Grayson 6/11 - fur shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grayson & Lu

Member Since 2012
UGH!!! I used to blame Grayson's high numbers on fur shots, although I'd never seen a wet spot on his fur. Since the Insulin Resistence dx, I've re-thought whether or not they really were fur shots. Well, this morning.... NO DOUBT! It was on him, on my hands, on the table... and alot. I tried shooting on his tummy skin (actually his side, where it's growing back from the ultrasound), and had an "in & out". I've also never smelled the insulin before - and apparently neither had he, cuz he looked around and sniffed it!

Was shooting 4.5u, and although it's never encouraged to re-shoot, I gave him a token dose of 1.5u. There's no doubt that at least that much came out, probably more like 3.5 or 4u. Will check him at lunch.

So this makes 2 consecutive pink preshots. i'm pretty excited to NOT be seeing red or black. Here's a brief recap:

Sat
AMPS 436 Shot 4.0; fed t-2 [Fancy Feast Classic Turkey & Giblet - 2 cans]
+3.25 374
+6 339
+7.5 384; fed c-1 [Fancy Feast Classic Chicken]
PMPS 421 Shot 4.0: Fed t-2
+3.75 401
+5.25 365; fed t-1

Sun
AMPS 436 Shot 4.0; fed c-2
+5 365
+9 326
PMPS 342 (!!!) Shot 4.0; fed t-2
+4.5 401

Mon
AMPS 387 Shot 4.5 (fur shot) Shot additional 1.5; fed c-2
 
Have you considered shorter needles? When I used 1/2 needles I had quite a few of those in/out fur shots. Very frustrating. I'm sorry that happened, but at least you'll know where the reds come from today and probably tomorrow.
 
I'm surprised you never smelled the insulin before. I always over draw then shoot it out in the sink to get rid of bubbles. That stuff stinks! LOL!
 
UGG!!
I am so with you!
I do the all the way through fur shots a lot
when I shoot on my hand then I reshoot...
and boy does Lev smell (worse than PZI!)
I just started sniffing shakes after I shoot to see if I could have missed...
He looks at me as though I am freakin nuts!!
Well......now that I think of it...
oh well, hope he doesnt go too high for you tonight!
 
It appears that the token 1.5u addition was a good choice. At lunch today, (+6) he was 351. As a comparison, Fridays AM+6 was 347 and PMPS was 396. Keeping my fingers crossed!

I'm still learning the ropes of Lev and the shed, so I'm guessing within the next day or so I might see something... but maybe he'll hold about where he's been. I guess I'm fortunate, he doesn't seem to spike up much at the end of a cycle (not even on ProZinc) - he never did the bouncing so many others experience. Not to mention he's never gone Hypo either (insulin resistance at it's finest! ;-)

Will keep you tuned in as I have internet service...

BTW - that WAS with the short needles! I tried to shoot him in his belly, which apparently the skin is a little thinner there, although I thought I had a nice little tent... apparently not deep enough!
 
Grayson & Lu said:
BTW - that WAS with the short needles! I tried to shoot him in his belly, which apparently the skin is a little thinner there, although I thought I had a nice little tent... apparently not deep enough!

:lol: :lol: Thanks I needed a laugh!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top