Just to be clear; i didn’t decide his dose. That was my vet. I’ve never changed his dose myself. Vet bumped him from 2 to 3 units a month ago. Should i be giving 2.5 maybe?
We do not do huge dose increases here all at one time. To be safe, we do smaller increases of .25 units at a time and the same for reductions. Have you read through the dosing protocols? This will help you, and, of course, we can answer questions. With Lantus (and the other depot insulins.) it is important to try to be very consistent by giving the same dose morning and evening, unless a reduction is earned according to the rules. With SLGS, that would be if he drops below 90. You don't have much data on your spreadsheet yet since you just started it (good job on the tests, by the way). I would not be in a rush to increase his dose because you need to get in a lot more tests to determine what his onset time is (when the insulin starts to lower the BG) and when his typical nadir (lowest point in cycle) is. Dosing decisions with a depot insulin are based mostly upon the nadir so that we can be sure the dose will not take him too low (below 90.) Some consideration can be given to preshot numbers, if you get a really low AMPS or PMPS, but you have to look at the whole picture when considering those numbers (e.g., it is a bounce break, is it a late nadir.) Your goal with SLGS dosing will be to keep his BG between 90 and 149.