Grayson 7/4 - 7/5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grayson & Lu

Member Since 2012
Happy 4th of July all -

After yesterday's high red 489 AMPS, Grayson has brought it back down and thrilled me with a 308 this morning!!! Woo Hoo!!! Shot 12.0 ... just a slight increase as he only got down to 280 yesterday. Lowest nadir (8 cycles at 11.0) was a 185 on Sunday.

Hoping he responds to fireworks noises similarly to the thunderstorm Sunday when he surfed for about 4 hours in the blues & low yellows! Tonight after the fireworks the "houseguests" return home to their peeps. I have to say, my cats aren't the least bit bothered by the 2 big black labs in the house - even when one is a bit wild & crazy! And my Jack, who usually tires of having a rambunctious visitor, has been in constant "wrestle-mania" mode! I think he's actually gonna miss having his buddy around! Lucky for him, they'll have more opportunities in the coming days & weeks.

Good numbers to all!
 
Re: Grayson 7/4

AMPS 308 (2 cans)
+4.25 355 (2 can food spike)
+6 303
+8 309
PMPS 356 (2 cans)
+4 309 hmmm... maybe insulin kicking in??? No food spike

Not a whole lot of movement today; I'm hopeful I'll see some tonight - unless the meter is just STUCK at 309! :o . Setting the alarm for a +8. Good night!
 
Re: Grayson 7/4

Happy firecracker day Grayson! party_cat I'm in the closet hiding. I'm scared....I keep hearing boom, boom. I was outside with mom & dad, but I heard a loud BOOM so I ran to the door & cried to come inside. I think something might have been after me. :o Mom said it wasn't good for me to be outside anyway. She said it will raise my BG. Whatever that means.
Grayson you have some lower numbers. But I know you....you are still seeing you know who...at you know where.... cat(2)_steam aren't you?
I better go mom thinks I'm sleeping :lol: She will get mad if she finds out I posted. She said I can't now that you moved. Well maybe she won't find out since you aren't in the same room as us anymore.
Bye Grayson....talk to you soon. ;-)
 
Re: Grayson 7/4

Thursday July 5

AMPS 391
+6 249

Much better than yesterday!!! Hopefully I'll get by for another spot check between +8 and +9.
 
Hi Heather -

I didn't realize that since the change to Lev, I really had, for the most part, been following the TR protocol. So it's not a big shift. There are a lot of Lev folks there that post, so if you prefer more traffic, that might be an option for you & Sneakers as well. Either way, Donna & Asher just started Lantus, and Denise/Shakes and Libby/Hershey are posting there, despite using Lev. It's also an opportunity to meet some more kitties & their beans. Wherever you post, I'm sure I'll see you, as I still pop in at PZI and Lev at least once a day. Gotta keep up w/ our IHOP buddies!!! :lol:
 
We are posting on Lantus TR to get us started but I check on you guys here and on PZI. Now we have 3 forums to read! :shock: But 3 forums of great folks that love the kitties, so it’s all good :-D
 
I might do that then. I think I am on a somewhat tight regulation with Sneakers. I don't think I test enough to be completely TR :lol: .
 
I'll still post here, too, for a while. Until school starts I don't have a lot to do at work (sshh!) so I can spend time on the board during the day.
 
We are getting good info and trying to be supportive on all the boards. This one included. We have made friends that have moved all over so even if we weren’t posting somewhere regularly, I’d still check out all the ISGs.
Thanks Sheila for all you do here!!!

(didn’t mean to jack your thread Lu)
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:
I will be sorry to see either/both/any of you leave lev.

Sheila -

Didn't mean to bail on you. I'm still not posting much, so it's not like I'm looking for that much traffic. With the upcoming SRT, I thought I'd get around and intro myself some more. Unfortunately, I really haven't had/taken the time to do that! I actually put together a 2 page diatribe that I shared via e-mail w/ my work, church, and general friends about what will be taking place. I've been surprised by the people I've reconnected with! (and in some cases, the ones I haven't!).

