Great News ! Phoenix 81 AMPS

Scdal

Member Since 2020
I am so grateful for all the good news the last few weeks. I took Phoenix in for his annual checkup. The vet and I agree that it is dangerous to sedate him for blood work. We almost lost him twice under sedation due to breathing issues. I had a squeeze cage modified by a welder that I took to the vet. They were able to get blood out of his leg without sedating him.

All his blood work came back great. Even his BG was only 209 during his stressful vet visit. He does not have acromalagy.

Today, his AMPS finally dropped to 81. I went ahead and gave him his 10 units of insulin. 30 minutes later, his BG was 93 and after an hour, it was 135.

I am not going to decrease his insulin dose just yet. I am so grateful for a little good news. This last year has been terrible. I really hope that all of our kitties have great health and a lot of love this year.
 
Did the vet send the blood to Michigan State? If so, did they test both for acromegaly and insulin auto-antibodies?

I would really like to encourage you to gt a before bed test every night. It looks like Phoenix is bouncing. There's no way to know how low he went last night given the lovely green AMPS.
 
What was the IGF-1 test value you got? Good to hear the vet thinks the test was negative.
 
Back
Top