Harley's dental day

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob & Harley (GA)

Member Since 2009
I dropped Harley off at the clinic for his dental. The vet did a pre-op exam and found a mass on Harley's bottom jaw. He let me feel it. He said that a mass in the mouth of a senior diabetic cat is not good.

They are going to check it out and hopefully take care of it.

I am now so far beyond scared I can't even describe it.

Please keep Harley in your thoughts today.

Thanks,
Robin
 
Robin- you and Harley are in my thoughts today. I'm sending lots of good vibes your way. We've got our paws and fingers crossed for a good outcome from the dental, and hopefully better numbers to follow. Keep us updated.

Hugs and scritches,
Claudia & Charlie
 
Oh Robin. You and Harley have been in my thoughts all day and will continue to be there. Thanks for letting us know. All fingers and toes crossed.
 
Thank you all, we're home.

The mass on his jaw turned out to be an absessed tooth. Whew, I thought I was looking at cancer. He lost 3 teeth in all.

Now he is avoiding me like the plague. It took me awhile to catch him to test him and now I can't catch him to give him his insulin. So my plan of snuggling up on the couch is out of the question.

I'm just glad it's all over. What a long day.

Thank you, thank you, thank you everyone.

We really appreciate it.

Robin & Harley
 
Whoopeeeeee! :RAHCAT dancing_cat :RAHCAT dancing_cat :RAHCAT dancing_cat :RAHCAT dancing_cat :RAHCAT dancing_cat :RAHCAT
( Thanks for letting us know so quickly)
 
Hallelujah! That is awesome news about the mass! I'm sure he'll lose the 'tude in a bit. Poor guy, he's had a rough day. So happy it's all over now!
 
That's great news! I'm glad he's home and recovering. It's always such a relief to get them back, isn't it? Hopefully he'll be back to his old self before too long.
 
be careful if you do catch him, about giving insulin. the fluids given during a procedure plus the anesthesia can actually cause lower BG's in some kitties so i've seen people either just skip the shot after a procedure such as this or give a reduced amount, to be safe.
 
Well I couldn't catch him to give him his insulin so I decided to quit stressing him by chasing him around and wait until PMPS.

His AMPS this morning was 186, not bad for being without insulin for 24 hours, his +31 this afternoon was 239 not bad for just coming from the vet, that's why I decided to wait. I'm sure glad I did, I didn't know about the fluids lowering their bg's and his PMPS +36 was 72 :shock: I'm going to test him again at +39.

Does anyone know if Bupe needs to be refrigerated? The vial only says to keep it out of the light.
 
Oh wow!!! That's a relief it's an abcess, hopefully it heals great and he'll be all spiffed up and get better BGs from having it cleared up!!! Hope he is feeling back to normal soon. :YMHUG:
 
Thanks for asking. He is much better today, he even came out and joined us on the sofa for the first time, but then I realized it was his dinner time. :lol: So he's doing great.
 
Hi Robin. Thinks your dates may be off by one day in your SS. I think you left out Jan 9? and that put you a day ahead. Glad to see such pretty blue numbers.
 
Thanks Judy, I sure did mess up the dates but they're fixed now. I've spent so much time trying to catch up to myself that I zoomed right past me. :smile:

Harley's AMPS today was 186 so he needed insulin for the first time in days. :sad: I was hoping for longer.

Otherwise he is acting more like himself and he is finally sleeping in his favorite spots again, spending more time with the group instead of being alone.
 
Glad to hear Harley's getting back to his old self. Bummer about needing the insulin, but he had some progress, right? That's still a step forward.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top