Gus not feeling well as I increase Levemir

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Gus

Member Since 2010
I haven't finished posting these numbers to Gus's spreadsheet because I've spent my free time today writing an email to my vet about what's going on. I've just posted them below. We finally started getting good numbers - although I didn't get many mid point numbers so I have no idea if Gus dropped too much, but he has been feeling worse with each dose increase. I was afraid he had developed ketones, but he was negative after two tests with a new bottle.

This is the same problem we experienced on Lantus! The better his numbers got, the more tired and lethargic he was plus he gained a lot of weight - some of which he has lost.

Does anyone know what is going on??? I'm thinking that the synthetic insulins aren't agreeing with him, but I can find very little information about this.

I'm on thyroid medication and suffered terrible -very visible - side effects for 2.5 years from synthetic thyroid meds, but hey, my numbers were great. Numbers don't always tell the whole story. It wasn't until I started taking natural thyroid that I experienced no more pain or horrible side effects. I'm just wondering if it is possibly the same with insulin? I'm so frustrated now and getting very little sleep.

I'm considering taking him to Dr. Graves in Chicago if my vet can't figure this out. It isn't that my vet isn't good, its that Gus is just so complicated. Please keep in mind - we don't want tight regulation because of his other problems. I'm just trying to figure out if these insulins are making him feel bad and what to do if they are.


Sept30
AM: 352 BG .5 Units +9 - 347 BG
PM: .5 Units

Oct 1
AM: 496 BG .5 Units
PM: 438 BG .5 Units

Oct 2
AM: 246 BG 1 Unit
PM: 371 BG 1 Unit

Oct 3
AM: 220 BG 1 Unit
PM: 340 BG 1 Unit +6 - 222 BG

Oct 4
AM: 219 BG 1 Units
PM: 342 BG 1 Units

Oct 5
AM: 370 BG 1 Unit
PM: 330 BG 1 Unit

Oct 6
AM: 418 BG No Insulin hold retest +4 - 510 Increase to 1.5 Units +6.5 - 326 BG +10 - 315 BG
PM: 1.5 Units

Oct 7
AM: 252 BG 1.5 Units
PM: 400 BG very high No Insulin worried about somogyi effect

Oct 8
AM: 476 BG 1 Unit
PM: 388 BG 1 Unit +4 - 374 BG


Oct 9
AM: 312 BG .75 Units
PM: 430 BG 1 Unit Skinny +4 - 345 BG


Oct 10
AM: 420 BG 1 Unit
PM: 450 BG .5 Units

Oct 11
AM: 480 BG .5 Units
PM: 420 BG 1 Unit

Oct 12
AM: 470 BG 1.25 Units
PM: 347 BG 1.25 Units

Oct 13
AM: 380 BG 1.5 Units - doesn't feel well +5 - 329 BG gave Buprenex and Pepcid +11 - 210 BG Playful this evening and running
PM:250 BG 1.25 Units

Oct 14
AM: 410 BG 1.5 Units +11 - 258 BG
PM: 1.5 Units

Oct 15
AM: 406 BG 1.5 Units
PM: 340 BG 1.75 Units

Oct 16
AM: 273 BG 1.75 Units seems very lethargic and not feeling well.
PM: 275 BG 1.75 Units wish I had gotten a midpoint reading. Gus tried to get into the kitchen cabinets during the night. He only does this when something isn't right. I don't know if he went too low because it was just about 3 hours before I tested him in the AM and he was at a safe number of 240.

Oct 17
AM: 240 BG 1.25 Units +8 - 400 BG +11 - 307BG +13 - 399
worried about him going too low while I'm at work so only gave 1.25 Units. Gus is really not feeling well. Hiding under the bed.

PM: 1 Unit

Oct 18
AM: 428 BG 1 Unit still not feeling well - looks tired or sedated.
PM:
 
My vet responded and wants me to keep Gus at 1 Unit of Levemir twice a day and do a long curve on him - about 18 hours. She suspects his curve is long and slow - as I noticed his lower numbers come at the tail end of the curve - not the middle.

I feel badly for Gus regarding the upcoming curve as his ears are already sore, but we have to get this figured out. I wish we had Star Trek medicine that didn't require poking with needles. There just seems like there should be a pain free way for testing :(
 
It is pretty hard to tell what is going on without the mid cycle tests - so the curve will help. He seems to be acting like he might be dropping and bouncing high. I hope you get some numbers that tell you something.
 
Thanks Sheila. I'm doing a curve either Sunday or Monday. Our vet wants us to be at 1 unit twice a day for 5 days before the curve so that there isn't any fluctuation in the dose. I hope we are able to get it figured out.

He is feeling better with the decreased dose - although not great because his preshot number is in the low 400s - but again, we will know more once the curve is done - at least I hope we know more because the stress is killing me.
 
Rachel,

My Pumbaa is like Gus: when his BG numbers are higher, he just doesn't act right. He's lethargic and a bit cranky and tends to go hide in closets, etc.

Hope the curve gives you some better information about what's going on with Gus.

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top