Grayson 2/13 - another long song!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grayson & Lu

Very Active Member
Good morning all... Grayson is on a mission for something to eat... food or chicken treats would suffice. He and Paulo were guarding the peanut butter jar I put the treats in, after the last time they partnered w/ the dogs to get the ziplock container off the counter and opened. He thinks he can get his mouth around the PB jar! Silly boy!

Recap: Saturday morning we began a 24 hour dance after shooting .75u. Everyone said cut the dose - so I did. Sunday we started off with what appears to have been a fur shot and we walked on the high wire for 12 hours w/ .4u. I thought I slept through Nadir last night (which I probably did), and expecting a big 400 this morning, I was surprised to find his +11 test was only 152! Wish I had some more pokes on my curve to know how low the limbo pole was actually set, but he's not talking. I'm doubting he'll see a shot this morning - unless there's a big rise in the next hour or I can come home to check him mid-morning. >4u AND still a long song. Go figure! But not a bad place to be!

Have a good day all!

Lu-Ann
 
Looking like he has decided to work with us!

Yes, I would skip. And again, your pmps is likely to be high as he will have been 24 hours without insulin and he may bounce if he went low overnight, but I would reduce again. Looks like the boy wants OTJ. (anti jinx). At some point, you may need to mini dose, which plays havoc with the schedule but is the road to remission.
 
I thought I had missed his nadir - but turns out it was around 8:30 this morning.

Shot .4 u at 715 pm yesterday
+2.75 316
+4.25 254
this am no shot:
+11.5 152
+12.5 123
+13.0 119
+13.5 129

I'm LOVIN' these low numbers! But still baffled by the long cycles... even after cutting the dose nearly in half!
 
So you didn't shoot this morning, right? If so, the insulin is long gone and his pancreas is working here. One way to be sure of that is to test, then feed and then test again in 30 minutes or so. If the number goes down, his pancreas is helping out.

This is GREAT news!
 
Heading home to do just that... he will be THRILLED!!! This morning he only ate a tiny bit of his leftover (2nd) can from last night. Probably not even a tablespoon!

Not making reservations yet... but I've been hoping for a nice trip to the falls! :-D
 
So here's the latest numbers, taking Sue's advice:

Sunday PMPS shot .4 u at 715 pm
+2.75 316
+4.25 254
Monday NO AMPS:
+11.5 152
+12.5 123
+13.0 119 Fed leftover 1 Tblspn FF "I'm STARVIN' HERE, Mama!!"
+13.5 129
+18.5 109 Fed 1 can FF (Nadir somewhere around here)
+19 126
+20.25 177 Finally he starts to climb...

Only thing I did differently this last time was where I shot him... in the leg, where I'd trimmed off a piece of matted hair. He seemed to mind it a little - usually he barely notices the shot. Other than that, he's still on the "extended play" version - even with half the dose. Thoughts?
 
So your normal shot time would be in 2 hours? He will probably be in the 200s by then and he is definitely rising. So the only other variable is that he got a long duration off the last shot of .4 That tells us we don't want to shoot that much again. I would try feeding him a little bit again and see if he goes down.

When the pancreas is influencing the numbers, the dosing becomes much more delicate.
 
After seeing Sev's spreadsheet (on Jax thread), I hope that that's the direction we're headed. But not counting my chickens QUITE yet!

I'll be headed home in 1/2 hour; PMPS test at 7:15 +/- pm EST, so 3 hrs.
 
Well. IF we get a similar pattern to last night - you got a 454 and shot .4 and then got a 24 hour cycle. Tonight's number is about the same. I would reduce by half to .2 in hopes that your amps is shootable and you get a decent 12 hour cycle. It may be too little, but it was too much last night.

Does that sound okay?
 
Yes. In some cats, it does seem to help to move away from the scruff. In others, it seems to make no difference. Looks like it might for Grayson, or it might just be that he has decided to speed up this dance.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top