Grayson's scary LOW day!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grayson & Lu

Member Since 2012
After a week of pretty much staying blue & green (only 3 yellow tests!), Grayson has thrown me quite a curve since this morning. Scary lows! :shock: He's safe now, but suffice it to say, no shot any time soon! I'm hoping this is the SRT kicking in - and full blast at that! Here's how it's played out (his battery died in ACA meter, so I was using Bayer for a few days... continued with both for Wednesday):

Grayson's LOW LOW LOW event

Wednesday, April 24
AMPS 126 Accu-Chek Aviva/97 Bayer Contour; shot 32u
+4=127.111..
+8.8=98.80...
PMPS=100. 86 shot - reduced to 30u
Thursday morning, April 25
+7.5=46.31.. (5:52 am)..
+8.3=57.39..
+10.1=68.48
+11.7=40.26.. (shot time 10 am - NO SHOT)
+12.7=47.26..
+14=69.53..
+15.8=83.. (just Accu-Chek)
+16.3=79..
+19.5=77.. 24 hours of green numbers
(if you don't call last night's 100/86 preshot blue!)

Grayson is VERY verbal tonight. Wish I knew what he was saying!!! Maybe that he's ready to go OTJ??? :mrgreen:
 
WOW!!!! Go Grayson GO!!!

One of these days someone needs to come up with a translator app for cat to English, although there are a few days I'm sure I don't want to know what mine are saying or I would have to wash their mouths out with soap.. :lol:

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
When I looked more closely, I realized he had a catnip sock in his mouth. He's always verbal with catnip toys... but doesn't play with them unless he feels good... so a chatty kitty is a feeling good kitty!!! :-D
 
Glad to hear that Grayson is feeling good and playing with his catnip toy. With those low numbers, you may be right about him trying for OTJ status.

Keep up the good work and keep us updated.

{{{{Hugs to you on those low numbers}}}. They can be scary.
 
I concluded my "do not shoot number" tonight is 125....and then an extremely reduced dose. +19.5=77; +20.9=97; +22.2=115, so we're well on our way. His appy has been reduced, but then again, he had 3 cans of food before 10 am too! Poor baby!!! When we first switched to Lev, about 11 months ago, he averaged 12 3-oz cans/day. These days it's more like 4 - so it's not a stretch that he felt like a stuffed piglet this morning. I'm keeping an eye out that the poop is moving. I'm afraid one of his sisters may have eaten the food with Miralax in it! :shock:
 
Wowza!

Maybe that IGF-1 pump just got shut off. Do they ever go suddenly OTJ after SRT? What's your new, reduced dose?

Yay for talking. I love when they carry on conversations. I'm always replying, "I know all about it", cause I really have no clue!
 
I got wild and shot last night at +24.3=137 (that was WITH food on board). Shot 7.5u - a 1/4 dose for him!

This morning he was 186, so I upped to 10. With Acro's, it's felt to be safe to return to the last good dose following a skipped shot, but after yesterday's wild ride, I'm gonna climb up a little more gradually! He's stayed pretty flat most of the day. Will get a +9 shortly, which is usually his nadir +/-, so we'll see where to go from here. Once we get to better/safer numbers we'll see if he's had an overall reduction. I'm pretty confident that will be the case. That's kinda how the last sizeable decrease happened. I expect him to wobble somewhat. When I look at Sooty's spreadsheet (who went OTJ 26 weeks following SRT), I see they wobbled some... I'm sure after such high doses as they have, it takes a little longer to settle into the new lower numbers & doses.

The other thought is that the insulin resistance has broken through. I've heard & read about it, but it's still kinda foreign to me. But yesterday's numbers are a perfect example of how it could have broken. I mean, he's been pretty close to the same dose for the majority of time since November! And SUDDENLY he responds like that? Clearly SOMETHING has changed. But he's not talking... except to his catnip sock! :lol:

A safe numbers day is a good day! Here's to many many more!!!
 
So after a week of low doses and low to high numbers, we've climbed back up... not quite to his full dose when he had the LOW LOW LOW event, but almost. Today I even broke out the R. I know he can do well... it's just a matter of catching him before he starts to spike again. Hoping he'll settle in consistently again - and REAL soon!
 
It's called "sputtering" of the tumor, and yes, others have seen this too. I was hoping it would begin stair-stepping down, but not so lucky. He's back at 32 and pretty much staying blue - which is considered by some to be the "Acro Green". ;-) He's doing well in the blues, and when I look at his meter and the 7-14-30 day averages, he's right around 200 for all three. Prior to that, I've seen his 7 day to be as low as 93!

He's enjoying some down time and fresh air. A BEAUTIFUL day in sunny Carolina!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top