS. I had to feed him anyway because of the fast, I don't want to shoot a food spike. I guess I'll wait another 30 minutes and test again.
 
Re: Advise for Harley's dental tomorrow

My cat had two full teeth extracted last week and also had some residual roots removed from teeth that had broken off below the gum line. All of the meds and fluids your cat will be getting are similiar to what Nomad got last week.Within an hour of getting home Nomad was eating two cans of fancy feast.The only difference I noticed is that his BG ran about fifty points higher for about three days and then gradually went down again. Your kitty should do fine. I think the dental is more traumatic for us sometimes than it is for our cats.
 
Re: Advise for Harley's dental tomorrow

there have been relatively recent discussions about whether antibiotics are really necessary after dentals; if I remember correctly, Dr Lisa has said that in most cases they are unnecessary.
 
Re: Advise for Harley's dental tomorrow

Good to know. Thanks for your responses. I'll ask about the AB's.

I know he'll feel better after the dental. We leave in about an hour.

Keep paws crossed.

Robin
 
Re: Advise for Harley's dental tomorrow

Ok, I got focused on the drugs and forgot something...

are they monitoring his blood pressure throughout? Please make sure they do!
 
Re: Advise for Harley's dental tomorrow

Yes they have a blood pressure machine so I'm assuming they are going to be using it.

I've dropped him off, during his pre-op exam the Dr found a mass on his jaw, he let me feel it. He said they will check it out and take care of it but that a mass in the mouth of a senior diabetic kitty isn't good.

I am now so far beyond scared I can't even describe it.
 
Re: Advise for Harley's dental tomorrow

I just said a prayer for you both and am thinking good thoughts. I know you're scared, I would be too. Hang in there, okay?
 
Re: Advise for Harley's dental tomorrow

No real advice just hugs for you and Harley. We will have all fingers, toes and paws crossed that Harley comes through his dental with flying colors.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Advise for Harley's dental tomorrow

Thanks everyone, I don't feel so alone in this knowing that you are rooting for him too.

Robin
 
Glad he got his bad teeth taken care of. Poor guy.

No Bupe does not need refrigeration. Keep it in a drawer or cabinet that won't be exposed to much light. Did they tell you how to administer it? It's the oral kind, right? You're supposed to get it into their cheek so they get it around the soft tissue, it's absorbed through the skin. If he were human, he could just put it under his tongue ;-)
 
So glad to see that Harley came through his dental just fine and that the mass was nothing more than an absessed tooth, whew!

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
Actually the Bupe is an injectable.

Whew is right with the mass, I thought I was looking at cancer. The vet hadn't seen that tooth as a problem last week when we saw him.
 
Rob & Harley said:
Actually the Bupe is an injectable.

Whew is right with the mass, I thought I was looking at cancer. The vet hadn't seen that tooth as a problem last week when we saw him.

Ah, that's good. I assume it doesn't need refrigerated either then.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top