Happy Thanksgiving - J.D. PMPS 247, +4 346

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
275 PMPS
309 +6
318 +7

il_430xn9912188.jpg

Because of this board, I know I have to stay on top of a possible infection and keep his numbers down. Thank You!
I raised his dose to 0.75 this morning, and I gave him 0.0 (zero line) of R at AMPS.

He ate 1/2 his normal 1st Breffis with 1/3 of the 1/8 heaping teaspoon of Miralax (disolved in a shot glass of hot water) at AMPS.
He ate the other half with another 1/3 of the Miralax dose at +2.
And just had the rest of the Miralax with about 1/3 of a FF Shredded Beef and Chicken Appetizer at +2.5.

He has peed 3 times and stinky! pooed once in those 2 1/2 hours. I took advantage of those pees (all in the box YAY!) and got 2 ketones - negative tests YAY!

We had one walk this morning, and the cats just went outside again.


Karrie and Maverick said:
Maverick did that when his arthritis flared up also. One leg lifted up each step, the other followed. One step at a time. His bad leg always followed his good leg to the steps. He bunny hopped down the steps also. We put baby stairs, stools, ottomans everywhere and he used them immediately. Make sure his leg/foot isn't cold. Do you have a heated bed for J.D.? They make flat ones. Do you have a litterbox downstairs and upstairs for him? I also carried Maverick up the stairs to save the wear on his joints and made him elevated feeding stations. He had a hard time crouching with his hips. He ate or drank either sitting upright or standing.
That's exactly how J.D. goes up and down the stairs and walks, sometimes (not all the time).
He is on Adequan, and is down to weekly doses, now. I am right handed, and was taught by my vet to lay J.D. on his left side and feel for the muscle and hold J.D.'s right hind leg with my left hand and give the IM dose into his right back leg, which is the exact one that seems sore. I'm going to ask the vet about that, and ask him if I'm even doing it correctly.
He also got caught in our newly installed (by our condo assocation) self closing doors, which I think (it was dark) tried to close on his hips about 2 weeks ago.
I'm guessing the Adequan is working. He seems to be trotting and leaping (standing up on his hind legs) for his treats, more.

I am planning to do a Black Friday run (I have never ever ever in my life gone to a store on Black Friday) to PetsMart and stock up on some FF, Friskies, and check out a new water fountain, kitty stairs, and heated bed for J.D. I'm not saying I can afford them, but will be looking for deals?

Normally, all 3 litter boxes are downstairs, because my DBF does not like the litter box upstairs, but I sneak one up once in awhile. Ginger will use the one upstairs (when it's there), but J.D. will usually get inside it and then change his mind and go downstairs to the litter boxes down there, anyway. A lot of the times, after J.D. has used the litter box downstairs, he races back up the stairs, like he's all happy. He seems to have very strong well developed and wide chest (front end) muscles and small hips.

I would also like to check out an elevated food bowl holder. I have tried looking for them, and do not see what I want. What do you use put the food bowls up higher?

I hope everyone is enjoying their day. Off to feed the squirrels..and such.
 
Re: Happy Thanksgiving - J.D. AMPS 394, +2 334, +2.5 228

I'm glad to hear the adequan is working for J.D. I'm pretty sure I've mentioned it before...we give the adequan to Mario as a SubQ shot as opposed to an IM shot, and it works just fine...Mario is more nimble now than he has been in many, many years. If the IM shots are causing J.D. to have sore muscles, I would seriously consider switching to a SubQ shot. I know a number of other folks here also do the adequan as a SubQ shot with great success.

Good luck with the Black Friday run. I don't have enough courage or stamina to even consider it!

Have a great day, Dyana!!
 
Re: Happy Thanksgiving - J.D. AMPS 394, +2.5 228, +5.5 144

Thanks Amy. I'll ask my vet about that, too.

J.D. and Ginger finished the last 1/3 of the FF Appetizer. I love the way they share. One takes a bite and then the other, and then the other. They're so good together.

J.D. just finished his 3rd Breffis, had a bath, and is back to laying in his too small cat bed.
 
Re: Happy Thanksgiving - J.D. AMPS 394, +2 334, +2.5 228

Happy Thanksgiving Dyana ,JD & furbabies!! Glad to hear JD is feeling good--
Moonie isnt on adequan, YET, as I am saving it for when she needs it more--As of now, she can jump on the couch, has steps to go on the bed, but jumps anyway, climbs up the cat condo, and is still pretty functional..
Glad it is helping so many--Have a beautiful day==Love & Husg from us!
 
Re: Happy Thanksgiving - J.D. AMPS 394, +2.5 228, +5.5 144

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving Dyana. J.D. has certainly had some great numbers, due to your dedication and devotion. It is great also that the Adequan is helping.
 
Re: Happy Thanksgiving - J.D. AMPS 394, +7.5 93, +9 95

So glad J.D.'s #s are better today! How 'bout those greens?

Have a good & happy day today.

Desi, Tawny, Tinkie, et al
 
Re: Happy Thanksgiving - J.D. AMPS 394, +7.5 93, +9 95

Thanks Desi. I hope you and all your gang are having a good day, too :-D
 
Re: Happy Thanksgiving - J.D. AMPS 394, +7.5 93, +9 95

a box with a nice cloth draped over it , until finances can afford more
 
Re: Happy Thanksgiving - J.D. AMPS 394, +7.5 93, +9 95

Wow! J.D. really dropped nicely today. I hope you are having a great Thanksgiving Dyana.
 
Re: Happy Thanksgiving - J.D. PMPS 247

Right now, I'd be happy if he'd eat better, with more gusto. He was fine this morning. I hope he's just stuffed from today.
 
Re: Happy Thanksgiving - J.D. PMPS 247

NOt a bad PMPS # this evening. I'm hoping for a nice, lower surf for you both in the near future. I hope that you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday! :-D
 
Re: Happy Thanksgiving - J.D. PMPS 247

Happy Thanksgiving Dyana!! I hope you had a great day. A walk with the kitties sounds relaxing. Thank you for stopping by our condo. Know that I count you in my blessings this year. We are heading out at 3. It is an annual addiction!
 
I begged and conned J.D. to eat his 1st Dinner, and he hasn't been interested in cat food, since.
I just tried to feed him his 2nd Dinner and he would have nothing to do with it.
He's had bites of rotisserie chicken, and lots of cat treats, and consumed 1/4 can of human tuna, and just now finished the tuna and went over and took a couple of bites of the cat food. Yay.
The main reason I'm doing the Black Friday thing, is the PetsMart sale. My cats have always been given a wide variety of FF flavors, and we have been feeding from only 3 flavors for about 6 weeks or so, and I'm afraid my cats are getting bored of it. I hope they'll eat more, once we're back on the wider selection of flavors.

I hope everyone has a good night
sleeping.gif
 
Happy Thanksgiving...I hope JD will eat better tomorrow!!! And clear his bounce.

I just put Gus's dishes on overturned plastic zip loc containers. Just buy the one that is the height he needs. I have all the water dishes on them, too. Cheap...not pretty but no one really sees them but us.

Have a great evening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top