Sometimes I just feel like I'm out here treading water in a really big pond all by myself. I know that's not really the case, but sometimes I struggle with it. There's a song from the old movie Flashdance that sums up my mindset - Out Here On My Own - don't know why THAT song, but it comes to mind as my emotions are really running wild with the gravity (?) of what we are about to embark on. Sound crazy?

I would welcome you (and others) to look at my SS and see if the pattern of 100 point ranges between AMPS and PMPS (3 of the past 4 days) bugs you like it does me. In Prozinc, when that happened, you might shoot the same doses at either +10/+14 OR you might shoot 12/12 but do a lower dose for the lower preshot, to try to keep the numbers consistent. That doesn't seem to be an option w/ the shed. Any thoughts?
 
Well, if he weren't an acro, I'd say try reducing the dose just a tad to even out the numbers, but he is acro so I don't know if that will work. Plus, his lower PS number isn't that low.

Jeddie would sometimes get into a mode where he was upper 200s at one PS (usually night) and low 100s at the next one. I found reducing the dose helped to even things out. Otherwise, I was shooting a reduced dose in the morning about every other day, which only makes the next PS higher. It sort of keeps the pattern going.

Maybe there is something about his night vs. day patterns that cause this to happen (less food at night maybe?).

When is his SRT happening?
 
Hi Sheila -

You are probably right on the "less food overnight" concept. I will be getting an auto-feeder, but right now focussing my resources on SRT, as well as a few other things they're gonna check out while he's under... so I know my cost is gonna be greater than the estimate. We fly Sunday. So, right around the corner! Tracy & Leo will be there at the same time, although we'll be staying at different places. We'll meet either Sunday night when they get in, or Monday morning at 8 am. Looking forward to that!

The concept of what to pack, what to carry on, and what to buy there is mind-numbing. Tracy said Leo's gonna take up the SUV and her stuff will be on the roof! I can't quite bring all that, so I've got some creative ideas, and some that I'm borrowing from others who've done the same thing. Hoping all goes smoothly. It will be my first time flying Southwest. American has direct flights from Raleigh to Chicago, where I'm from, so I've not expanded my horizons on other airlines for probably 10 years (unless there was a significant savings in the ticket!). Anyways, it will be Grayson's first (of probably many) flights. Looks like he'll get to go to Grandma's instead of the dogs, unless I drive. Then they can all go! I don't think he'll care for 20 hours in the car w/ 2 dogs - he may decide that a 2 hour flight isn't so bad! :lol:

I haven't decided if I'll blog, just post here, or do a mass e-mail out - or maybe a combination of them. I've still got 3 days to decide! All the "heavy" work-related things are done, so at this point, it's just prep for our adventure... Thanks for checking!
 
Wow, yeah that is right around the corner. Hope all goes well with travel and procedure. I would not want to trade a 2 hour flight for a 20 hr drive, but I also would be nervous about flying a cat anywhere. I guess it happens all the time - just not to my cats.

I'll have to tell my sister about it. She had SRT (or whatever they call the human version - gamma knife?) a few years ago after the tumor drew back after being surgically removed. She used to follow the high-dose/acro group here, but I don't think she has been on line if quite a while after losing her FD two years ago.
 
Wow - the gamma knife - that's what one of the other cats had done, up in New York. Can't remember -was it Sooty (Perry & Cathy)? I think so. Anyways...interesting that they're done on both!
 
Grayson may be one lucky kitty, but he's got an emotional WRECK for a mommy! I think the combination of everything has just pushed me over the top. I YELLED at some of the cats tonight. I remember doing that one other time. YELLED - like top of my lungs! They ran like hell! I think I scared them as much as they were the straw that broke the camels back. Clearly - what a mess!

