Going crazy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marci and Buddy

Member Since 2009
Not been here since May... my Buddy was doing well but now for past few months i give him 1.25 u and his bg goes to 23 .
Give him .25 u less, and his #'s stay high around 200-300!!!
is it that the older cats get , the harder it is to regulate or be consistant? I know ECID but has anyone dealt with this ?
i just feel so bad for him- i have posted his months #'s in the hopes to start over with your help----thank you!
 
Marci, I'm not seeing what you are seeing. True he has dropped to 20s on 1.25u - and then rebounded up to 300s and 400s at the next preshot, but there are still pretty good nadirs on the fat 1u. He had that 92 at +9 a few days ago. I see a few days with spot checks where he only got to the mid 100s and the past two days have been high, but not a lot of spot checks either to know exactly where he went.

I see that you went from a "f1" to 1.2 - I assume f1 means fat 1 unit, right? Do you have a sense of what that actually is - like 1.1 or something? I have seen a difference in .1u at the lower doses - under 1.5u or so. See how the 1.2 works after a few days and get some spot checks.

I will say that Beau's numbers seemed to do the same thing where .5u was too much and .4u seemed not enough. He would drop to the 30s on .5u and stay in the 300s on .4u. It was very frustrating! I ended up guessing that he was rebounding on .4u and that .5u actually broke through the rebound and dropped him very low - but not always. I started lowering his dose in .1u increments and his numbers got better and better.

I would say that if the 1.2u dose gives Buddy high, flat numbers with or without an occasional drop to the very low numbers, he may be rebounding and need 1u or something like .9u (skinny 1u)
 
Hi Marci,

Good to see you here on the Lev board.

I am not one to give much in the way of dosing suggestions as my PK does precisly what you are saying Buddy is doing now- I've tried changing food, food timing, dose, dose timing, food and dose, and food and dose timing every which way and it seems my boy just needs to stay a tiny bit higher to stay "regulated". As little as .2u south and PK plummets to 20 then sky rockets to 400, so....raise it .1u and he stays between 100 and 300ish ( food spike)

However, I see that your sugarsnack has given you very good easy predicatable numbers over a great period of time...having stuff missing between "then" and this month, I can only assume things were well enough and similar until recently?

If that is the case, if it were me I'd be looking at other sources like teeth health, food ingredients, environmental stressors, introduction of new cleaning chemicals, or any hidden illnesses like kidney/bladder stuff. If it is in the budget, maybe a blood profile and quick check up at the vet is in order?

If all else checks out and numbers continue to be disconcerting for you, it might be that your Buddy needs a longer settle time before moving doses. Again with PK, he often takes up to 12 cycles to show the true settle.

In any event, keep us posted and check back for the others to be posting soon...the board moves slower on weekends/holidays, but others should be along to chime in eventually.

Hang in there! ;-)
 
So nice to hear i am not alone with this frustrating situation...was thinking i am doing something wrong....good idea to get his blood levels , since it has been a year ago last time. nothing has changed in the environment or elsewhere,guess its just his body.thanks again for the replies...will keep updating,hopefully get back on track .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top