Gracie: AMPS 78 Worried No Shot Given

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi-

Gracie tested (and retested) at 78 this morning. She has been on the gluten free FF since yesterday am. I am worried because since she has been diagnosed, she has never been this low. PS has varried between low 3' to high 2's. (Please see spread sheet).

I am taking a few hours to stay home and keep an eye on her. Should I be concerned about heading into a Hypo?

Please advise...

Thanks!
 
Hi just wanted to say good morning!!, since you didn't give the shot you may not need to worry about hypo but I would retest in half an hour to see if she has gone up. I am only into this a month and a half so I can't give much advice but that is what I would do! I am sure someone will come along to help you! Have a great day! :-D
 
Good morning. I don't think I have posted in your condo so welcome. :smile:
Usually when a number is too low to shoot we have 3 options.
1. Stall, DON'T feed and retest in 30 minutes.
2. Shoot a reduced dose
3. Skip shot.

The reason we don't feed is so that you are not getting a food spike number when you stall.
Is it possible for you to get spot checks at night. It would give you a better indication of why so low at AMPS.
 
Good Morning-

This is actually my first post in LL...

Unfortunately, I fed her before thinking. I am tring to corral herr for a retest again.

Will let you know what happens. :)
 
Welcome to LantusLand.

Umm..... Sorry if this sounds awfully basic but if you didn't shoot insulin, Gracie can't hypo. So take a deep breath and relax. I don't think you have the data to shoot this low of a number so skipping was probably a very good idea.

Miriam gave you good information for the future.

At this point, it's looking like even at initial diagnosis, Gracie had some good numbers when the vet was running a curve. What that tells me is that you need to get spot checks on a much more regular basis. Pre-shot tests are important for reasons like this morning. However, Lantus dosing is based on the low point (nadir) of the cycle. Without those spot checks, you will not know whether you need to change Gracie's dose.

Also, you noted changing some of Gracie's food. Is she now on a LC diet? What was she eating previously? If you have just switched around her food, it's even more important to get spot checks in since a diet change will effect her numbers. There is a link in the Tech Center for completing a profile. If you could complete that, we won't have to keep asking you info about Gracie's history (medical problems, food, etc.)
 
The food change made a huge difference in Tugger too. I was blown away. I'm watching him *very* closely right now. I should say "we" are watching him because while I may be doing the actual testing, Sienne and a few others are really guiding me on what to do and when to do it and how to do it =)

The spot checks are super important right now. By doing them, I caught Tugger dropping into the high 50's, I would have missed it if I was only checking pre-shots. I was too nervous to let him go lower that day so I fed him to bring it up a bit for my own sake. I think if I hadn't been so scared we could have let it go and probably had a reduction. But I'm gaining confidence every day that we do this and the folks here totally have my back, so I feel ready if he decides to drop again =)
 
Welcome M May and Gracie! You will get great advice here. I have followed everything the experienced people here have told me to do and my cat, Stu, is benefiting greatly. Gracie will, too!

Ella & Stu
 
Some good info/questions from others.. so I'll just briefly touch on a couple of things I don't see mentioned yet..

Yesterday you commented on your spreadsheet no more "snacks" when gracie is hungry, is this refering to high carb snacks that you are taking out of the mix? Just wanted to make sure you know that when your cat isn't regulated, they should be given food (low carb of course) whenever they are hungry (except the 2 hours before shot time so you get food free numbers to base shot/no shot on). Good job in skipping this mornings shot btw! Home testing is so important.

Also, expect Gracie's numbers to be high today and try not to get upset about it.. it's a normal reaction because of lower than what she is used to numbers this morning and the skipped shot.
 
Dawn & Nova said:
Yesterday you commented on your spreadsheet no more "snacks" when gracie is hungry, is this refering to high carb snacks that you are taking out of the mix?

Hi!

Yes, thank you, I should have clarified, no high carb snacks. Hate having to keep her separated from everyone else, but it's a work in progress. Wish the other heathens weren't so pushy about her food!

I was pretty psyched when I checked this evening and she tested at 285. Ok, I'd rather even lower, but given my meltdown this morning, it was nice to see a number I was used to.

Thank you to everyone for talking me off the ledge. I know I'm making mountains out of molehills, but it is terrifying when you are running blind. I am looking forward to seeing the new vet later this week. :)
 
Glad to see things are better for you, don't worry you are not making mountains out of molehills! I do it every day! Ha! You are doing great and I promise it gets easier!!!!!!!
 
I think we all probably make mountains out of molehills where our furry babies are concerned. Things will settle down and you will get a handle on it all before too long =) It's a heck of a ride though!
 
Just remember that molehills are mountains to ants...it's all perspective, right? There will come a time when you find that you'll be sad to see the 200s...and you'll know your perspective has changed. Experience changes perspective, and experience only comes with time.

You'll be fine. We are all managing this, and I know you can too. :-D

Best-
Michele
 
welcome to Lantus Land!

Can you get a test before bed tonight? That will help you know if Gracie is going low again overnight, or if this morning was a one time thing. There is hardly even such thing as a one time deal, so it's good to get in the habit of doing the before bed spot check every night, so you're not faced with a big surprise in the morning. Now that you have changed foods, Gracie's insulin needs might change dramatically.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top