Good BG, but should I work on Great

Status
Not open for further replies.

Val9955

Member
I was instructed by vet not to give Spanky any insulin if his BG is under 250. If you take a look at Spankys' spreadsheet, he has not required any insulin for a few days. My question is: Are cats like humans, in that their fasting BG should be under 100? With his numbers being in the low 100s, should there be any attempt for them to be lower, ie low dose insulin?

I would like to thank everyone on here for their help. I have my frisky, playful, but tempermental furbaby back. Spanky is back to playing and chasing me around the house. He meets me at the door when I get home. I used to have to hunt him down and shake him to make sure he was still breathing. Spanky is back to being full of life, like when he was a kitten. Only issue, occasional loose poops from the wet food.
 
A non-diabetic cat is one that is consistantly under 120. A few will like to bounce around up to 150, but most cats that are not diabetic or are in remission will maintain numbers under 100 without insulin. Looking at your spreadsheet it looks like your numbers are working their way down there and Spanky may have a functioning pancreas.

Unless there were other medical issues, I would not listen to a vet that is happy with numbers "under 250". Not hometesting enough can be dangerous if you are shooting low numbers, but over 200 is a diabetic cat and still needs insulin.

Sounds like Spanky has regained his vigor and zest for life. That is often the most telling sign of them getting their BGs back under control.

If his numbers start to creep back up, I myself would consider some insulin support. But right now you might want to see what he can continue to do. Maybe get a few tests at other times of the day to see how food and other things can affect him.
 
When my Harry started otj his numbers were higher - under 200 but in the high range but in his case the longer he was otj the lower his numbers started going. Now he ranges usually between 70 and 110. It looks like Spanky is headed in the right direction!

Go Spanky :RAHCAT dancing_cat :RAHCAT
 
It is wonderful that he is acting like a happy kitty again.

Today the numbers were better. Our general numbers for a kitty OTJ without insulin are 40-120 with the majority of the time in double digits.

You have a couple choices. You can wait a while and see if his preshot numbers gradually get down a bit.

You can try feeding some extra lo carb foods to see if that makes a difference. (For instance, if you are feeding 8%, try 3-5% - staying away from fish more than about 2 times weekly) Raw is also an option for lowest carb. If you aren't feeding small frequent meals, that can help also.

The final choice is mini dosing which is possible with ProZinc. Here is the info on that stategy:

When your cat is consistently in numbers too low to shoot at shot time and in numbers in the 100 range and below during the cycle, you can consider micro dosing. This process should be guided on the forum by experienced members and will require more frequent testing.

You may be shooting at times other than the 12/12 schedule, when the blood glucose levels rise enough to require a small dose of insulin. You will need to pick a number somewhere near the 150 range at which you will plan to shoot, being sure that the number is indeed rising. The dose at these low numbers will vary with each cat and its patterns, so advice should be solicited. But you may be considering doses below .25 and even considering a “drop” of insulin. At this point, U100 needles and the conversion chart will be necessary.

Note that most people do not consider mini dosing unless the kitty hits the 150 range, which Spanky has not been in very often. If he is consistently running lower than that, I would not mini dose.
 
Thank you for the advice. I will attempt to test him more often. He is getting smart about when its time to test and sitting just far enough away from me that he can get away if I try to grab him. I was also trying to give his ears a break, I know they have to be sore. I cant find an picture that is small enough to add as an avitar, but the orange dancing kitty looks a lot like Spanky.
 
You might try neosporin ointment with pain relief. The ointment (just a thin smear on the ear) will help the blood drop bead up and the pain relief will minimize the annoyance of pricking
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top