Glucose Testing HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.

MURPHYSMOM

Member Since 2014
I don't know quite how to or could not search for a Glucose testing topic, but I am having serious trouble even with the videos Ive seen or the tips Ive read. Poor Murphy had so many pokes tonight in quite a few different spots with ears warmed and Neosporin, but no blood. I used the flashlight and saw where I must have hit his ear vein once or twice, but I just cant do it. He does not sit still or lie still very long. How am to do this? I wish the docs could have shown me and watched me do it a time or two. My poor guy is becoming and ear pin cushion. Does anyone out there live near Round Lake, Illinois? HELP please.
 
Hi Donna and Murphy, welcome to the forum! I'm fairly new here as well, but I saw your post and wanted to stop in and say hi. Congrats to you- Home testing is the best thing you can do for your kitty! And don't be frustrated if the first few attempts are unsuccessful, it gets easier each time. First of all, relax and breathe! Very important that Murphy doesn't sense any fear or panic or frustration. Do you have treats for him? My Tiger loves Pure Bites, freeze dried chicken pieces, they are like kitty potato chips to her and once she learned she would get treats, now she is waiting for me to test and give her shots, I kid you not! I never try to hold or bundle Tiger when I'm testing. And at first I had her food dish in front of me with her eating out of it and all I would do is practice rubbing her ears. And give the treats every time. Now like I said, she's waiting for me, sitting in the kitchen on her pillow pad, it will get easier for you.

P.S. You might want to check the "Question Mark" Icon on your original post to get more attention. Hope you can find another member in your area to help, or a vet tech at your clinic.

Have you seen this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_zE12-4fVn8
 
wow, that video was great. I am currently using alphatrak 2 which has a lancet inside oh jeepers what do you call it??? I take my own blood sugar too with my own machine and cant think of what it is called. anyway, maybe I could just use the lancet (small needle) to prick the ear instead if trying to hold the whole darn contraption against murphys ear. might be easier or do I need to ask vets permission 1st?
 
I had to google what an Alpha Trak meter looked like, those test strips are uber expensive!! :shock:

I don't use the pen that came with my meter. I just take the lancet thingy and stick Tiger's ear with it. No, you don't have to ask your vet's permission for this, or anything really, after all, they work for you!
 
Thanks. will give it a try. The vet made me feel as if I had no choice...had to get the Alphatrak from them, had to order syringes from them....all at a marked up cost of course. I just donated Murphys old Insulin (vetsulin) and left over syringes to save-a-pet in grayslake, Il. They were thrilled to get the stuff. When its time to reorder I will look elsewhere than the Vet for insulin and syringes.
Thank you again for your help.
I hope Murphy stays as still as the cat in the video! :-)
 
That was so nice for you to donate the old supplies! You shouldn't feel compelled to buy from your vet, especially that meter! Did you say that you have a human glucometer that you use for yourself? If you do, that can be used on Murphy. Most of us here use a human glucometer, it's a whole lot less expensive! Not that I am a fan of Walmart, but I have a Relion Micro meter, the test strips are $29.00 for 100. For the other supplies, have you checked out American Diabetes Warehousehttp://www.adwdiabetes.com/pro ... e_5891.htm ? A friend just showed me this site called Mr. Rebateshttp://www.mrrebates.com/ , that you could register onto, and then you get money back when you order through their vendors. These are for syringes, lancets, etc.
 
Yes they said it was a no, no and the readings wouldn't be accurate cuz the alphatrak is the only one calibrated for dogs and cats.
It all happened so sudden and I felt I had no choice even tho I explained to them about the website and the other meters.
I still was unable to get any blood from murphys ears last night and tried again 3 times this morning. I know he is not feeling well, but it could be his allergies as his eyes are pinkish. I just called the only vet 2 min from here that is open and asked if I could bring murphy in so they could show me how to do the test right. they were the one to org diagnose him, but now we are at The Cat clinic which is not open. Anyway, they said sure bring him in and it will only cost $80.00
I am at my wits end. I put the air on as it seems to help us both, but I am so upset I cant get the reading done. He just started PZI last week and I am to be monitoring him, but cant get the sample.
 
If you absolutely must.get.blood, aim for the vein. It may bleed profusely, so be prepared to blot.

[Incorrect assumptions removed by Moderator]

We suggest using an inexpensive human glucometer with pet-specific reference numbers. One many of us use is the WalMart Relion Confirm, or Confirm Micro, which is also sold at American Diabetes Wholesale as as the Arkray USA Glucocard 01 or 01 Mini (same manufacturer - Arkray USA). It uses a tiny blood droplet and the cost is significantly lower for test strips (like $0.36 each).

Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Finally got it, the poor guy. The reading is still high at 536 and I gave him his 2 units at 7am.
I don't know if I should even look into other meters now that I paid dearly for this one, but will see were I can get the strips cheaper/\.
 
I went through same kind of situation when my kitty Krismas became diabetic and we were in Chicago suburbs. The cat clinic I took kitty to was strict and demanding, would yell at me and had me in tears more than once. I ended calling local vet's offices and asking if I could hire one of their techs to stop by and coach me on ear testing on their way to and from work. Found lovely tech who stopped by my house and helped me practice testing or did it for me for $10.00 before or after she went to work. After a week I could do it consistently and kitty and I calmed down. Another vet let me bring kitty in just for ear testing at $15 a session. Call around - there are people who will help. I am now in Washington State or I would be glad to help. Hang in there. Kathy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top