On top of wrapping stuff (most of it, anyway!) up at work, and assembling all the stuff for "carry on" and "checked bag", last night I borrowed a friend's Furminator comb. The intent was to brush out Dom before his bath (he & Jack will be going to camp - gotta smell pretty for our friends!). I never did Dom, but did most of the cats. Yep, after the bathroom trash can was full, I figured that was sufficient to reduce the increased number of hairballs we've been experiencing. Most of the cats were VERY receptive to it, but when I brushed Sandy, a cute blond boy who prefers hanging out in the spare bedroom, he clearly wasn't feeling well. And he looked bloated. Oh geez... First thing this morning I called the vet. They said they could see him as a drop off, so I did that. En route, he coughed with his whole body and I thought it might have reached a critical point. I took him in, explained what had just happened, and stressed the need for sooner rather than later. I went to my dr. appt, then back to the office and waited anxiously. Turns out he had a urinary blockage. He was in a LOT of pain. So he's spending the night at the vets with a bag of fluids and a catheter. Poor baby looked MISERABLE when I went in to see him after work. He was in the "cell" w/ a lampshade on his head, and the 2 bags (one up - flushing; the other one down - draining). So far so good. Depending on how he is tomorrow, he'll either come home before lunch time, or he'll stay through the weekend. Not sure which would be better, as I leave Sunday morning, but other than the person to check in on everyone and turn out the boarding dogs, no one is there. When he comes home, he'll be on Clavamox liquid BID... so petsitters just got extra duty! I'm wondering if maybe he'd be better off going to someone's house in a dog crate w/ litter box.... a decision for tomorrow, nonetheless.

I've tried changing up Grayson's feeding schedule. He'd still prefer 1 can per hour, every hour, but tonight he was so anxious, he worked his BG almost 200 points in 3 hours! He does NOT accept 2 half cans of Fancy Feast to be adequate between shots! But I was tickled to have him at 200 at +9.25... wish I knew how low he'd actually gotten!!! Tomorrow maybe? We'll see! Surely he's been seeing some blues lately... just not showing them to me! ;-)

Will try to be better about posting. I think once I get there, I'll have more time on my hands, and less distractions/responsibilities other than watching him, so hopefully we'll be able to give some good updates on what's happening. Thank you all for your support and encouragement!

Lu-Ann
 
I hope Sandy is better and can come home tomorrow. Is there someone that can take him while you are gone? I would hate to leave him unattended after a blockage. Wish I were closer to help.

ETA: the 200 is awesome. Are you anticipating a 123 on the 18th or something? Look at his SS.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:
I hope Sandy is better and can come home tomorrow. Is there someone that can take him while you are gone? I would hate to leave him unattended after a blockage. Wish I were closer to help.

ETA: the 200 is awesome. Are you anticipating a 123 on the 18th or something? Look at his SS.

Going in momentarily to pick up Sandy. I leave in the morning, so after that, he may stay with a friend w/o dogs or cats to have a calm place... and regular checks. Jury is still out on that one. He's gotta pee or he goes to ER vet tonight. Hopefully he'll pee!

The 200 was excitable!

As for the 123, I was testing the SS to make sure it was still color-coding. That's the last line, so if I add lines, I add above that. I'm STILL learning ropes w/ Google SS - I'm an old Excel geek!

Keep your fingers crossed for Sandy. I know he'll be glad to come home... vet said he just about pulled the catheter all the way out last night. Sounds like something I would've done under the same circumstances! ;-)
 
Fingers & toes crossed for Sandy.

I would say that if you have a friend that can take him, let them. It would be safer and less of a worry for you while you are gone. Bad timing - but that's the nature of things, isn't it?
 
Still have a hundred things on my to-do list, but wanted to update on sandy... he's home and feeling better. He's peed!!! He seems to be feeling much better already... even purred for me at the vet's office. Still touch & go, so I've got to monitor the LB, but he's in a big dog crate right now, so that'll be easy. More later.
 
Sending safe travel vibes to you and Grayson. :YMHUG: It's so nice that Tracy and Leo will be there too.
Update us on Grayson's progress when you can.
All the best,
Marcy & Klinger
 
It's after midnight and tomorrow morning is coming early... but just a last minute thing.... Grayson is all packed and ready to go... got him a new harness tonight that fits much better... no running through the terminal "OJ style" chasing a cat! :lol:

Sandy is home and is using the litter box. Looking good right now... hopefully equally as good in the morning. I saw him staring at the Kitt N Kaboodle the same way Grayson looks at it... but so far, he's eating the Royal Canin Urinary, so fingers crossed! No trip to ER vet!!! Yippie!!!

Good night all -

Lu-Ann
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top