guardedly optimistic....

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
We had a yellow preshoot today, albeit a 297, I’ll take it, it’s a move down!!!

Hopefully increasing our dose to 1.6 will be helpful.
Fingers, toes, and everything else crossed. Anti jinx, touch wood, etc.

Now I’m going back to bed for another hour or two. It’s been a rough week :-D
 
I really hope this works! Nice yellow preshoot. Love the fingers crossed, anti-jinx, knock on wood, spin in a circle three times...LOL :lol:
 
Wonderful New! I told you I would increase!!!! :lol:

dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat GO Asher!
 
We rose at least to 383 at +8. Will prob get one more test in before pmps. Do we hang another cycle or two to see if this works? Raise again?
 
I would stick with it tonight, and see if it repeats. It makes no logical sense. Unless he drops between now and shot time, because that would be a very obvious inverse curve if he goes back to 300 or lower like he started.
 
Sounds good Carl, thanks. We were gonna hold again tonight just to see what’s up. This is why his numbers are driving us nutz, it just makes no sense and follows no pattern he has had before.

And I suppose if we have a real obvious inverse curve we’d probably have to look at reducing?
 
donnahc said:
And I suppose if we have a real obvious inverse curve we’d probably have to look at
reducing?

That's the theory. I learned with Cass that 1 inverse curve means mothing-repeated ones mwan you need to.reduce. Cass generally throws one with an increase, then settles.
 
Typically we have had to hold a dose for while to see if Asher likes it. All bets are off now tho.
 
Yes, the normal advice on inverse curves is reduce. One inverse curve doesn't sway me, but if it keeps on happening, something ain't quite right. Also, I think when you raise, or lower, because of something wonky like this, it makes sense to make the adjustment somewhat significant. I don't know how much you can find out fairly quickly if you do like a .1 or .2 adjustment. My theory is that as long as the data shows you have "room to move" up or down, then a dose adjustment intended to "fix" something needs to be a big enough adjustment to illustrate that the right direction has been chosen.
Of course, it's specific to the kitty and the current dose, so a case-by-case basis. In this case, if I were to advise a reduction from 1.6, it would be to 1.2 or 1.0. That degree of dose change should indicate within a cycle or two that "down" is the correct direction.
The mid-cycle lows would be the indicator, to me, of how big an increase makes sense. If they are yellow, a bigger increase can be tried than if they are blue, for instance. Usually I look back at a month or so of the spreadsheet to see what seemed to work or not work. But with Asher, and Shakes as well, with all the recent upheavals and their worlds turning upside down, the "old data" isn't as helpful as with other kitties, you know?

Carl
 
Carl, I’m gonna test Asher at 5:30, a half hour before his pmps, incase I have to wring my hands over a decision on what to shoot tonight. Basically do I have an inverse curve again and will take him down to 1 unit, or do we stay the course with the 1.6 for at least another cycle.

Asher is on my desk now “helping”. (looking for white Apple cords to bite and naughty things to get my attention)
I just put a bird video on for him :)
 
lol, I went wireless keyboard and mouse because of the link between kitties and cords that move!
Bob enjoys sitting on the screen porch for the live action squirrel shows. And at night he occasionally talks to a possum that walks by. I think he's saying "hey, you have to be about the ugliest cat I've ever seen!"
I'll be around when it's hang-wringing time.

Carl
 
Thanks Carl. I really appreciate that.

We have two videos Asher likes on my desktop computer, a birdie one and a squirrel one. And the cats like watching the real critters out the windows too, but the videos get his attention when I need him to stop being naughty.
 
So here was our day on 1.6:

Amps 297, +5 353, +8 383, +11.5 376

Any suggestions? Hold? Reduce? Drop back and punt?
 
Nice Asher.... make it really clear for us! OK, it's not obviously inverse. Pretty much flat since +5.

I vote "hold" to see if anything different happens tonight. If so, good. We'll have an idea what to do, which way to go. If not, then we'll just know it isn't working, and we'll have to figure out which way to go, up or down. Hoping he'll finally tell us which way he picks.

Carl
 
Thanks Carl. That's what we're gonna do. 1.6 again. I appreciate you hanging around to take a look and help us out.
 
Donna,
If nothing different happens on 1.6 tonight, I'm leaning towards dropping tomorrow, like I posted earlier, to like 1.0 and see what Asher thinks about that. A big enough difference in dose to make an impression. Easier to drop a good bit even if his numbers go up, than to increase a good bit and have him all of a sudden respond.
My 2 cents....
Carl
 
I agree wholeheartedly Carl. I will be up to test tonight to get an idea of what is going on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top