Great numbers, lower dose? Need advice!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
Squallie stayed low pretty much all day yesterday, after his high start. And his numbers through the night were awesome. But now I'm concerned that 2 units may be too much for him. Last night I gave him 1.25 and he did well, should I lower this morning's dose, as well?
 
Last edited:
I don't know about Vetsulin. But, I do see that yesterday during the day, he had some nice numbers.
 
Again, I don't know about Vetsulin, but as long as you can be around to test and monitor, and have supplies, I would keep doing what you've been doing and try to get those nice numbers again.
Did you have trouble entering that 1.25 in the PS column for last night's dose?
 
Morning, Lucy.

I see Squallie had a nice dip into the lagoon overnight. Great that he didn't head for the stinky pinks! :D

You must be very tired, Lucy, after that monitoring marathon last night. Did you get any rest at all? I'm wondering how you're going to bear up over the next 12 hours.


Mogs
.
 
Again, I don't know about Vetsulin, but as long as you can be around to test and monitor, and have supplies, I would keep doing what you've been doing and try to get those nice numbers again.
Did you have trouble entering that 1.25 in the PS column for last night's dose?
I did, I seem to have frequent trouble with the SS, especially in the comments section, but I don't know what I'm doing wrong. Very frustrating.
 
Sometimes, making the column a little wider will help you to add more characters like the 1.25.
 
Morning, Lucy.

I see Squallie had a nice dip into the lagoon overnight. Great that he didn't head for the stinky pinks! :D

You must be very tired, Lucy, after that monitoring marathon last night. Did you get any rest at all? I'm wondering how you're going to bear up over the next 12 hours.


Mogs
.
Hi, Mogs! Yes, he had a wonderful night! I slept in between tests, and I may have a little catnap sometime today. I went ahead and gave him 1.5 units this morning, hope I did the right thing. I don't want him to go too low and start having bounces into the stratosphere, but neither do I want to give too little insulin and not bring his numbers down enough. Sometimes this is just a guessing game!
 
Sometimes, making the column a little wider will help you to add more characters like the 1.25.
I've tried that, it worked for me once or twice but now I don't seem to be able to do it. Any ideas/instructions will be greatfully appreciated!
 
I went ahead and gave him 1.5 units this morning ...

Ack! :eek:

Oh, well. Can't get the insulin out again. Monitor him very closely, Lucy. He could drop hard again like yesterday. Be sure to test at +1.5 or +2 at the latest to get an idea of where the cycle is going.

I was going to suggest you drop the dose back to 1.0 or even 0.5 units; reasoning being that now the kibble contraband is completely out of the picture it looks like Squallie doesn't need very much insulin.


Mogs
.
 
Ack! :eek:

Oh, well. Can't get the insulin out again. Monitor him very closely, Lucy. He could drop hard again like yesterday. Be sure to test at +1.5 or +2 at the latest to get an idea of where the cycle is going.

I was going to suggest you drop the dose back to 1.0 or even 0.5 units; reasoning being that now the kibble contraband is completely out of the picture it looks like Squallie doesn't need very much insulin.


Mogs
.
Thanks, I will monitor him very closely! I can't believe what a difference his change of diet has made, it's just incredible! To think that he spent a couple of weeks on 7 units, it just blows my mind!
 
I can't believe what a difference his change of diet has made, it's just incredible! To think that he spent a couple of weeks on 7 units, it just blows my mind!
It is really incredible, isn't it, Lucy? :) That's why I wish that more veterinarians would teach us - from the get-go, even when a pet isn't diabetic - that in a very real sense, food IS medicine (or anti-medicine, when we feed the wrong stuff/ feed in the wrong amounts). I would think that there would be far fewer diabetic cats & dogs as a result! (Of course, that would require that our vets better educate themselves first ...:rolleyes:)
 
Good stuff, Lucy. I'll check back this evening on the two of you. (Had a bad night so need to try to get some rest this p.m.) Be sure to post for help if you need it. Keep an eye out for Squallie getting noticeably hungry. Test if he does.


Mogs
.
 
Good stuff, Lucy. I'll check back this evening on the two of you. (Had a bad night so need to try to get some rest this p.m.) Be sure to post for help if you need it. Keep an eye out for Squallie getting noticeably hungry. Test if he does.


Mogs
.
I will, thanks! I hope you're able to get some decent rest! :bighug:
 
It is really incredible, isn't it, Lucy? :) That's why I wish that more veterinarians would teach us - from the get-go, even when a pet isn't diabetic - that in a very real sense, food IS medicine (or anti-medicine, when we feed the wrong stuff/ feed in the wrong amounts). I would think that there would be far fewer diabetic cats & dogs as a result! (Of course, that would require that our vets better educate themselves first ...:rolleyes:)

It's just amazing! What an education I've gotten since Squallie was diagnosed! It's terrible, you know, all the years you think you're doing the best you can for you're beloved pets, to then find out you could have been causing them harm instead. It's really not difficult to understand, low/zero carbs for cats; I don't understand why vets don't seem to know this! Seems like a very basic concept to learn, should be one of the first thing taught in veterinary school!
 
Hi Lucy,

Another sterling job on the testing today. :)

FWIW, if Squallie were mine I'd drop the dose down this evening. Indeed, if he's any way low at pre-shot, I'd probably skip (especially as you must be so very tired by now). If those nadir numbers were for Lantus, I'd feel OK if it were my cat, but because Vetsulin is so harsh they would make me nervous because there's little or no wiggle room from a safety perspective. For example, if Squallie were to eat a little less the 1.5 might take him too low. Remember, too, that Squallie seems to run lower at night.

My suggestions. Other members may have a different take.


Mogs
.
 
