good numbers for asher

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Very Active Member
Afternoon everyone!
We had some decent numbers to report today:

amps 261, +3.5 181, +7 100

Tonight’s pmps will be around 7-8 pm east coast time.

My partner Tom and I will tag team on watching him shortly.

Just wondered if anyone had thoughts or advise with our new numbers.

I also wanted to have a thread open in case we have questions later.

peace,

-Donna and Asher
 
Looking good! :thumbup I wonder if we dare think that his "pattern" is that it takes him 4-5 days to get used to a dose - or if that is pushing too far? Those are nice regulated numbers. Are you thinking you will stay with this dose for a few more cycles and see if he decides to go lower?
 
I Wish I knew enough to offer advice or opinions, but I don't.

Instead I'll offer a cheer for good numbers! Yay! :RAHCAT
 
Looking good.

I'm hoping you are at or nearing the fine tuning stages. This is where it really helps to have consistent dosing and to be able to work with small-ish increments. AKA I'm talking about using U100 syringes and doing the conversion [if you think you are up for it].

I like Sue's hypothesis - definitely something to keep in mind.

2u seems fine for now if you want to stick with fixed dosing.

If you were to go to something more "variable dosing" right now then I would probably stick with the 2u even though you had a rise from PS to PS [237 to 261]. Normally [ignoring the historic trend of higher AMPS] a rise like that in a variable dosing scenario might indicate the need to up the dose a little the next cycle - perhaps up to 2.1u. But, this is a cat that likes to go high in the morning so that complicates the variable dosing then and you might have to always look back to the previous PS 24 hours ago instead of the one just 12 hours ago to make any judgments as to more or less need. On the other hand the good news is that pattern seems to be less or absent the past days or so.

Sorry if that seem confusing, you can ignore if you like. I'm just kind of pointing a way [not the only way] forward for you now that it seems you might be entering into the fine tuning stages. If you are not already, experimenting with the feeding and getting it evened out and hopefully getting those AMPS and PMPS evened out in my brain might really help you. The optimization process and progress though the treatment is very much about fine tuning the routine - removing the variability and improving consistency so you can better tell what the different doses are really doing. Just basically finding out what works you you and your kitty and what doesn't. :smile: And sometimes "variable" dosing can be "YAV" [Yet Another Variable].

I'm excited for you guys. Good work. :thumbup
 
Thanks everyone! I think we are going to hang with this dose for a few days yet to see what happens.

He was a tad higher this morning at amps, 307, but still not as bad as previous high amps.

If it looks like he needs to go up in dose slightly after a few days, I am prepared with the U100 syringes and the conversion chart is printed out.

It seems to be helpful behaviorally and in his numbers by spreading his food out throughout the day. I still have to work out the auto feeder details for two cats when we get one. But when one of us is home during the day we have food out (we police who eats how much) and it seems less stressful for the cats and us for a variety of reasons.

I so hope these nice numbers stay with us. It is relieving to see some nice blue and even yellow :)

Thanks,

-d.
 
Wow! and an 81 +8 today. I shoulda tested more to see how that came about, but today got away from me....

-d.
 
But here’s the tough part with the low numbers.... We just tested him before we were going to feed his evening meal (+11.5) and he’s 118.
So I guess we have to wait to feed and retest a little later. I really hate to do a no shoot and screw this all up again.
Asher isn’t happy with us that dinner has been postponed... :o

If we do have to shoot a reduced dose, any suggestions?

Thanks tons,

-donna
 
Okay, just thinking out loud. I would certainly wait the 30 minutes and test again. But I hate to see you skip or shoot a token dose.

None of your recent nadirs have been dangerously low; they have been in the 80 - 100 range. This dose is really working well, and I am afraid if you cut it too low, you may lose what you have gained.

Will you be around tonight to test? If so, I guess it boils down to whether you are willing to take the risk of lowering the dose but not dramatically, and watching him carefully, with tests.

He's your kitty, not ours. This is the scariest part of this dance next to those first few days when you know nothing. Now you know stuff, but you can't be sure of what you think you know. :?

I hope others are around and will weigh in with their ideas too.
 
Thanks for your fast response Sue!

I so agree about loosing what we have gained by a no shoot. We will be around to test tonight so at the very least we will give a reduced dose if at all possible.

From Gator’s When you get low preshoot numbers link: "Roughly conservative guidelines for this would be to shoot at least 1/3 the dose you would normally shoot under 200 and at least 1/4 the dose you would shoot under 150. And by all means, as a beginner, do not shoot any insulin below a BG value of 100.”
What does that formula mean for us normally shooting 2 units?

The other variable in this is we switched meters a couple days back, and now have chosen to use the human meter( because of the test strips $). If you remember, this human meter ran lower than the vet meter in our comparison test. But I know we chose one meter and will stick with it.

We will test again in the next half hour and will post again.

-donna
 
Hmm, I might have to change that to 1/3 your LAST dose and 1/4 your LAST dose [which is seems in your case was 2u]. In your case, .6 or so U is likely to just be support.

I think I'll also add something about not having empirical evidence for the 1/3rd, 1/4th recommendation. They just seemed roughly conservative to me. Again you are the one holding the syringe - it is your choice to remain safe.

Not trying to scare you - just trying to be honest.

Waiting and testing is the preferred choice.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top