Glucose level

Status
Not open for further replies.
Big Boys level is 84 using relion monitor before dinner.what does this mean?
It means don't give him any insulin if it's his shot time. 84 is a very good number! We recommend that anyone new to this diabetes dance not give insulin if kitty's numbers are below 200.
 
I agree with the others, I definitely would not give insulin at 84. You will run a high risk of a hypo.
 
How long has he been on insulin? 3 units is a pretty big dose! I definitely would not give 3 units with a PS of 84.
 
We have been on insulin for a month.He was on 3 units from the beginning.His last fructosamine was 650 on last friday.
 
I wouldn't give 3 u of ProZinc on a pre shot value of 84. It's possible that he's had some very low dips on the 3 u dose, they have left him insulin sensitive and that's why he's so low right now.

Re the 480: was that the first value at the vet's at diagnosis or was that his BG this AM?
 
Fructosamine provides a gauge of how well BG is controlled. The value is based on what BG has been over a period of two to three weeks. If the cat is on too much insulin and chronically sitting at high BG levels as a result of the overdosing, then the fructosamine is bound to be high. Once a cat is regulated, the fructosamine test can possibly be used to determine if the cat is remaining well regulated but to use that as a tool to determine dosing is IMHO, incredibly dangerous. Unfortunately, most vets seem to think it's the holy grail. Now that you are home testing, use the numbers you collect to make dosing decisions for Big Boy. Your numbers are far more accurate.

I agree with everyone else. 3 units is a huge dose to start with and is likely causing the elevated numbers you are seeing. The insulin dose needs to be reduced and it is not safe for you to give insulin at a pre-shot reading of 84. I'd skip the shot tonight to avoid a hypo event.
 
I called my vet.He said to give him dinner.Make sure he eats it and then give him his insulin. I dont know what to do.
I hope you skipped giving insulin tonight and would very much consider finding a new Vet. 3.0U is a high starting dose, should have started at 1.0U and slowly increased.

It does sound like you are home testing, which is great! We can help you understand your readings :)
Majority of those who home test use the Spreadsheet template, just need a gmail account and if you need help setting one up, just ask:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

Setting up your Signature with some information about Big Boy is good too, and is where you would put Spreadsheet link. Also helps those of us with bad memories ;): http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/editing-your-signature-profile-and-preferences.130340/

Lastly, *hoping again that you skipped insulin tonight* but have this just in case: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top