Glucose tested today - great news!!! (for Aspen)

Status
Not open for further replies.

hannah50

Member Since 2014
Good evening all,

Well, my little diabetic 'panic' cat went to the vets today to have his glucose levels checked. He's been on 1.5 (units or mL - not sure of the measurement term) of insulin once a day for 4 weeks.

I've shared in my original thread here (viewtopic.php?f=28&t=120740) that there is no way this cat would let me draw blood so due to timing, work schedules and the Dr. being on vacation he finally went in today.

His glucose level is DOWN FROM THE LOW 400's to 100!!!!!!! He's gained back 1.5 lbs, drinking less, eating at a more normal intake (i.e.: not ravenous), less urine output AND is more social, confident and interactive. The vet suggested to go to two shots a day with this news, and while that might be tricky, I'm going to give it a go.

I've been seeing the changes and improvement, but I didn't expect the numbers to be so wonderful!

Thank you all, for the support and suggestions.

:RAHCAT
 
If he is the low 100s at the vet (when he'd likely be stressed) on 1 shot per day, you need to split the dose in half to go to 2 shots per day.

You want him to be just over 50 mg/dL during his nadir (lowest glucose level). Any lower and you're in for a possible hypoglycemic attack.
 
BJM said:
If he is the low 100s at the vet (when he'd likely be stressed) on 1 shot per day, you need to split the dose in half to go to 2 shots per day.

You want him to be just over 50 mg/dL during his nadir (lowest glucose level). Any lower and you're in for a possible hypoglycemic attack.

Thank you for the input. I will email this information you shared with my vet and see what he suggests.
 
More specifically,going below 50 mg/dL on a human meter automatically earns a reduction in dose of at least 0.25 units in the protocols used by this board. The reference numbers below will help you understand why.

[False assumption removed by Moderator]

Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top