? Goal for upcoming 4-day weekend?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Desi Mom

Member Since 2021
I have Thursday and Friday off from work this week (have to use up some PTO time), so I have a 4-day weekend where I am going to be around home most of the time. Originally, I was thinking I would raise Destiny's dosage to .75 this weekend since I would be around to monitor her closely, but the last couple evenings she has been dropping into the greens at her regular .5 dose, so I am no longer planning on doing that.

She has gotten to the point where she just lays down when I am pricking her ear, so I am now able to prick both ears and alternate between the two, so I have been able to get more readings. I think I will try and get some odd number readings (+3, +5, etc.) since I have many even number readings, but not many odd. Other than that, is there anything else I should try to accomplish during this 4-day weekend?
 
I see you are Following SLGS
I am going to tag a few members for you to confirm this , as I see it when following SLGS any time you kitty drops below 90 you would reduce by 0.25 which Desi has on 8-24 during the night cycle
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
@tiffmaxee

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

@Chris & China (GA)

@Christie & Maverick

@Bandit's Mom

Thank you ladies
 
Last edited:
If I may make a suggestion....

You may want to review the sticky notes at the top of the Lantus board. There are two approaches to dosing -- Tight Regulation and Start Low Go Slow. Picking one and following those recommendations will give you a set of guidelines to use. The dosing method will help you to sort out whether or not to increase. You may also want to start posting on the Lantus board. Everyone there uses glargine and there's a great deal of experience and expertise available to support you.
 
If I may make a suggestion....

You may want to review the sticky notes at the top of the Lantus board. There are two approaches to dosing -- Tight Regulation and Start Low Go Slow. Picking one and following those recommendations will give you a set of guidelines to use. The dosing method will help you to sort out whether or not to increase. You may also want to start posting on the Lantus board. Everyone there uses glargine and there's a great deal of experience and expertise available to support you.
Thanks Sienne, I only asked because I see on her SS she is following SLGS
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
Last edited:
Oops. Sorry. I added it to my signature.

In the future, I will start posting to the Lantus board instead as well.

What if I keep her at .5 over the 4-day weekend since I will be able to monitor her closer and if she keeps having those evening drops below 90, reduce the dose on Monday morning when I have to go back to the office all day? She is hanging out in the blues and yellows too much and not getting enough greens. Or am I being too impatient waiting for results? (I am not the most patient person.)
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top