Good thoughts for my Smokey - home from the U, great results

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melanie and Smokey

Member Since 2010
We just left Smokey at the vets for a dental and have them try to find out why she is losing her voice and we could use lots of good thoughts and prayers that all goes well.

Her voice thing has me worried. Beginning of last week we had her in for her senior wellness, get her home and her cry sounds horrendous. Took her back in for a quick look the next to see if something is iritated, but nothing found wrong by exam. Its not clearing up so I decided they might as well get the dental out of the way so they can look while she is under. It worries me that a mishap during the exam or just irritation should have been getting better and there is something more serious going on. My girl LOVES to talk and hearing that pitiful sound for the last week breaks my heart. nailbite_smile
 
Re: Good thoughts for my Smokey

Sending prayers this is resolved easily. I know how scary this is.
Thoughts and good wishes for Smokey.
jeanne
 
Re: Good thoughts for my Smokey

Are you saying the voice think started on the day she was at the vet? What all did the vet do?
If she was fine before the vet visit and not fine right after it, I'd be asking the vet what happened.

Best of wishes for the dental; I am sure she will feel much better with the dental done
 
Re: Good thoughts for my Smokey

Not to borrow trouble for your Smokey, but my Smokey's throat tumor....one of the
symptoms was voice loss.

Praying for your Smokey.
 
Re: Good thoughts for my Smokey

Melanie, I sure hate to hear about Smokey's problems.

If she was fine when you took her in i would be wondering what happened too.
When my Smokie was about a year old i took her to the Vet and one of the helpers put a
leash around her neck and chocked her pretty bad. She was never the same after that
happened.
Hope all is well for Smokey. I will pray for her.
 
Re: Good thoughts for my Smokey

Thank you all for the great wishes. This appointment had me very worried. The dental went well and she is raising a hoarse ruckus in the living room right now. They looked at her throat and the right side of her laranyx is enflamed. We are starting on ABs to see if that will clear it up, and if not will probably get referred out for a biopsy. They did do a slide swipe of the gunk from the tube today and were looking at it when we got there to pick her up, but nothing had stood out as wrong yet. They didn't expect much, but it was more of a look at what they had to see if anything really crazy was going on in the cells. I did make them do chest and stomach Xrays while they had her, but they couldn't get to the throat area tho because she was fighting them - she had really low bp during the dental so they didn't want to keep her under for the Xrays.

You can bet your butt I was back into that office the day after the appointment asking what happened when she was fine when I took her in and her first rough cry was within a half hour of getting home. It was a more thorough senior workup so they had her in the back room for over 20 minutes out of my sight. When the vet asked the techs, I am pretty sure their answer was not applying to Smokey. We had Smokey in in the AM and Taz in the afternoon and Taz was the only one signs of a leg draw for blood, yet the said they didn't take blood from Smokey's neck, they took it from her leg. But, I don't know what they could have don't to cause this. ?? Even if the needle in the neck for blood draw went wrong, the vet said she's never seen any bad side effects like that. We've been in with the 3 cats 7 times in the last 11 days so I can see the techs being confused @-)

Karen -that is my biggest fear. Cancer just took our baby in September so I am seeing tumors in every corner.
 
Re: Good thoughts for my Smokey

Melanie. Just a few months ago, I would not have thought of a hoarse voice as being a symptom of a problem with the throat, but I have learned from this board that it is. It is good that you are being vigilant about this. I think the treatment protocol is sound.

Please keep us updated. I know what you mean about seeing tumors in every corner. I will soon be taking Ennis in for X-Rays because his BG levels/insulin dosage are staying too low for him.
 
Re: Good thoughts for my Smokey - off to the UofM for her

So after a week on Clavamox and no improvement in her voice, we have an appointment at the UofMN for the 3rd to have someone more specialized look and see what's going on. I didn't like putting it off that long, but that's the soonest hbby could go. I am not looking forward to that car ride since she barely tolerates the 3 minute drive to the vet and has never been in a car for longer, let alone 3-4 hours.

Her dental went well and she is loving her new pearly whites. Her BG tested in the 70s a couple days ago so that looks nice. Now we just need to get her voice back to normal.
 
Re: Good thoughts for my Smokey - off to the UofM for her

Hi Melanie,

I had Whiskers at the U of M last month, and the people there were awfully nice and very experianced. Whiskers had a mass on her leg, and the vet thought it was cancer. I was pretty upset. The U of M has a psychologist you can talk to if needed. I did and she was very supportive and helpful.
It turned out Whiskers mass was just scar tissue from an old injury. It was such a relief, but pretty scary until we got the biopsy results.
To make a long story short. Everyone at the U of M were really wonderful. I hope you
and smoky have good luck as well!
P.S. If you have time to pass here is a great pet food store where they make fresh raw pet food. They also have quality treats, supplements, all kinds of good stuff. http://www.woodyspetdeli.com/
The St. Paul store is closest to the U of M since it is on the St. Paul campus, only a few minutes away. Bring a cooler if you are interested in the food. This is what we feed all our pets and it really makes a differance.
P.S.S. I'm not a shareholder or anything like that, just love the place.
 
Re: Good thoughts for my Smokey - off to the UofM for her

I will continue to keep you all in my thoughts, Melanie. Please do let us know how your visit goes.
 
Re: Good thoughts for my Smokey - home from the U, great res

We just got home from 2 days in the cities, the UofMN was great again. They found all to be well in her throat and even decided to not biopsy because both the surgeon and the internal med doc felt confident that there was no sign of cancer. Smokey did fabulous, though she paced the hotel room talking all night so none of us got much sleep. We are on a new med Piroxicam (which I will be posting for any experience people might have with it) and are awaiting results on the test for the Herpes Virus as that is one suspected cause since Avie the new kitten came with it. After a very rough 5 months on all 4 kitties, I am very happy to be sent home seeming like an overly worisome, paranoid mommy.
<big sigh of relief>
 
Re: Good thoughts for my Smokey - home from the U, great res

Glad to hear you guys are home and nothing major's going on with Smokey's throat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top