Glucose Reference Values Table Link - Feedback, please

Status
Not open for further replies.

BJM

Member Since 2010
Glucose Reference Ranges

I've revised the layout and put it in columns.
I tried to make clear what type of meter was being used, whether measurement was in mg/dL or mmol/L, when the test was obtained, and what it may mean.

What edits would make this more user friendly?

Other suggestions?
 
Looks great, BJ. I have heard the renal threshold was more in the 250-280 range. Do we have a generally agreed upon number for it? 180 seems a little low? Or am I behind the times?
 
Looks great! Maybe color-code it to correspond with the spreadsheets? Like have the numbers under 100 green? Also, in the 50-130 range, you have some html code still in the "Meaning" field. ;-)
 
If you Google you will not find a single value. You will find 180 and higher values. the textbook I used in vet tech schools said 240.

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Looks great, BJ. I have heard the renal threshold was more in the 250-280 range. Do we have a generally agreed upon number for it? 180 seems a little low? Or am I behind the times?
 
As a general comment it would be nice to specify where you obtained the specific values. Like, besides the renal threshold, why the constant 30 unit difference between human and pet meters. If I recall one said the difference was 30 units but only at the lower BGs, not throughout the entire range.
 
Sorry to be the fly in the ointment, but I think it's even more confusing, especially for new people. I understand the numbers and had a hard time following it with all the Pre-shot "rules" and Nadir "rules"...especially in the 150 and up columns

Suggestion...doing a glucose reference table for each insulin..one for Pro Zinc, one for Lantus/Levemir with the different meters/values as the only change, so if they're using Pro Zinc, there'd be 3 columns, for human meter, pet meter and for people using the metric values, and one chart for the depot insulins

Just a suggestion...this one might be better with some color coding too
 
Thanks.

I'll see what I can do. Was beaucoup busy at work!.

Which would work better:
Different pages for the different meter/measurement combos?
Or different pages for the depot vs non-depot insulins?
 
My personal favorite would be 2 pages...One for the depot insulins and one for the in/out insulins

The first thing we ask people is which insulin they are using. By having one page for each (with a column for human/pet/metric) people would get used to the column that corresponds with the meter they're using, so they'd just glance down the column for their type of meter, and then over to the recommendation for what that value on their meter meant
 
The meaning of the values really aren't that different.

Moved the time of test column to right of number ranges, before notes.
 
Chris & China said:
In the "normal" ranges...the "not" from "not on insulin" looks like you wanted it underlined?

Ah - those are codes that work in FDMB posts. I fixed that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top