Going in the wrong direction …

Status
Not open for further replies.

josette

Member Since 2022
Every time I think Oscar’s numbers are steady we seem to be going in the wrong direction. Tomorrow he seems the internal medicine group cause I didn’t like my regular vet. Will see what they have to say.
 
I'd suggest rechecking urine for UTI. FIV+ with diabetes will make UTIs hard to get rid of. I'd suggest getting a urine culture done if he still has a UTI; and you may need a longer than usual course of antibiotics also.

Hope this helps :)
 
Oscar went to internal medicine group this week and they are switching him to Lantus. Waiting on prescription and new syringes. His BG was sky high there as expected. They liked my testing and doing a curve. They said his frotusamine test was good and he was doing good on Prozinc but will do better on lantus. They did a urine culture and no bacteria or infection. Just got a note from Chewy that his insulin will arrive Tuesday.
 
Lantus is a great insulin. what dose have they suggested?
If you could get some tests in during the cycle before you change to Lantus , that would be very helpful. A test around +4 to +7 will tell us how low the dose is taking Oscar.
 
She suggested 1U twice a day. It should arrive sometime tomorrow. Okay I will test today at +4 and +7. Oscar won’t be too happy. He was high this morning.
 
Normally when swapping from one insulin to another we suggest staying with the same dose. I think you would be better with a dose closer to 2 units. I’ll tag @tiffmaxee to see what she thinks.
thanks for getting those mid cycle tests in. They are important as they tell us how well the insulin is working and if it is too much or not enough. So try and keep getting at least 1 mid cycle test in every cycle

You will need to stay in the same dose of Lantus for 5 to 7 days unless the BG drops under 90 in which case you would reduce the dose by 0.25 units

Have a look at the 2 dosing methods for Lantus and see which one suits you better
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
Yes doctor said 7-10 days then do a curve. Will I notice any difference with the Lantus after dosing? Like will he act the same …….
 
He should act the same. You test, feed then shoot like you do with Prozinc. No need to wait in between.
Are you giving snacks during the cycles as well as the Preshot meals?
I would suggest giving the main meal before the shot then 2 or three snacks of a teaspoon or two of low carb food during the first 7 hours after each shot.
I would also recommend doing the tests during all the cycles that I suggested above. That way you will be able to see how he reacts to the dose.
If you are testing regularly you won’t need to do a curve as you will have data from every day which is much more useful than just one days curve.
If you are going to reduce the dose to 1 unit I would recommend you test the urine daily for ketones with a bottle of Ketostix which you can buy from Walmart or a pharmacy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top