Grandpa - First blue on Lantus. Middle of night.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beck and Philly

Member Since 2018
I was up late and thought I'd do one more test. I was shocked to see 183. He's been in the 400s for awhile and I was glad to see some 300s today. I like seeing blue, but it's a little scary to go to sleep now in case he drops more. I gave him some Friskies pate to hopefully keep him ok.
 
He's still got a long way to go before he'd be in danger.

You might want to get a +11 or +11.5 in the morning though just in case you need some time to get some opinions on dosing in the morning (just in case he continues to drop)

The snack will help keep him from dropping too much more and it's getting late in the cycle

Of course you can always test again if your gut tells you to!!
 
I was up late and thought I'd do one more test. I was shocked to see 183. He's been in the 400s for awhile and I was glad to see some 300s today. I like seeing blue, but it's a little scary to go to sleep now in case he drops more. I gave him some Friskies pate to hopefully keep him ok.

We all feel that way...wait until you get a 'green' - you'll just about have a heart attack!:eek::eek: A 'what do I do now' kind of feeling!:woot: Exciting and scary at the same time...just like a roller coaster...get ready for the ride!:D:D
 
Thanks! He was in the mid 300s at AMPS and now back to the mid 400s at +2. The first few days on Lantus had him pretty flat, but now we're seeing swings again. It makes it hard to know if I should increase his dose or not. I wish I knew how much normal function he has with his pancreas likely compromised with the clusters of masses.
 
Ah yes the first blue or green. We are use to pinks and reds and desperately want the blues that when we first see them we boost them to keep them from dropping. And when you have to shoot that blue your on edge all day ready with the syrup if they do much as drop one point. Welcome to the helicopter parent club. Now is when you start having chocolate, booze, cookies, ice cream (not necessarily in that order) in the house for the beans.
 
Ha!!! That made me grin this morning. You're so right! Normally I look for reasons to have all those things, but in this case I'd eat a salad to avoid worrying about the old dude... and I hate salad!
 
I'm posting in here since it is your today's condo now. If you are happy with your SS, then it's all good.

Here's your last condo for continuity. We recommend you link to the last condo in today's condo.

You are starting to see some movement. Did you mention what you were doing.. TR or SLGS? Whatever you choose, it'd be a good thing to have in your signature. :bighug:
 
I am hoping to do TR, but I need to see how he reacts. He has been diagnosed with pancreatic cancer, and the vets don't know if it's possible to get his numbers under control since we don't know what affect the masses are having on his function. I decided to do 1U of Lantus for a week and ask the folks here for thoughts on next steps once we have data. My syringes with half unit marks got here yesterday so I'm better prepared to increase dose.

Thanks for the responses and help so far.!
 
I am hoping to do TR, but I need to see how he reacts. He has been diagnosed with pancreatic cancer, and the vets don't know if it's possible to get his numbers under control since we don't know what affect the masses are having on his function. I decided to do 1U of Lantus for a week and ask the folks here for thoughts on next steps once we have data. My syringes with half unit marks got here yesterday so I'm better prepared to increase dose.

Thanks for the responses and help so far.!

May I ask, is he going to have surgery for that diagnosis? Poor little thing :( :( :(
 
May I ask, is he going to have surgery for that diagnosis? Poor little thing :( :( :(
No. They recommended euthanasia back in June since what they saw on three separate ultrasounds was deemed inoperable. When we declined euthanasia, one vet recommended no longer treating the diabetes since his time would be so short anyway. We went along with that for a few days, but he was crying for food and acting like he does when his numbers are too high. We started his insulin regimen (2U Vetsulin at the time) again and started using advice from folks here.

The vets aren't much help because they have no idea how he is still alive and thriving. He is still eating, playing, jumping on things, etc so we are celebrating each day and doing what we can to keep him feeling good. Luckily my favorite vet is used to me taking on seniors with terminal health issues and helping them with living rather than focusing on the end. She is willing to help me try new things even when we've gone beyond what she knows to do. I love that lady.

We just switched to Lantus since it's reputed to be more gentle and hopefully even out the wide swings we were seeing. We just don't know what's possible with anything we do so we're winging it with guidance from you all and from the old guy himself.
 
The vets aren't much help because they have no idea how he is still alive and thriving. He is still eating, playing, jumping on things, etc so we are celebrating each day and doing what we can to keep him feeling good. Luckily my favorite vet is used to me taking on seniors with terminal health issues and helping them with living rather than focusing on the end. She is willing to help me try new things even when we've gone beyond what she knows to do. I love that lady.

Thank God he found YOU!:woot::woot: There's a kind heart, if I've ever heard of one. Sending many blessings, hugs and healing vines to you and Grandpa!!!:bighug::bighug:
 
Ah yes the first blue or green. We are use to pinks and reds and desperately want the blues that when we first see them we boost them to keep them from dropping. And when you have to shoot that blue your on edge all day ready with the syrup if they do much as drop one point. Welcome to the helicopter parent club. Now is when you start having chocolate, booze, cookies, ice cream (not necessarily in that order) in the house for the beans.

I would add some Netflix series marathon or catching up with movies you haven't seen.

Any way Babu and I are huge fans of Grandpa and his mom and are sending you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Pretty soon you'll be craving those blues instead of nervous when you see them. :cool:
It makes it hard to know if I should increase his dose or not.
Actually, it's pretty easy. Just follow the guidelines of the dosing method you are using. Hold the initial dose 7 days if SLGS, 5 days if TR - in order to build the depot. You are almost there. Next, look at what do do for increases. A blue says 0.25 unit increases, no matter which dosing methodology. SLGS says to increase if nadirs are above 150 - which they are so far. TR says to increase until numbers mostly in normal range. So, both methods say increase, unless you see a lower nadir between now and the time of the increase.
 
Thanks all for your support and advice today. I think we will increase to 1.25 tomorrow.

For now, we bid you all goodnight!
20180802_231251.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top