Hi Lucy,

Another sterling job on the testing today. :)

FWIW, if Squallie were mine I'd drop the dose down this evening. Indeed, if he's any way low at pre-shot, I'd probably skip (especially as you must be so very tired by now). If those nadir numbers were for Lantus, I'd feel OK if it were my cat, but because Vetsulin is so harsh they would make me nervous because there's little or no wiggle room from a safety perspective. For example, if Squallie were to eat a little less the 1.5 might take him too low. Remember, too, that Squallie seems to run lower at night.

My suggestions. Other members may have a different take.


Mogs
.
Thanks , Mogs. That was kind of my thinking, too. But I'm not sure he'll be low tonight at pre-shot, I just checked him and he's up to 146 and I have no doubt that number will continue to climb. I do his PMPS test at 8:00 (my time) and I will post his numbers here.

Did you manage to get any rest today?
 
If he is a bit higher at PMPS there might be a bit of a bounce in that figure. I'd still urge caution.

I had a very quiet afternoon, Lucy, thank you for asking. :) I'm about to sign off again in a few minutes because I'm completely exhausted. I have chronic fatigue problems due to the PTSD and I've really been trying to do more that I should on here recently. Paying the price for it big time ... :(

I hope that yourself and Squallie have a smooth and uneventful evening (and I hope you manage to get some kip!).


Mogs
.
 
Okay, just did Squallie's PMPS test nd his BG is 197 . I definitely don't want to give him 2 units tonight; last night I stalled for about 25 minutes and ended up giving him 1.5. Should I stay with that, or go a little lower still? Any advice is much appreciated!
 
Last edited:
Hi Lucy,

With the way Squallie's coming down the dosing scale you can put paid to any idea of giving him 2 units - it's WAY TOO HIGH A DOSE for him now. At Squallie's current, much improved numbers I think 1.5 units is too high for Vetsulin (for the reasons I stated earlier - too much risk of going too low). If he were mine and I was able to monitor all night tonight, the maximum I would give him is 0.5 units. That said I'm genuinely quite worried about you, Lucy, because you haven't been getting much rest. You've been on the go solid for 36 hours plus. If I had been monitoring Saoirse that closely for such a protracted period then, since I am a very conservative person when it comes to insulin dosing, I would probably skip because I'd worry about falling asleep and not catching a low.

@Sue and Oliver (GA) - Sue, can you suggest a course of action for Lucy?

.
 
Hi Lucy,

With the way Squallie's coming down the dosing scale you can put paid to any idea of giving him 2 units - it's WAY TOO HIGH A DOSE for him now. At Squallie's current, much improved numbers I think 1.5 units is too high for Vetsulin (for the reasons I stated earlier - too much risk of going too low). If he were mine and I was able to monitor all night tonight, the maximum I would give him is 0.5 units. That said I'm genuinely quite worried about you, Lucy, because you haven't been getting much rest. You've been on the go solid for 36 hours plus. If I had been monitoring Saoirse that closely for such a protracted period then, since I am a very conservative person when it comes to insulin dosing, I would probably skip because I'd worry about falling asleep and not catching a low.

@Sue and Oliver (GA) - Sue, can you suggest a course of action for Lucy?

.
Thanks, Mogs. I have to admit, I am tired. I set my alarm to check on him every two hours thru the night, so I'm catching naps in between testing. I worry all the time about his BG going too low, but I also worry about not giving him enough and his numbers going back up into the red.
 
@Sue and Oliver (GA) - Thank you for popping onto the thread. :)

I also worry about not giving him enough and his numbers going back up into the red.

Lucy, Squallie's need for insulin is steadily reducing at the moment. Now that the contraband kibble is dropping out of his system his pancreas is getting a chance to rest. Too much insulin is the worry now, not too little.

You may need to reduce the dose again tomorrow.

.
 
Yay, Squallie is doing so well! I also like Mogs's idea of 0.5, along with some sleep for Lucy. You *have* to take care of yourself too, Lucy! Let us know how it goes.

(Mogs, you also need to go to sleep!)
 
@Sue and Oliver (GA) - Thank you for popping onto the thread. :)



Lucy, Squallie's need for insulin is steadily reducing at the moment. Now that the contraband kibble is dropping out of his system his pancreas is getting a chance to rest. Too much insulin is the worry now, not too little.

You may need to reduce the dose again tomorrow.

.
I know, you're right. Sometimes I just get caught up in worry and can't see the forest for the trees, as my mother would have said.
 
Just about to take a sleeping tablet to try to shut down my banjaxed brain. (I am beyond exhausted, but it won't let me sleep.) :(
@Critter Mom - Sweet dreams, Mogs!:bighug:
@Squalliesmom - (Speaking of sleep, I just woke up.:p) I think you got some great guidance here on the dose tonight from Mogs & Sue; while those are lovely greens today,Lucy, that was a steep drop from AMPS in today's cycle. Considering the diet change (which is obviously working beautifully), I think he'll do fine with the suggested lower dose ... and really, you do need to get your rest! :bighug:
 
@Critter Mom - Sweet dreams, Mogs!:bighug:
@Squalliesmom - (Speaking of sleep, I just woke up.:p) I think you got some great guidance here on the dose tonight from Mogs & Sue; while those are lovely greens today,Lucy, that was a steep drop from AMPS in today's cycle. Considering the diet change (which is obviously working beautifully), I think he'll do fine with the suggested lower dose ... and really, you do need to get your rest! :bighug:
Thanks, Robin. I concede, lol, 0.5 it is for Mr. Bear tonight! And you're right, I really do need some sleep. :) :bighug:
 
Thanks, everybody, for all the good advice and support. I feel very lucky to have a network of great folks like you to help Squallie and me through this, I can't imagine what a basket case I would be if I had to go it alone (and my beloved Squall could be no longer with us, scary thought!) Just want all to know I really appreciate it! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top